We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worked out well”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worked out well”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The kitchen in our room came equipped with everything we needed to make a meal during our stay. There was plenty of room for lounging as well with a small couch and coffee table and a kitchen counter/desk area. The continental breakfast gave a nice full spread too (I didn't find anything lacking).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anton F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you Anton F for your honest review of our property. We're very happy to hear you were able to put the full kitchen in your room to good use. We're also excited to hear that you enjoyed our daily complimentary breakfast. We hope you and your family enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    68
    37
    8
    11
See reviews for
77
30
17
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed two nights in a studio that was more than ample in space and accommodations. Fitness room, pool, breakfast were all done well. Nice staff that was friendly and helpful without being overbearing. Will gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you Russ M for your review of our property. We are delighted you found the stay and room to your expectations. We hope to see you again when you travel to the Orange County area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed in a studio room for around a month. It was definitely a best experience. Staff are extremely humble & helpful. The hotel taxi can take you for rides within 5miles radius which is very handy. Any kind of help can be sought out from the staff. Special thanks to Sue. Her warm guesters & smile are energetic. Keep this going always!!
Never faced any challenges except for bandwidth of internet. Internet is slow at times & frequently breaks.
Food, be it brekfast/evening salada are fresh & available.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank White2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you White2909 for your wonderful review of our property. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us during your business travels. We hope to see you again soon and welcome you back to your "home away from home"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Originally reserved 2 consecutive nites (1 on me and next on my husband) but we ended up staying 1 and didn't check in the next nite. This hotel is in a really nice location that is close to many places we wanted to go and the staff were friendly and nice. Because this hotel is set up like a 2 stories apartment complex, I asked for a 2nd floor room because I didn't want to hear noise from upstairs. We got room 521. It must be me but the suite seems smaller than the typical RI suites and getting to it was a little cumbersome because the staircase is built thinly with concrete steps and metal railings.

Didn't get a good nite sleep because every time the ac kicks on, there was a beep that last for almost a whole minute. Then the head of the bed is right at the wall that shares the other room, we could hear people next door talk/and you know some other stuff going on. We decided to book another RI in OC for our next nite instead. But the RI in OC was full so we ended up at Courtyard in Irvine.

Also, a week b4 our reservations, they were $199/nite but lower to $129/$139 when we got really close. We used our rewards for the room but it is not worth the cat. 4 or $. Probably will not come back to this RI.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lricketson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you lricketson for your review of our property. I am happy to hear you and your family were able to experience our dedication of guest service through the staff. I'm sorry to hear your room did not meet your expectations. I am meeting with the engineering team to tackle the issues you had in your room. I extend my apologies for your noisy neighbors. I hope my staff encouraged you to reach us at any time to ensure your stay was enjoyable. I am sorry we were not able to do this for you.

I invite you to contact me directly to discuss what we can do for you to see you again in the future. Although you decided to shorten your original stay we are glad our sister property was able to accomodate you and we hope your stay was top notch there. We thank you for being loyal to Marriott and all of it's brands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Fantastic hotel to stay in ... Its the staff that really make it what it is ... From the moment you step into Reception until checking out, you are always put first, no request is too big or too small.
Monday to Wednesday a basic menu service is provided, with free beer and wine. Brilliant to relax and unwind after the day. Nice gym and pool / hot tub. Even though it was suppose to be winter, we enjoyed using these during out stay. Great location, not far from the super South Coast Plaza with its mall & restaurants.
Hopefully we will be back again with no hesitation of booking this hotel again. Thanks to everyone at Residence Inn for making us feel so welcome. Alan from Ireland

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you Al. We enjoyed reading your wonderful review of our property and we are so excited to hear you were able to experience our guest first service. We hope to see you again in the future and welcome you back to your "home away from home".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, AK
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Front desk staff were friendly, genuine and pleasant, even though they were working on New Year's Eve and New Year's morning. The room was clean, bed comfortable and quiet. I will stay here again when I go to visit my daughter in the area. Next time I will use the fireplace!

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms. I was on the ground floor, and couldn't really use t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarciaAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you MarciaAK for your wonderful review of our property. We look forward to becoming your "home away from home" on future trips to the area. We're sorry you weren't able to enjoy your step out patio. Next time as for a room on the 2nd floor and it will be more accessible for you. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We had not experienced staying at a Residence Inn previously, although obviously the Brand is well known to us.

From the truly genuine Welcome by all at the Reception Desk upon our arrival, to our departure; our expectations were exceeded, measurably.

The Manager and staff addressed every need (photo Copies, Set of Scales, extended stay request) promptly and with sincere pleasure. All staff we encountered were hospitable, and the very hard-working Breakfast Crew, remarkable.

Congratulations on being able to deliver this level of Guest satisfaction.

Staying at this Hotel contributed immensely to our enjoyment of our Southern LA visit to Orange County.

Bruce W. McIntosh CHA
President
McIntosh Alliance International
Hotel Development, Inc.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceMcI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you BruceMcI for your lovely review of our property. We truly appreciate when others in the hotel industry notice our hardwork and dedication to "guest first" service. We are happy you were able to enjoy the amenties Residence Inn has to offer. We hope to see you again when you are in the Orange County area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
1.2 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
1.1 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#8 of 23 in Costa Mesa
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
1.1 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Mesa Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach

Property: Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach
Address: 881 Baker St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-4315
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settle into a suite at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach for short or extended stays. Our hotel offers a complimentary hot breakfast in the Gatehouse and easy access to popular attractions including Newport Beach. We also boast complimentary transportation to and from John Wayne Airport (SNA), which is less than 4 miles from our front doors, and South Coast Plaza shopping center. After a day of swimming, shopping or sightseeing, decompress in spacious suites featuring free Wi-Fi, full kitchens and distinct areas in which to live, work, dine and dream. Active travelers can take advantage of our well-equipped fitness center or play a game of tennis, volleyball or basketball on the Sport Court®. A refreshing dip in the outdoor pool will help beat the heat. When looking to convene with colleagues away from the office, reserve our meeting room for events of up to 40 guests. For a memorable stay in Costa Mesa that is as comfortable as it is convenient, book a stay at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach Hotel Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Residence Inn
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing