We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid it if possible: strange people around, dated and... smells!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Orange County Airport/Costa Mesa
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Our family of 4 stayed in this hotel to catch an early flight the next morning at Santa Ana Airport (5 minutes driving away). We arrived the previous day at 1 PM.
The employees were nice but could not arrange us on the first (ground) floor. Please note that there is no lift and if you have several pieces of luggage (as we did) you have to carry it for 2 flight of stairs. The room is very dated and not really clean. It did smell like smoke (we booked a non smoking room). There were only 3 sets of towels and a couple were stained. Everything looks old and needing of a renovation. Up to this point we thought it was still ok, considering the low price obtained through Expedia.
What I really did not like is that it looks like many people really LIVE in this lodge... open doors showed cluttered rooms, group of men drinking alcohol and smoking... at the pool I could confirm this impression by the bizarre stories of a very talkative and annoying man who said he had a car accident, no insurance and challenged the other people involved to sue him as "he had no money and lived in a motel". Not really the place where you feel at ease and for the first time I did not leave my 12 y.o. daughter walking alone to the ice machine!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paperausa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
khamSam, Manager at Travelodge Orange County Airport/Costa Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you for your reply.
all reviews are welcome and evaluated to make progress where needed.
It is our high season at this time of year specially with the O.C. FAIR that comes every year. Many vendors stay with us for this reason rooms may seem cluttered. We welcome guest who stay from 1 night to several. Further; Management does its best at maintaining the property clean and appealing anything out of the ordinary is not overlooked. Also we are a two story Hotel no elevator with 1 flight of stairs, if assistance is needed we are more than happy to help. Last many reservations booked from third party websites are being made under smoking rooms it is best to contact the hotel to verify what was reserved and place request such as non-smoking, first floor at that time. While it is not guaranteed we do our best within the possibilities to meet each guest needs.

management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 304 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
khamSam, Manager at Travelodge Orange County Airport/Costa Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I had a great stay at the Travelodge. On people service, the staff were very friendly, ready to please with a warm smile. I even got a pick-up and drop-off to the John Wayne Airport. :) Now for the not so good bit, the carpet was infested with fleas, on complaining though, my room was changed and no worries moving forward.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Ugochi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
khamSam, Manager at Travelodge Orange County Airport/Costa Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thank you for your time.

It was a pleasure to be of assistance.
Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience. Although we are a pet friendly hotel, not all the rooms are pet rooms but some people are not considerate of other guest and sneak their pet into the room which creates this problem. We are trying our best to avoid this.


Thank you,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
khamSam, Manager at Travelodge Orange County Airport/Costa Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 June 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Jennifer-saturd... G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
khamSam, Manager at Travelodge Orange County Airport/Costa Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

The room is very nice. Very pleased with everything. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Location is great. Furniture is new and aesthetically pleasing. I have no complaints. But be aware that it is right in line with the John Wayne airport and in the morning you will hear all the airplanes raking off. Didnt bother us as we are early risers. Would come back in a heartbeat if the price is right.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vienb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
khamSam, Manager at Travelodge Orange County Airport/Costa Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Thank you for replying,
It is nice to hear you were pleased. The John Wayne Airport is about 5 minutes from our location which can be convenient for some especially since we offer free shuttle from 6:00am but I understand it can be noisy for others. However planes stop at 10pm and start at 7:00am which can be early for some guest.

Thank you,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Strange exterior lighting. Room decor unchanged since first Bush administration, i.e., aged and showing wear, but also a nice throwback. However, everything works. It's a fine place. I felt safe. Staff is friendly. Beds are firm.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nosdth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
khamSam, Manager at Travelodge Orange County Airport/Costa Mesa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Thank you for your time.
Appreciate your reply; we will utilize your comments for improvements.
Safety is essential at every hotel.

Thank you
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Mesa Inn
3.2 mi away
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa
1.2 mi away
BLVD Hotel
BLVD Hotel
#13 of 23 in Costa Mesa
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Orange County Airport/Costa Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Orange County Airport/Costa Mesa

Address: 1400 Bristol St, Suite A, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-8645
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range: £59 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Orange County Airport/Costa Mesa 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travelodge Orange County Airport/Costa Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Orange County Airport Hotel Costa Mesa
Travelodge Santa Ana
Travel Lodge Santa Ana
Santa Ana Travelodge
Santa Ana Travel Lodge
Travelodge Orange County Airport/Costa Mesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing