We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The quietest property I've ever visited.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin South Coast Plaza
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rockville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“The quietest property I've ever visited.”
Reviewed 28 March 2010

There is very little I can add to the excellent reviews below. But it sure is a quiet place. I should know that since I've stayed at the Marriott Suites Hotel in the next block. But when I checked in Friday night, there was a program going on at the adjacent Orange County Performing Arts Center, and from the badges I was seeing on hotel guests, there was obviously a conference at the hotel. Even the bar was crowded, and the lobby piano was being played.

Up on the 5th floor, I only heard the voices of occasional guests passing by. With the quiet, I actually got a lot of paperwork done. I may have just found the perfect business hotel.

And a shout-out to the parking valets who never missed a beat even with multiple guests waiting for their cars. And they always managed to set my driver's seat into the correct position.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forest20851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    319
    114
    41
    21
See reviews for
153
168
72
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

This is a business class hotel with a hint of luxury. The hotel is close to the interstate and right next to the South Coast Plaza shopping center. Being a hotel geared towards business, the lobby gives the feeling of the hotel being crowded, but once off the ground floor is very comfortable and quiet.

We arrived in the evening on a Friday and were immediately greeted by the valet, who was very helpful. He let us know the parking situation (~$20 for self $28 for valet). We checked in with a friendly front desk associate and were given a little bit of an upgraded room. Our room was very clean and had the touch of modern decor. We were placed on an upper floor and had a great view of the Performing Arts center across the courtyard. There was a mini bar and safe in the room. The t.v. was a very nice 40" or so flat screen with a good selection of channels.

Our first night we tried out both the fitness center and the pool area. Like most business hotels, during the night these facilities were deserted. The fitness center is excellent... They have flat screen t.v.'s on every treadmill, plenty of towels, and a very clean bathroom with shower. The pool also was surprisingly nice. It get's 10 feet which seems like a rarity these days and it is very warm.

The bathroom was decent. Very nice amenities and a double shower head. The only problem was that the bathtub didn't drain. Luckily, we're not too picky so I didn't really care. The bed is wonderful... best bed I have slept on at a hotel. We woke up to Starbucks provided in the room which was great. The bad thing about the parking, as mentioned previously, is that it is 20 bucks. The good thing is that you can come and go as you need. On our way out we stopped at Chuck Smith's Calvary Chapel church a couple miles away. I would recommend visiting his church if you stay through a Sunday.

Overall, this is a very nice and comfortable business class hotel with a definite feeling of luxury. Though I would not recommend this hotel for a family it suited us (a young married couple) just fine.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2010

I traveled to Costa Mesa for work and was excited to stay in the Westin South Coast Plaza. I like the heavenly beds at Westin.

First of all, make sure you take the free shuttle from John Wayne airport to the hotel. Very nice and prompt. You can also engage them to take you other places, just check in advance.

I checked in...it didn't take too long, but when I went to go to my room I saw the bed. It was a murphy bed. Like the kind that folds down from the wall. It was also about 18" high - great if you usually roll out of bed (not far from the floor) but definitely not one of the heavenly beds usually provided by the Westin. They also provided the standard brochure in case I wanted to buy any of the bedding. Since my bed at home is pretty awesome and NOT a munchkin murphy bed, I think I'll pass.

I trouped back downstairs to find out if I could get a room with a real bed to be told that they were full and no other rooms were available...and yet I knew more colleagues were arriving later that night. The desk clerk told me I could change the following day for my second night. Sure. Whatever.

I called down when I realized there was no room service menu. I had also noticed that there was some trash left on my floor (a shoe form) from the previous occupant. I mentioned the room change to the woman on the phone and she said they did not have any rooms available the following night. I found this confusing as I had been told 5 minutes earlier that there would be no problem changing me.

The cleaning process the second day was similarly disinterested as when I returned to my room for the 2nd night I found a french fry from the last night's dinner on the floor between the bed and the ottoman.

I tried very hard not to let my bare feet touch the floor.

I also noticed that my hotel supplied robe was taken and not replaced after the first night. I called for it to be returned as it is very convenient to walk down to the pool with a robe for your morning swim.

I ended up going downstairs to get some food from the bar. An $18.50 cheeseburger that with a drink somehow ended up being $36. Since the burger was so expensive I asked if it were a certain kind of beef - grass fed, harris ranch, etc - I can get a Herb Keller burger here in the city for approximately the same price, so I wanted to make sure I was getting something for my $18. The barkeep very kindly called the kitchen and was told that the beef was "chuck." Not sirloin. Not buffalo. 100% chuck. Ok, so I ordered it anyway.

The burger was fine. Nothing remarkable. Certainly not worth $36, but decent.

Let's move on to the nice things.

The pillows on the bed were nice. They made me want to go buy some full down pillows. The ones I have right now are mostly down with a mix of some foam.

Every time I called down to ask a question, I was greeted with "How can I help you Mrs. XXX?" I do like this greeting, it is a nice touch.

The pool was nice, good for getting in some exercise provided that there were only one or two other people in the pool with you. And hopefully one of them wasn't doing the butterfly stroke and kicking up enough water to make you choke while you're getting your laps in.

The food, although expensive, was decent. Nothing to write home about, although I was less than thrilled to see the lonely french fry sitting on the floor after the supposed room clean.

The free starbucks coffee was nice and was re-stocked wih all the niceties. It was good.

One of my colleagues was in the room right above me mentioned that her room also had a murphy bed. It's the rooms ending in 28. I'm not sure why these rooms are kept around, but I wish I would have gotten a real bed, honestly.

I would probably stay here in the future, but I'd keep in mind to make sure that I didn't get one of the murphy bed rooms and that I woudn't be looking for food after 10pm at the hotel. If I weren't so tired I might have wandered over to one of the many restaurants, but I just wanted to chill in my room...that's the way it was.

Also, you can print your boarding passes for free in the business center - you don't have to sign up for the 10 minutes of internet access to do so. That's a nice touch. But the breakfast to go area doesn't carry milk.

The staff was very nice, overall. Just mostly disappointed with the room, bed, cleanliness and the lack of milk.

If you go, try not to get assigned a room ending in 28 as those seem to be the murphy bed rooms.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFTLBad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Upscale hotel , immediately next to a busy mall and performing arts theater. We had a great impression until the morning when housekeeping woke us up at 8AM. SInce we were only there for 1 day and had not checked out, I really didn't see the point of the early knock. The doors aren't well insulated, so hallway noise accomplished the same early wake up call. If you aren't planning to sleep in, it's a great place. We booked on Hotwire for a substantial savings.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bosfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2010

The Westin South Coast Plaza is a beautiful hotel and property. Our room was nicely furnished. They provided complimentary starbucks coffee as well as some nice westin spa products in the bathroom. Unfortunately they did not choose to replace any of these as we consumed them.
The pool area was exceptionally beautiful and was heated to a nice comfy temperature for February. The loungers also provided a nice comfortable place to relax.
The only ridiculous and outrageous part of our stay were the fees which we continually declined. Parking was $20 per day in a self parking structure. Internet was $11.95 for every 24 hours and even more in the business center, $ 5for every 10 minutes. Skip the parking fee and park over at South Coast plaza (across the pedestrian bridge). Use the internet for FREE at a coffee shop.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pianogirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2010

My daughter and I stayed here overnight. The room was spacious and nice. The bathroom looked a little dated, especially the tub and surround. There was a wet towel along the window sill. It looked like it must have been there for a while and was overlooked by housekeeping. Maintenance should probably look at the water coming in through the windows (probably the reason someone put that towel there before). The room service was great, except the fruit didn't look very fresh. I liked the hotel's efforts of being 'green' with the recycle bins. Nice touch. I've stayed at this hotels years before, always a pleasant experience. The price for the room was reasonable. Self parking and valet parking is way too expensive!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roseoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

I've had several stays here, and based on my half dozen stays I'll say if you are an SPG Elite member, keep in mind this hotel does the BARE minimum in terms of offering perks and upgrades.

I know times are tough, but the management of the The Westin South Coast Plaza has cut back a little too much. There used to be 2 bottles of Pana water complementary for SPG members or those on the Executive Floor, now it's just 1 bottle of Nestle water. Bathroom amenities such as shower gel, mouthwash, and razor are "by request" only. I hate to think how bare the rooms are on non "preferred" floors? Parking is now $20 for self-parking.

On the positive side, the shuttle service to the airport, South Cost Plaza and businesses within a mile or two of the hotel is complementary and thse guys do a good job running it upon request. Also, not sure if this is new, but the hotel gave me 1 day of free internet access.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denealio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
0.2 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
0.3 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#8 of 23 in Costa Mesa
386 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
1.8 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
5.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin South Coast Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin South Coast Plaza

Property: The Westin South Coast Plaza
Address: 686 Anton Blvd, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-1920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#5 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#5 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin South Coast Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at the Westin South Coast Plaza, Costa Mesa allows you to discover the culture, glamour and excitement of Orange County. Close to theater, shopping, Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin South Coast Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin South Coast Plaza Hotel Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Westin
Westin South Coast Plaza
Westin Hotel Costa Mesa
Westin Costa Mesa
Westin South Caost Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza Costa Mesa, Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing