We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here twice, won't be a third time”
Review of BLVD Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BLVD Hotel
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I was looking forward to the remodeled property for our second stay here, but was disappointed. It's just a cheap motel. The staff was very friendly. That was the most positive thing about our stay. The doors between the connecting rooms are terrible at muting noise. We had to ask to change rooms, which the girl at the desk happily did. She mentioned it was an issue they were trying to deal with. The breakfast room was way undersized and therefore a mess. The idea of removing the carpet from the rooms and using a laminate type flooring seems like it would be cleaner, but it wasn't. The spa was cloudy during our 3 day stay, but the pool was clean. There were also big spider egg sacks all over the bottoms of the chairs and lounges around the pool. I asked the front desk of they could be cleaned, but it didn't happen. There are worse motels in this area for sure, but there are also better ones in this price range.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heavenlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Team03, Manager at BLVD Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not as pleasant as we all would have liked. We do although appreciate you coming back and staying with us a second time and for sharing your experience. We always want to find ways to improve our facility and services. We will certainly look into these issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

I decided last minute to extend my vacation and hit the beach and stayed at the BLVD for 2 nights. It is very much a re-branded motel but the staff was top notch and the room was very clean and comfortable. They seemed to go to great lengths to eliminate the Motel feel and they did pretty good. The floor was "hardwood", not carpet which was great, and the bedding was upscale and soft. The bathroom was nice with a large tub and a good shower head.

The only thing i noticed was the ancient A/C units, but it worked fine. An upgrade to digitally controlled units would be my suggestion.

Room Tip: Stay on the EAST side of the building. It faces a residential neighborhood and there is no parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Team03, Manager at BLVD Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

The Blvd Hotel appreciates your feedback. Good customer service is always #1 for all our staff. We believe that it is an essential part of the Blvd experience. We truly are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I stayed at this motel twice in two weeks so I feel I have a handle on this place. First, it is way overpriced. It should be in the $80 range but they try to get more than $130 for a night, DON'T do it! The location is a 10 to 15 min drive to the beach but certainly not an area for a family to walk around. It's next to the freeway, a tattoo parlor, late night massage and other low end motels.

The first time I stayed I was hopeful and it was dark when we checked in. The room was nice enough and the kids actually ate the continental breakfast (I couldn't touch it)! The second time I told my husband (he wasn't on the prior trip) it was fine for a night so we tried again. I tried calling to reserve the $86 rate I had seen but no one answered the phone, several times in one hour. The next day I was able to speak with someone who said I would need to talk to a manager but she wasn't in. We ended up driving down and I went in to talk to the manager, she wasn't available so I settled on $110 for the night. Bummed. My husband felt the place was a dump but we went about our afternoon. The worst part of our stay was our neighbors next door were so loud all night that we had to call the front desk. The problem was that the walls are so thin we could hear them through 2 a.m. Housekeeping walked in after a light tapping on the door…

Not worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L93460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Team03, Manager at BLVD Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at The Blvd Hotel. Unfortunately during the summer there are many events in the area that drive rates to increase in many hotels/ motels. We often run discount promotions that we love for guests to take advantage of. Booking in advance also guarantees that guests low rates for guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Unfortunately this "hotel" is nothing like the pictures online. You think you'll be staying at a nice hotel, it looks sleek and modern in pictures, but in reality it is a Motel 6 with purely aesthetic upgrades. The mattress is still awful, the tiles in the bathroom were still thrown on by an idiot (if you stay here you'd know what I mean), the sink and shower do not drain (wish I could attach my photo of the brown water in the sink backing up after the water was turned on for only a few seconds), the water itself was disgusting -- the taste was so strong and so bad that just brushing my teeth with it was awful, and it was so strong that it overpowered the tea that I tried to make with it as well, breakfast was inedible (yogurt expired, hardboiled eggs had gone bad, breakfast meets were mystery patties, and the staff closed up the waffle machine while i was standing in line for it... "because breakfast closes at 10" even though people are still all standing around trying to get food. Is it the guest's fault that the breakfast room is inadequate for the number of guests at the motel?), WiFi never worked (lobby people told me too bad, it works in the lobby so there's nothing they can do), hotel was in a data/signal dead zone for both T-Mobile and AT&T but we had no problems anywhere else in the state.

Just awful. Please do not believe the good reviews, there is no way they are real.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Team03, Manager at BLVD Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at The Blvd Hotel. Our goal is to always try our absolute best to make every persons stay pleasant. We are also sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the free breakfast. After your yogurt report we immediately did a breakfast room inspection to ensure all the products were okay. Our hotel guests rarely have wi-fi connectivity issues. Sometimes the solution is as simply as restarting your device. Lastly, our property has been undergoing major renovations, but we have not reached our finished product. We will completely be gutting out the bathroom areas in every single room. WE hope that you can give us another opportunity once we have fully completed renovatio our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Beds were comfortable. Check-in was easy. Room was clean. Toilet was LOUD. Breakfast could have been much better - pretty plain for a 'boutique' motel.. I think rate I pd was doubled due to OC Fair in operation. Would definitely stay again, but not at the price I paid.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Team03, Manager at BLVD Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Summer is a great time to stay at The Blvd Hotel in Orange County, but the OC Fair along with other local summer events do drive drives. We would really love for you to come back once summer is over!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have stayed in this area before and saw this place was remodeled to BLVD Boutique Hotel and would give it a try. Hotel is an older ( days inn, choice hotel ) type place. They added some wood and glass to the front side, smoothed out stucco, paint but that is where it ended on outside. Back side rooms outside not done same and not painted all the way. Inside front sleeping area has new flooring, linoleum wood looking, fancy wood headboard, desk area which is nice. Bed is firm but poor, noisy springs. Bedding had some stains and marks on sheets. That is where it stopped. Bathroom area appeared not to have been touched. Room wall had patchs done and not painted. Around some areas they just stopped painting. Electrical out for a/c was missing cover and drapes hanging over outlet (fire hazard). Breakfast area small and sucked. Friends stayed at days inn down the rode. Rooms older but larger and cheaper and in ok shape. Small pool no jacuzzi. Will stay there next time.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Team03, Manager at BLVD Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We always love hearing from our guests on how we can improve our services. We are very proud of our renovations thus far, but we are not quite finished. We are excited to share with you that we will be completely redesigning our lobby area and our bathroom areas in all of the rooms in the near future. We thank you for staying with us, and we hope that you return to The Blvd Hotel once all renovations are complete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel was in a great location, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and updated. My only complaint was there wasn't any coffee left when we went to the breakfast room ! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sandmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management-Team03, Manager at BLVD Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Blvd Hotel. Next time please let us know that the coffee is out and we will quickly brew up some more coffee for you! In fact, coffee is available for guests 24 hours. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
2.0 mi away
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Newport Mesa Inn
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,666 reviews
2.7 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BLVD Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BLVD Hotel

Address: 2430 Newport Blvd, Costa Mesa, CA 92627 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Price Range: £64 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BLVD Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BLVD HOTEL, a Costa Mesa hotel near the John Wayne Airport.The BLVD HOTEL is less than three miles from John Wayne Airport and only 13 miles from Disneyland. This Costa Mesa, CA hotel is one half-mile away from the OC Fair and Event Center multipurpose venue, home of the Pacific Amphitheater, Orange County Market Place and Orange County Fairgrounds Farmers Market.Popular area attractions include Vanguard University of Southern California, Orange Coast College and the University of California, Irvine. Long Beach Airport is 14 miles away and the Los Angeles International Airport is 40 miles.Nearby Huntington Beach and Newport Beach both offer miles of pristine coastline, piers and boardwalks where you can enjoy strolling the shore for seashells, swimming or surfing in the Pacific Ocean, or taking a cruise to Catalina Island.Several shopping and entertainment venues like the Fashion Island Newport Center shopping center and South Coast Plaza Mall are close by. There are a number of restaurants, cocktail lounges, cafes and specialty stores in the vicinity; some can be found within walking distance to the hotel.Guests of this Costa Mesa, CA hotel are invited to enjoy features like:•Free wireless high-speed Internet access•Free coffee and free daily newspaper in lobby•Outdoor pool and hot tub•100% non-smoking hotel.Business travelers will appreciate modern conveniences like access to copy and fax services.In addition to standard amenities, all of our spacious and well-appointed guest rooms are equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and cable television. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, The BLVD HOTEL provides a convenient location, friendly customer service and affordable accommodations to everyone visiting the Costa Mesa area. Hotel is 100 percent smoke free. 250.00 Cleaning fee, if smoking in the room. If paying in cash, 100 USD deposit required . Credit card may be used for deposit. Guest Rooms: 58.Check in time:3:00 PM.Check out time: 11:00 AM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your BLVD Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Costa Mesa
Comfort Inn Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Comfort Inn
BLVD Hotel Costa Mesa, Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing