We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Mexican seafood and soups”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Taco Mesa

Taco Mesa
Ranked #17 of 510 Restaurants in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
195 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Mexican seafood and soups”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Don't let the exterior deter you, because this little place prepares some of the best Mexican food in OC. Everything they make with seafood is outstanding and they offer delicious specials and soups every day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    35
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Taco Mesa 19th Street Costa Mesa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

I researched this place on the internet. In late April we went to Costa Mesa, our old stomping grounds. Taco Mesa is so good! Reasonable, fresh, and so dam good! We used to live in the area and sure miss it. California has some of the best Mexican food north of Mexico. The best way to describe this place is...traditional Mexican gourmet street food. We live in Florida where Cuban food is great, but Mexican food....well..sucks! Taco Mesa. ..Que Bueno! Love love love this place. We ordered the combination plate. Shredded beef taco and enchilada with a side of guacamole! Worth the extra $. Taco Mesa, I wish you would open up in Fort Lauderdale!

Helpful?
1 Thank ray t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Taco Mesa has incredible Papaya Salmon and Calamari tacos ! Their specials on any given night are delicious. I've been eating here for yrs and have never been disappointed.!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
298 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

This is a very small restaurant that makes amazing use of its space! Seating and parking are both limited, but the food is well worth the effort!

The food is fresh and made with local and organic ingredients. The options are great - satisfying vegan, vegetarian, and omnivore preferences without difficulty. The portions are big, leaving no one hungry. And then prices are super reasonable especially considering the quality of the ingredients.

Definitely recommend making this a dining choice if you want quick great food that isn't expensive when you are in the Costa Mesa area. We will be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank SLPlovesPE42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Better than average Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Even though in Southern California there's a Mexican place at any corner, this is certainly above the average level for the quality of its food, as well as the inventiveness in the menu. And it's cheap!

There's very limited seating (and parking), but if you manage to sit outside with your friends, the bar scene is not too bad - even though you're basically eating on the street.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Ciri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taco Mesa also viewed

Costa Mesa, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Taco Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing