We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food in a busy but pleasant environment”

Santa Monica Seafood
Ranked #7 of 510 Restaurants in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$32
Cuisines: Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food in a busy but pleasant environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We came across this restaurant at noon but it was packed so when we asked about a good time to come for dinner on Saturday evening (they don't take reservations) we were told to come at 5. We did. It wasn't yet crowded. We got great service and great food. We shared a Tuna Tartare appetizer that was fantastic. The snapper and swordfish were equally good and the shared Chocolate cake was a tasty end to a great meal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EsoxL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    34
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fresh & refreshing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

After a hot day enjoying Newport Beach, the ceviche at SMSF was so refreshing! The flavor featured a lot of lime, which we enjoy. My wife enjoyed salmon and I had a great swordfish sandwich. It was too much food to finish at the restaurant. Our service was excellent and they were busy. It was a wonderful way to end a great day at the beach. We were staying near John Wayne airport and this was convenient to find. With so many choices in the area, it was nice to have TripAdvisor to help select Santa Monica Seafood! We will return! I still haven't found "the best fish tacos." (We haven't tried them here, don't even know if they are on the menu...)

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueSkies7780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
245 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Hooked on freshness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

On first visit, the selection of high quality seafood was overwhelming. Won't find this quality (and prices) in your local supermarket so might be surprised like we were. Took home a beautiful cut of Chilean Sea Bass and a couple pieces of halibut. Bass was so thick, we sliced in half. Can't ever remember buying and grilling fish so fresh and flavorful! Try a miso or lemon marinade and you won't be disappointed. We fell hook, line and sinker for Santa Monica Seafood!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shimadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“best fresh seafood selection in OC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

If you can't find that special type of fish or shellfish you're looking for, it is probably here. Prices may seem a bit high (compared to supers) but the freshness and quality more than make up for it.
Do not overlook their cafe as a reasonably priced fresh seafood lunch spot.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank FoybJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poway, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Last Saturday is the 4th time I've visited this establishment and once again, it was terrific. You would be hard-pressed to find better clam chowder. We shared a Lobster roll and Shrimp & Scallops with Crimini Mushroom Ravioli. Absolutely wonderful. We highly recommend Santa Monica Seafood.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sfitzgibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santa Monica Seafood also viewed

 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 
Costa Mesa, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 

Been to Santa Monica Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing