We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I really enjoyed this hotel. The rooms were very large and comfortable. The staff was great. The location is fair,but the hotel does offer a shuttle within the local area which makes it very convenient. I truly look forward to my next visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2012

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and I will pass your comments on to our staff. The shuttle is great to get you anywhere within 5 miles which includes South Coast Plaza, the Fairgrounds, and John Wayne Airport. We hope to see you again soon.

Sue Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

Booked a 2 bedroom suite for my fiancé 2 weeks before our wedding so she could get away with friends. I reserved the room through their reservation service on the phone and was told the room would come out to 239.00 for the night. At no time did the reservation specialist inform me of the 850$ weekend party fee. Once my fiancé checked in the staff ( who was very rude and unhelpful) informed her of the charge but since it was already the day for the reservation the room could not be cancelled without a penalty. The 850$ fee was charged to my credit card WITHOUT authorization! Thanks Residence Inn from taking $ 850 out of our wedding savings fund! Great way to treat a frequent Marriott customer and rewards member!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordanballa20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

I am so sorry about the miscommunication regarding the charges we put on your credit card. The authorization hold was released the day of check out and funds should of been available that week. Again, I apologize for the lack of communication

Sue Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

I wanted to spend the weekend in Newport Beach but didn't want to spend a lot of money on a hotel since technically it's not too far from my house (I live in LA) and I could drive to and from OC in a day. I had my dog with me as well. I found this hotel that is dog friendly and because it's a little off the beaten path it's not as pricy as the other hotels in the area. I had a studio room that was so spacious by studio standards. It was very welcoming, clean and incredibly cozy. I actually remember thinking I wished I was staying an extra day or 2. The bed was so comfortable and it just felt like home away from home. I also liked how each room had it's own entrance from outside as if you were entering an apartment directly from the parking lot. The hotel is set up like an apartment building complex. The breakfast in the morning was the typical hot Residence Inn breakfast, no complaints. There way also a few food places in the area for dinner (delivery and sit down).

The location really wasn't far from where I wanted to be at all - a 10-15 minute drive to Balboa Island (which is a gorgeous area to spend the day). I honestly had set my standards low just because it was off of the beaten path but I was thoroughly impressed with the hotel, from quality to price to location to service. A nice budget friendly find if you want to spend the weekend in the Newport Beach area without feeling too guilty about spending money. I'm a huge fan of Marriott but I really wasn't expecting much from them on this trip... nice surprise Marriott.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJGirlvTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. I am excited to hear you were pleasantly surprised and glad to hear you felt right at home here. Please come back and visit us next time you are in Costa Mesa.

Sue Cooke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I have stayed at this location on several occasions and it is always consistent. The property is an average Residence Inn but the staff was extra friendly on my last visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suecooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Thank you for your loyalty to Marriott and our property. Will pass your comments onto our staff. Hope to see you very soon!

Sue Cooke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My wife and I were happy to use a free night for our Marriott rewards account, and enjoyed a "parents night out" along with a nice gourmet dinner. This property is nicely located close to the Costa Mesa mall or the Orange County fairgrounds. When we were there it was crowded with families taking advantage of the large rooms, and included meals....the breakfast was quite adequate for our needs, with hot foods, make yourself waffles, cerials, oatmeal etc.. Our room was a "studio" which included a sitting area, full kitchen and king bed/bath. The pool area is a bit small we thought for the size of the hotel, not too many lounges, but it had a firepit with sofa/chairs around it there as well, along with some outdoor tables. During the week they provide a hosted happy hour and dinner, nice for business folks and also the families can save some money. This type of hotel is very nice having your own kitchen facilities to use if you need to. The room was quiet enough and we would return if the need arises.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kenneth Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suecooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. The suites are spacious and so glad you enjoyed having a kitchen in the suite. Will share your comments with our staff and we hope to see you again soon.

Sue Cooke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

This is my third stay here going back four years now. I think the hotel's standards have gone down each time I have visited. The breakfast selection remains good, but overall quality seems to be down. The rooms have gone through a refurb, but I'm not seeing much. House keeping has weird schedules which makes it difficult to plan during a one week stay. Great central OC location.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMK2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Thank you for your comments. I will talk to our staff to educate guests on our housekeeping schedule and to let us know a preference of when they would like to have service. We have upgraded our suites and we do ongoing work to help improve our product.

Sue Cooke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Well, it IS a Marriott property after all. Clean rooms and service that you would come to expect from any hotel. All around a super positive experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Condor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay here in Costa Mesa. I am happy to hear that we lived up to the Marriott Standard of Service you have come to expect.

Sue Cooke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
1.1 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#8 of 23 in Costa Mesa
399 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
3.6 mi away
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
1.1 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach

Address: 881 Baker St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-4315
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range: £102 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle into a suite at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach for short or extended stays. Our hotel offers a complimentary hot breakfast in the Gatehouse and easy access to popular attractions including Newport Beach. We also boast complimentary transportation to and from John Wayne Airport (SNA), which is less than 4 miles from our front doors, and South Coast Plaza shopping center. After a day of swimming, shopping or sightseeing, decompress in spacious suites featuring free Wi-Fi, full kitchens and distinct areas in which to live, work, dine and dream. Active travelers can take advantage of our well-equipped fitness center or play a game of tennis, volleyball or basketball on the Sport Court®. A refreshing dip in the outdoor pool will help beat the heat. When looking to convene with colleagues away from the office, reserve our meeting room for up to 40 guests. For a memorable stay that is as comfortable as it is convenient, book a stay at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach Hotel Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Residence Inn
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing