We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth as 4 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin South Coast Plaza
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
California
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not worth as 4 stars”
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Double size bed is downgrading the comfort of heaven bed. I barely could sleep just couldn't find the right position to sleep with my husband in their double size bed. I asked the front desk to arrange me a king size with a sofa pull out. He just simply said no availability without looking into the system.Internet charge in everywhere in the hotel, even though there is charge in the office center, $5/10 min.Self parking is $20/nite, valet is $28/nite. It is extremely close to south coast plaza where is just across the bridge by walking.Reserving this hotel because there is Spa service in the amenities in their web site, there is actually only fitness facility. It's not worth as 4 stars hotel and resort.
The room is not sound proof well, easily hear people chatting from the hallway.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkong13141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
Dear Guest,
We truly appreciate your feedback regarding to your stay. I apologize that you felt the staff did not achknowledge your concern appropriately. We will communicate your feedback to our team so they can understand how you felt. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    319
    114
    41
    21
See reviews for
153
168
72
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2011

I stayed with my colleagues at the Westin 4 nights a week for the better of 13 weeks (from January to April 2011). The Bell Captains, Mike and Doug, as well as the valet staff, Anthony and others, were all exemplary in attitude and service. The nature of this business trip was very very stressful, and each of these Westin employees made me feel at home and cared about.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank businessstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, 17 May 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding to our Westin employees. We will make sure to share your comments on how they made you feel. We look forward to seeing you on your return visit. We hope it may be a more leisure one for you.
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Room was nice with comfy bed. Window didn't shut tight overlooking pool so wind and traffic created some noise... but that was okay. Despite other guests complaining and "management" being "appreciative of the feedback", the $20 a night parking still exists. In fact, if you leave early in the morning you wouldn't even have to pay since the deck next to the hotel is daily parking by the hour. They are totally ripping guests off with this fee. A bottle of water is $5.50... they are still charging $12.00 for internet even though this should be just as standard as cable (I'm surprised they don't make you pay for a shower and TV use).

Also, the staff at the front were very helpful although the dinner recommendation was terrible. They recommended a Hawaiian themed chain restaurant that certainly wasn't something to write home about.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYGodfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

I enjoyed my recent 2-night stay. My room was comfortable, had a flat screen tv, wi-fi internet, and a Heavenly Bed! The restaurant in the hotel, Pinot, is wonderful for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. It far exceeds the quality of most hotel restaurants. The work-out room overlooks the full-size pool. It is a beautiful facility. I didn't use the pool but I saw someone swimming laps. Great stay, I recommend this hotel. The staff people I interacted with were great. Located near a fabulous shopping mall, minutes from Disneyland and cultural venues. Also near most Irvine businesses. I recommend this hotel -- no complaints.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayBee102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

For the most part this is a great hotel. Pretty much a typical Westin, but some added touches. The pool area is great, comfortable and provides pool side drinks and food service which is always welcome. The food is more than adequate and I'd rate it above most Westin's. The bar area gets pretty busy each night with business travellers, and the bar staff provides pretty good service. The rooms are a little dated.

The hotel is near South Coast Plaza mall, which has some pretty decent dining options. Also, its an easy gateway to Newport Beach. Overall, if I'm in the area again for business I'd stay here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weirdplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Recently stayed at the Westin South Coast Plaza for a weekend. Location was good with convenient access to the 405 and also a pedestrian bridge over to South Coast Plaza. Hotel rooms appear to have been refurbished within the last few years. If you are sensitive to traffic noise, request a room on the north side of the hotel. Only three negatives... 1. $20 parking at an 'out of town' location with ample parking is a bit much. 2. The shower head was too low for a 6'1" person 3. A bottle of water in the room will cost you $5.50

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Dear Guest,
We enjoy the gift of feedback. Thank you for letting us know how we can better serve you in the future. We look forward to having you return so we can provide a wonderful Westin experience.
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Recently stayed for business and I was very satisfied. Room was very nice and clean with modern furniture and amenities. Fitness center was great. Lots of places to eat cuz it's across from South Coast Plaza. Only knock is the $20 parking fee (valet is even more) and the internet fee. There's lots of places around here that are more affordable, but if you don't mind spending a little bit more, I would definitely recommend this place. Lives up to the Westin name.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnhuhlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Dear satisfied guest,
It is a delight to hear that you felt our hotel lived up to the Westin experience. We strive to service our guests with the best service possible and provide a renewed visit. We hope you will come back for a return visit.
Guest Service Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
0.2 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
0.3 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#8 of 23 in Costa Mesa
386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
1.8 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
5.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin South Coast Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin South Coast Plaza

Property: The Westin South Coast Plaza
Address: 686 Anton Blvd, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-1920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#5 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#5 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin South Coast Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at the Westin South Coast Plaza, Costa Mesa allows you to discover the culture, glamour and excitement of Orange County. Close to theater, shopping, Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin South Coast Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin South Coast Plaza Hotel Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Westin
Westin South Coast Plaza
Westin Hotel Costa Mesa
Westin Costa Mesa
Westin South Caost Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza Costa Mesa, Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing