We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average Mexican food”
Review of Taco Mesa

Taco Mesa
Ranked #23 of 509 Restaurants in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Better than average Mexican food”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Even though in Southern California there's a Mexican place at any corner, this is certainly above the average level for the quality of its food, as well as the inventiveness in the menu. And it's cheap!

There's very limited seating (and parking), but if you manage to sit outside with your friends, the bar scene is not too bad - even though you're basically eating on the street.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Ciri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    35
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good food ”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Stopped in to try it out, the reviews were very good. Three o us had dinner for about 50 dollars. The good was fresh and delicious. The baked cream cheese flan was amazing the churos were terrible though.

The soup tonight was chicken soup, it also was very good.

I recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best tasting Mexican food ever!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

During our short stay, we had to go back, it was that good! Very casual but absolutely great food that is also very affordable!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Mexican fast food in Orange County.”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

For the last twenty years, my wife and I have a rule; if we get within 50 miles of a Taco Mesa, we find a way to eat there. The menu is incredibly inventive. There are numerous, healthy menu options. The three house salsas are amazing. The avocado/tomatillo salsa may be the single best salsa I have ever eaten. We manage to make it to Taco Mesa at least four or five times a year, and I have never been disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Best Cheap Mexican Food in OC”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

There are four Taco Mesa's in Orange County. They are very convenient to me. One is near my chiropractor, one is near my optometrist, one is near my sister's house and one is near my house. I make it a point to eat at each one as often as I can. The way they blend flavors is heavenly! Try the Salmon Paradiso! Something in the herbs and spices makes me crave their food. Everything is wonderful. There are several raving reviews and articles adorning the walls that have appeared in food magazines and newspapers. They have daily specials and everything new you try is fantastic. I usually sit there amazed that people are going into a well known cheap hamburger place next door, when all the great flavor is just a few steps away. The inside has very limited counter seating. Outside has about 8 tables and is covered, has heaters and plexiglass to keep the wind out. Bring your favorite sticker and slap it on the soda machine or trash can. Try to get there early as parking is limited.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taco Mesa also viewed

Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 

Been to Taco Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing