We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean,comfortable,inexpensive motel”
Review of Motel 6 Costa Mesa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Motel 6 Costa Mesa
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean,comfortable,inexpensive motel”
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Clean,well managed motel. Enjoyed the two queen size beds instead of the typical doubles. Beds were firm which I like but wife doesn't. Everything worked properly - shower, TV, AC,etc. Front desk clerk offered to make me a fresh pot of coffee for me the evening we arrived.Free coffee every morn @ 7am is nice. Sink was outside of bathroom rather then inside bathroom ,like other M6's we stayed at. I saved a few dollars reserving over internet. $3 charge for internet in room - would like to get that free. I would definitely return to this motel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    18
    10
    9
    13
See reviews for
14
13
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
104 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

Let's be honest, I wouldn't spend two weeks of vacation in this motel, but for one night as a stop on my way to San Diego, it was totally worth the price. Close to the 405, restaurants, supermarkets; relatively close to the beach. Of course it's a non-smoking motel now, of course you can still smell the 'smokers paradise', but the room was clean, the bed comfortable and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunsetd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2008

The Motel was Great! It was close to everything. Food, shopping, entertainment and the beach! The price was certainly cheaper than the surronding motels. The staff was friendly and my room was clean and comfy. This was my first time in Costa Mesa as I traveled there on business. I don't normally stay at motel 6 but as changes were made in my business schedule and pretty much the whole town was booked up, I was lucky enough to find a room at this motel. However there was one thing i did'nt understand. Why was there an ashtray put upside down with a non smoking sticker on it in a non smoking room? I mean what would be the reason for that? I don't get it! but otherwise my stay was pleasant.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank litig8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2007

This was an inexpensive clean motel (except for the air), very conveniently located near the highways and fast food chains, and with a nice big swimming pool. The smoking issue is important to us because we were traveling with an infant. However, our nonsmoking wing was occupied mostly by people who smoked in the doorways of their nonsmoking rooms. They were helped by the ashtrays left in the rooms that had 'no smoking' signs stuck to them. Leaving ashtrays in nonsmoking rooms? How dumb is that? It was also extremely annoying that in the morning the housekeepers kept asking us 3 or 4 times if we were out of the room yet..like they wanted to get to work early so they could leave early. However, if you are the type of person who doesn't mind cigarettes, is OK with staying in a commercial area, and who likes to chat with the staff, I would recommend this motel. It is quite inexpensive for the area.

  • Liked — Quiet room
  • Disliked — A lot of cigarette smoke in nonsmoking areas
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJMomOf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
3.6 mi away
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
2.6 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Mesa Inn
2.2 mi away
BLVD Hotel
BLVD Hotel
#13 of 23 in Costa Mesa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
2.2 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Costa Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Costa Mesa

Property: Motel 6 Costa Mesa
Address: 1441 Gisler Ave, I-405/San Diego Freeway at Harbor Blvd, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-2656
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Costa Mesa 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel 6 Costa Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Costa Mesa Hotel Costa Mesa
Motel Six Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Motel 6
Costa Mesa Motel Six
Motel 6 Costa Mesa Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing