We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    829
    391
    177
    80
    57
See reviews for
364
361
95
532
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My boyfriend and I came to Newport Beach and stayed at the Avenue of the Arts that was centrally located for all the fun things we had planned. Everything from pulling into the front of the hotel to our room was awesome. Anything we needed from directions to extra coffee in the room was accommodated. The rooms were comfortable and clean, we were upgraded to a room facing the lake, very nice. We relaxed in the hot tub at night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Excellent stay. Very nicely appointed. Very quiet. The ballroom accomodations were excellent and the food was simply outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This one of the nicest hotel in California. The hotel is clean. It has beautiful scenery. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel's restaurant had great food and great service. It is also in a great location. It is five minutes from the airport and walking distance from the mall.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Let me first say that this isn't a high end five star hotel. If that is what you are looking for, look elsewhere. Having said that - I believe this place is a nice 4 star hotel. The entrance, lobby, common areas, and grounds are very well kept and modern. The location is fantastic, near the mall, many businesses, and located on a picturesque little pond area (small park nearby and walking trail around the pond). The hotel rooms are nice and being upgraded currently. They are converting the rooms over to hardwood floors, granite countertops and upgraded furniture. However, you can tell it is an update - not original craftsmanship.

We reserved our deal on a prepaid Hotels.com deal. We received a great rate (half of lesser hotels in the area), which is what drew me to this hotel compared to others in the area. I read some reviews that concerned me, but upon arrival we were greeted by nice employees and were upgraded to a Jr Suite on the sixth floor. The room had been updated and was very nice. No issues with noise like other reviewers indicated (in fact, I thought these hardwood floors were far quieter than the ones we have in our home). All of the areas we saw were updated and nice. The only complaints I would have were that they were updating rooms near our room and the hallways were a little dirty and cluttered at times - but not really an issue for us. Additionally, a few of the chairs in the elevator lobbies were dirty and could use a cleaning. We used the pool and hot tub, which are both a little small, but nice. The fitness room is high quality and clean.

Ultimately, I wouldn't pay a premium to stay here, but if their price is similar to other 4 star hotels - I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the pond - the other direction is parking ramp and roadway.
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel has dual sort recycling in the rooms and has the typical towel and bedding options for reducing use.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GREGORY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
1.8 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
0.2 mi away
The Westin South Coast Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza
#6 of 23 in Costa Mesa
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#8 of 23 in Costa Mesa
371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
1.9 mi away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#8 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel

Property: Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Address: 3350 Avenue of the Arts, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-1913 (Formerly Avenue of the Arts Wyndham Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#3 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge the senses with unparalleled comfort and modern convenience at South Coast's most cosmopolitan address - Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel. Perfectly positioned midway between Los Angeles and San Diego, the hotel is opposite the Performing Arts center and 1 block from South Coast Plaza Mall. Guests can enjoy the Silver Trumpet Restaurant & Bar offering lunch and dinner menus and a breakfast buffet. Additional amenities include a fitness center, 24 hour room service, and outdoor heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Wyndham
Avenue Of The Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing