We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”
Review of Forest Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarendo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Forest Hotel
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This 4 night break over Xmas has shot to no.1 in our most magical and memorable holidays.
Margareta, Ingemar, Louise, Patric, Emanuel and Katarina are the best hosts you could possible wish for and ask that you treat their hotel as home, we have never been anywhere so warm and welcoming. The hotel is gorgeous, lots of nooks and crannies to explore and relax in. Big open fires with comfy sofas.
Yes the bedrooms are small but you only slept in them !

Blimey I have forgotten to mention the activities --- well what can I say !!
AMAZING from start to finish, we booked as a package with The Aurora Zone (excellent service from the moment we started looking at what we wanted to do) and had 3 full days of activities, snow shoes, cross country skiing, husky sledging, snow mobiles and ice fishing. After every days activities were finished the outdoor wood sauna and jacuzzi would be waiting for us to relax. Then off out again In The evenings northern light hunting in snow mobile pulled sledges he he !
What was our favourite activity ! Well that's easy - ALL OF THEM , simply because we have never experienced anything like it before and probably never will again. Soooo wanted to stay for longer !
Unluckily we did not see the northern lights but hey we had a fab time with a fantastic group of people.

The only downside for us was that we were a bit unlucky with the flights out due to a 5 hour connection but that was due to Finnairs schedule. It meant that we missed one of the scrumptious evening meals, although we were provided with a very delicious soup and bread supper on arrival at midnight.

Altogether a holiday never to be forgotten and thank you to Margareta, Ingemar, family and extended family for making it such a magical time for us.

Would love to return one day !

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise G, Informationsansvarig at Forest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you Sharon for the kind words!
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again! Hopefully next time you will see some amazing northern lights!
Best Regards
Louise with family and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for Forest Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

We just got back from a wonderful 6 day trip over new year's at the Forest Hotel and can't believe how lucky we are to have visited this amazing place. It's run by the friendliest hosts you could ever wish for, in a breathtaking location with delicious food and a chilled atmosphere that continues to wash over us, even in the dreary wetness of the UK. As others have said in their reviews, Margareta, Ingemar, Louise, Patric, Emanuel and Katarina treat their guest as friends -- and it's genuine -- of course, they're working, but it doesn't feel like 'work' but rather that you are at home, hanging out with some lovely people who want to show you and share with you all the wonders of their homeland. From dog sledding on the most incredible sun-filled day, to skiddo-ing through new snow, to quality time in the sauna and jacuzzi (not to mention the ice hole!), we couldn't have dreamed of having a better way to see in the new year. And what a brilliant new year's eve it was -- from canapes in the tipee, to a team quiz inbetween a delicious dinner, to bubbly at midnight, it was just another example of incredible effort and thoughtfulness which sets the Forest Hotel apart from every other holiday. One last thing - the food is fantastic: Frederik is a wonderful chef and the meals surprised and delighted every day, so be prepared to do some extra snow-shoeing to work it off! Btw: we booked through AuroraZone, and were lucky in the great group we had too -- truly a new year to remember.

Room Tip: The rooms are small and basic -- but the beds are good and who wants to hang in their room? There a...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank britishbird_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise G, Informationsansvarig at Forest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you so much for these lovely words!
It was just amazing to have you here for new years and you all made the atmosphere so great, and we couldnt have done it so well without our incredible guests!
Hope to see you again and we hope for more northern lights and colder weather next time.
Best Regards
Louise and the rest of Forest Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We've just spent a wonderful 4 days over Christmas at the Forest Hotel and can only echo the comments of the last review. Ingemar, Margareta, Patric and Louise are great hosts (and a lovely family) who couldn't do enough to ensure we enjoyed every moment of our stay in this amazing location. The planned activities (and the Sauna) we're great and when the weather did conspire against us, Patric ensured our kids we're occupied with an extra ski-do excursion. We also have to mention the great food and the chef, Frederik, didn't disappoint once as our waistlines will attest. Sadly we only caught the faintest sight of the aurora but this place is worth a visit with or without it. We'll be back. The Smiths

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise G, Informationsansvarig at Forest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you so much for the kind words!
We enjoyed having you guys here and hope to see you soon, and hopefully you will see more northern lights next time you visit :)
We wish you all a great 2014
Best Regards
/Louise with family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

December 2013
Much like the other reviews here our stay at Forest Hotel was absolutely fantastic. Our hosts Ingemar and Margareta welcomed us as though we were family members or close friends. Their two eldest children Louise and Patric are also part of the team and also brilliant hosts. I visited with my husband and two 'children' age 22 and 20 and they said it was the best family holiday they've ever had! We loved all the very well organised activities supported by more wonderfully friendly people Emanuel, Katarina, Annett and Andreas. The food is excellent and facilities first class. Sadly we didn't see the aurora...but this means, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickyJMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise G, Webcoordinator at Forest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for these lovley words!
We enjoyed having you and your family, and next time we hope for better luck with the northern lights :)
Best Regards
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

What a fantastic break hosted by the Forest Hotel.

The Forest Hotel is run by a fantastic family who simply couldn't do enough for us all. Margarita and her family couldn't have been more friendly sparing the time to talk to us, checking we were all okay and making sure everything was perfect.

In our four days we went out on the snow mobiles, we did ice fishing, cross country skiing with Karina, a Moose farm and dog sledding. All really well organised and full credit to Patric for keeping us safe at -32 degrees one day!

If you far thinking of booking here, do so. You won't regret it. And if you are a photographer, both Patric and Ingermar are keen photographers and only to keen to help and advise you to get the best shots.

Hopefully at some time, we will get back there again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Nigel_48a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise G, Informationsansvarig at Forest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Thank you for the nice review and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again!
Best Regards
Louise
Forest Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We enjoyed an amazing week staying with Ingemar, Margareta, Patric and Sigge in March 2013. Their effortless hospitality makes this a brilliant place to stay and we felt like honorary family members for the week!
The rooms are basic but comfortable and welcoming, and the food (full board) is absolutely delicious. The saunas and hot tub are really fun, can wholeheartedly recommend a cold beer and roll in the snow after using the outdoor sauna.
The quality of the hotel and friendly owners were a real bonus, but the real incentive to visit here is the location and activities - we had a great time out in the snow and ice with Ingemar and Patric expertly guiding us on skis, snowmobiles and husky sleds.
We have happily recommended Forest to our friends and family and hope to visit again soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view - you might get lucky with the Northern Lights from the warmth of your room!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise G, Public Relations Manager at Forest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank You for the wonderful review! It was great having you here and we all hope to see you again soon. You were one of those couples that we will never forget!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This is one of the friendliest and most informal hotels I have ever stayed in. The communal lounges are spacious and comfortable and the food is excellent; very expensive as one would expect in Sweden, but excellent none-the-less. On the downside the bedrooms are tiny and basic but clean and comfortable and you spend so little time in them that it really doesn't matter.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJG444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Forest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Hotel

Address: 43 Niemenrova, Tarendo 980 61, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Tarendo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Tarendo
Price Range: £36 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ForestHotel is a wilderness lodge, lost in the woods, 80 km above arctic circle. The hotel charms its guests with a cosy atmosphere, fun nature activities, fresh and tasty food, and above all a very friendly staff. ForestHotel is a quiet and warm address, a perfect base for high quality winter activities like snow-mobile, husky driving, cross-country skiing, wildcamp expeditions, icefishing and reindeer safaris, and also northern light search. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Forest Hotel Sweden/Tarendo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing