We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penon Blanco Lookout
Ranked #1 of 3 Coulterville B&B and Inns
Nottingham, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing stars”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Hi late review I know, but stayed at Penon Blanco Lookout in October 2012. We were the only couple staying there for the two nights we booked, and Margi and Wolfgang made us very welcome. Location is very much in the middle of nowhere and at night its VERY dark especially when you accidentally switch off your headlights whilst driving - not a pleasant experience! But the darkness makes the night sky look amazing, shooting stars and all. We also saw dear, mountain lion, skunk, woodpeckers oh and the donkey across the road. Accommodation is a mixture of Bavarian decor, lots of Meissen style pottery and ranch style but it works. The place is very clean, and would not hesitate to recommend. Ask Margi for directions to the local (5 miles) bar come BBQ with live music where the locals hang out it was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaKid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    18
    7
    1
    5
See reviews for
15
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2013

It was Jan 6, and it has been raining since the night before.
It’s cold, rain & wind, an unexciting day ̶ No, sunrise in the heavy clouds, shyly hides behind the orange glow. When the rain stops, flocks of bird are winging, chirping and searching for food. I spotted four different species of birds just within fifteen minutes. A jack rabbit is also seen in its stillness position.
As in my quiet time, my contemplation reached out to the lake, to the mountains, to John Muir’s trail. It’s his devotion for the protection of the mountains he loved, and now I share his vision to appreciate the beauty of this surrounding area. Would it have ever been peaceful as today, rugged humps along the roadside are simply unable to conceal the ferocity during the gold rush era. Time flies, sunset is even more utterly beautiful than sunrise after the sky has been washed by rain.
I give it a full score, but it doesn’t mean that it’s perfect. No body’s perfect. I am thankful that the hospitality I received is a lot more than I expected. It’s their hearts, Margi & Wolfgang, their dedication to make this place unique…

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogineHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I just have to share our experience staying at the Penon Blanco Lookout last summer (July 2012). This is a lovely B&B with many antiques, lovely breakfasts, but a good distance from Yosemite. This is anything but a short drive to Yosemite. It was certainly not in anything close to a forested area, and the drive to the gate of Yosemite National Park was probably about 45 minutes. However, that was just to the gate. Driving to Yosemite Village was probably another 45 min. We stayed 4 nights and each day drove at least 1 1/2 hrs into Yosemite each way. If you want to get away from it all, this is a great place. If you want to visit Yosemite, I'd recommend finding something much closer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012 via mobile

This was a lovely place in such a beautiful remote location. The room was spacious and well equipped. Margi was an exceptional host who prepared the best breakfasts ever. Although an hours drive into Yosemite the drive is nice.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank INSC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Springs, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I was looking for a quiet night at what could have been a delightful B&B. Unfortunately, I had to change My plans then cancel. I contacted their GM M. Tanner on Oct 18 asking them to cancel. I got no response. They never acknoledge it or anything. I waited 10 day and I had to cancel through the website that i booked and THEY KEPT THE ENTIRE AMOUNT FOR THE STAY. BE CAREFUL THEY WILL KEEP YOUR MONEY!!!!!!!!!!! CAVEAT EMPTOR!!! BEWARE . THEY DID NOT REFUND ANYTHING

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nelson W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Very comfortable & homely in a fantastic location which is rural and a little remote. Make sure you have Margi's directions and avoid arriving after dark if possible (our specific failures!). Its distance from Yosemite NP is not a problem despite being around 25-30 miles. Elegant & extensive breakfasts set you up for the day. Video library available if you get tired of sitting out on the balcony drinking wine from your fridge enjoying the moonlit vistas. All home comforts to hand.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidNptUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I scoured websites looking for accommodation within reach of Yosemite. Based on reviews I chose the Lookout B&B. Our two days at the Lookout were wonderful. Margi is a super host and went out of her way to make us feel welcome at her "Inn". The views were great, the breakfasts outstanding, the rooms welcoming and her advice on where to go and where to dine in the area, invaluable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamnewanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coulterville
20.9 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
416 reviews
23.6 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
7.5 mi away
All Seasons Groveland Inn B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
806 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
576 reviews
17.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penon Blanco Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penon Blanco Lookout

Property: Penon Blanco Lookout
Address: 4705 Penon Blanco Rd, Coulterville, CA 95311-9702
Region: United States > California > Coulterville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Coulterville
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Penon Blanco Lookout reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penon Blanco Lookout Hotel Coulterville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing