We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Fantastic hotel to stay in ... Its the staff that really make it what it is ... From the moment you step into Reception until checking out, you are always put first, no request is too big or too small.
Monday to Wednesday a basic menu service is provided, with free beer and wine. Brilliant to relax and unwind after the day. Nice gym and pool / hot tub. Even though it was suppose to be winter, we enjoyed using these during out stay. Great location, not far from the super South Coast Plaza with its mall & restaurants.
Hopefully we will be back again with no hesitation of booking this hotel again. Thanks to everyone at Residence Inn for making us feel so welcome. Alan from Ireland

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you Al. We enjoyed reading your wonderful review of our property and we are so excited to hear you were able to experience our guest first service. We hope to see you again in the future and welcome you back to your "home away from home".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

Front desk staff were friendly, genuine and pleasant, even though they were working on New Year's Eve and New Year's morning. The room was clean, bed comfortable and quiet. I will stay here again when I go to visit my daughter in the area. Next time I will use the fireplace!

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms. I was on the ground floor, and couldn't really use t...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarciaAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you MarciaAK for your wonderful review of our property. We look forward to becoming your "home away from home" on future trips to the area. We're sorry you weren't able to enjoy your step out patio. Next time as for a room on the 2nd floor and it will be more accessible for you. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We had not experienced staying at a Residence Inn previously, although obviously the Brand is well known to us.

From the truly genuine Welcome by all at the Reception Desk upon our arrival, to our departure; our expectations were exceeded, measurably.

The Manager and staff addressed every need (photo Copies, Set of Scales, extended stay request) promptly and with sincere pleasure. All staff we encountered were hospitable, and the very hard-working Breakfast Crew, remarkable.

Congratulations on being able to deliver this level of Guest satisfaction.

Staying at this Hotel contributed immensely to our enjoyment of our Southern LA visit to Orange County.

Bruce W. McIntosh CHA
President
McIntosh Alliance International
Hotel Development, Inc.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceMcI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you BruceMcI for your lovely review of our property. We truly appreciate when others in the hotel industry notice our hardwork and dedication to "guest first" service. We are happy you were able to enjoy the amenties Residence Inn has to offer. We hope to see you again when you are in the Orange County area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed here New Year's Eve and originally reserved a penthouse suite. I wanted to show my 2 friends the beautiful suite this property had to offer and I was extremely disappointed by the fact that they had "stay overs" who made it impossible for me to get the suite I reserved.
Instead they put us in two different rooms. We were there to have a good home-cooked dinner and ring in the new year together peacefully, but sadly this wasn't the case. Having worked for hotels before, I understand overbooking but I also know you give priority to guests with reservations. I would've had the "stay-overs" transfer room types if this was such a big issue or at the very least have some type of compensation for my inconvenience. To say that the staff seemed unapologetic about the whole issue. Based on this disappointing customer service experience, I would not stay here.
Beware of what you book or when you book. You won't get what you were "guaranteed"

Room Tip: Call the day of your reservation to confirm room type!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you Patty C for your review of your stay with us. We are very sorry that we could not guarantee your room type upon your arrival. We do our very best to accomodate every guest in their pre-booked room type, but being an extended stay hotel we do have guests that actually reside at our property. We are sure you can understand our delima on nights when we have over sold our limited amount of penthouses on whether to give two of our regular suites to a guest staying one night or ask a guest who has been with us for 3 months to move for one night. We would have happily found other accomodations for you so you, your friends, and family could all be together in one room.

I am personally sorry for the apathetic attitude the front desk may have taken. I invite you to contact me personally so we can rectify this situation and invite you back to the property so you can truely experience our guest first service and all of our amentities our property has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel for over a month as part of my official trip to Newport Beach.

Good things : Good Staff, Nice breakfast and dinner, good location (Best buy and stater brother is very nearby), Nice ambiance, clean and tidy.

Improvement points : Should have more shuttle service, at times I need to wait more than 1 hour to get shuttle when my rented car broke down which was bad experience. should serve dinner a little extra time because when you come to Newport you are looking for holiday and you tend to come in late and at that time dinner was over.

Pizza joint at the market adjacent to it is awesome and there is beer store, taco store is open 24*7.

Spa was good and it has a gym which is nice and all major equipments are there. Room is nice and hotel is well connected to freeways. You'll need to supply your own dishwashing soap and sponge.

It is very close John Wayne airport and all thingsa re close by like Disneyland nad hollywood.

If you come in August there is Orange county fair which is very good and I loved food options there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rahul2755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you rahul2755 for your honest review of our property. Here at Residence Inn Costa Mesa our number one priority is our guests and we hope our staff provides a great long lasting impression on all of our guests. Although our shuttle service is available for all of our guests at any time we go have some days when our shuttle van is out quiet a bit and with South Coast Metro area traffic sometimes the wait is longer than we anticipate so we are very sorry for any inconvienence this may have caused you.

Our complimentry social hour is a highlight of our property providing light dinners for our guests and at the two hour length of time we have found that it is longer than most other Residence Inns in our area. Not to mention that once it gets into the late evening we are wasting food because most guests have retreated to their rooms. We do our best to accomodate any request and even if we are cleaning up social hour we will still find leftovers for anyone who asks.

We are happy you were able to utilize our gym area during your stay. We hope it helped keep your daily regimine in place during your time here with us.

We hope to host you in the future during your next time here in Orange County. We look forward to welcoming you to your "home away from home"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My family of six stayed in a 2 bedroom suite while visiting Disneyland. The hotel and room were very nice and clean. The suite offered plenty of room for a big family. Disneyland is only about 20 minutes away so this was a much better alternative than staying at the more expensive hotels closer to Disney. The morning hot breakfast buffet is included which was another bonus and money saver.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kz04jd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you kz04jd for your wonderful review of our property. We hope you got the most out of your stay with us. Our two bedroom Penthouses are very versitile and popular for families and we're glad your were able to secure one during your time here. We're happy to hear you took advantage of the complimentary daily hot breakfast. We hope you consider us for future family vacations in Orange County.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and I had a pleasant 2 night stay at this Residence Inn while visiting a friend of ours. Our room was clean complete with a full size kitchen stocked with pots, pans and utensils. So if you like or need to cook....this hotel is perfect. You'll need to supply your own dishwashing soap and sponge though. It's also close to shopping, freeways, John Wayne Airport, restaurants and not too far from Disneyland. We enjoyed the heated swimming pool and jacuzzi. There is a bbq grill in the pool area but we didn't use it. We look forward to staying at this particular Residence Inn in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boltsfan858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you Boltsfan858 for your review of our property. We are so happy your were able to utilize our various amenties on property such as our pool area and in room kitchens. We strive to make your stay relaxing while in the Orange County area. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
1.1 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#8 of 23 in Costa Mesa
389 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
1.2 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Mesa Inn
1.1 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach

Address: 881 West Baker Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-4315
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range: £120 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle into a suite at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach for short or extended stays. Our hotel offers a complimentary hot breakfast in the Gatehouse and easy access to popular attractions including Newport Beach. We also boast complimentary transportation to and from John Wayne Airport (SNA), which is less than 4 miles from our front doors, and South Coast Plaza shopping center. After a day of swimming, shopping or sightseeing, decompress in spacious suites featuring free Wi-Fi, full kitchens and distinct areas in which to live, work, dine and dream. Active travelers can take advantage of our well-equipped fitness center or play a game of tennis, volleyball or basketball on the Sport Court®. A refreshing dip in the outdoor pool will help beat the heat. When looking to convene with colleagues away from the office, reserve our meeting room for up to 40 guests. For a memorable stay that is as comfortable as it is convenient, book a stay at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach Hotel Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Residence Inn
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing