We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Platinum Level Dining In Newport” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Monica Seafood

Santa Monica Seafood
Ranked #10 of 506 Restaurants in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
485 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
“Platinum Level Dining In Newport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Excellent sea foods, excellent service in a pleasant ambience. Convenient for lunch or dinner. Wide range of wines and beers. Takeout service also available.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank photoguy66degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    34
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Seafood Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is the first time I tried their café-oyster bar, although I shop for seafood here. Enjoyed their express lunch with Manhattan clam chowder that had a fragrant, light tomato soup base, lots of fresh veggies and melt-in-your-mouth clams. Came with a half tuna sandwich on crunchy grilled sour dough bread and side of fresh salad greens. Friendly service and comfortable bar seating. They have a variety of prepared foods as well--really love their Indian candy smoked salmon. This place is my seafood heaven,

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DrLucyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Seafood to go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This is an excellent store for buying raw seafood. They probably are the best I know of in tis area for collection and quality. They now also have a few tables so that you may buy prepared meals and eat in.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Fresh Seafood in OC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Hands down, I never buy my fish any where else. Each time I have, I have been disappointed. So now, I drive a little further, and pay a little more, to ensure freshness. They almost always carry the fish type that I am looking for and their staff is friendly and helpful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
371 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh oysters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Excellent fresh oysters. Good halibut, OK salmon burger, very good New England clam chowder.
Very nice fish market. A lot of nice restaurants buy their fish from here. Indoor and outdoor cafe.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santa Monica Seafood also viewed

Costa Mesa, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 
Costa Mesa, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 

Been to Santa Monica Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing