We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really enjoyed our stay at this lodge.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Red Rooster Lodge
Reviewed 22 November 2013

A really cute and small place. We had some trouble finding it when we first arrived - so keep an eye out for the sign. The staff was really friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Suite which is a quite big and really nice room with a private bathroom. Everything was clean. We especially enjoyed the hot tub. The drive to Yosemite Valley is about 1 - 1.5 hours. I recommand this lodge to anyone that wants to visit Yosemite Nationalpark and surrounding area.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for The Red Rooster Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

My partner and I travel a lot, and we always look for the best deals wherever we go. We usually use http://booking.com and rely on the info on there, but this is one of the very few instances where the property was completely different than what was advertised. In general, my reviews are pretty good, but after my stay at the Red Rooster Lodge, I was compelled to inform future travelers what to really expect.

First off, this is a sold 1.5 hours drive from Yosemite. It should not really be advertised as a place to stay "nearby". Once you find the place, you are actually checking in in what appears to be someone's residence. There is nothing professional about it. Be very careful when you drive into the driveway as this area is completely unlit and the parking spaces are very unclear.

There is a trailer parked outside where the manager and his family allegedly sleep in. When we walked in to check in, the manager, a Mr. Segal, began to, rather harshly in my opinion, verbally discipline his son (who was shirtless, by the way) right in front of us while his son wiped off the counter of the kitchen, which is also the check-in area. Apparently his boy was not doing it correctly, but this is literally the first encounter we had the manager, and our first impression of the lodge. Mr. Segal also let us know that his daughter-in-law was sleeping in one of the rooms in the house. Having the children shirtless sitting in the living room watching TV, the daughter-in-law sleeping in one of the rooms, and the wife cooking in the morning made us feel like we were staying at someone's home, not a lodge.

The lodge advertised the tent/room we stayed in to have a "California King" mattress, which was reiterated by Mr. Segal when he showed us to our room. I am sorry, but 2 twin-size beds put together does not constitute as a California King. We were actually quite uncomfortable, especially considering the price for the room. And sadly, the hot tub that was advertised was under repair. The manager said it had just broken the night before, but if you go and it is still broken, well, it's now been 3 months from the time of our visit.

Lastly, there was a long trail of ants in the bathroom by the toilet, which was disgusting. It made me question the cleanliness of the rooms, and the food that the manager's wife prepared for guests in the morning. We decided to go with yogurt and fruit, to be on the safe side.

Although the idea of a tent/room was really cool and exciting, we were quite disappointed. We were happy to leave early the next morning and we don't plan to ever stay in this property again. I say, pay the extra 30-50 bucks and stay somewhere closer, cleaner, and with better customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TomTempel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lars J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henrik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Inessa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coulterville
16.5 mi away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,148 reviews
14.2 mi away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
500 reviews
17.1 mi away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
819 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
583 reviews
4.7 mi away
Yosemite Gold Country Lodge
Yosemite Gold Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in Coulterville
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Rooster Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Rooster Lodge

Address: 10389 Dexter Ln, Coulterville, CA 95311-9525
Region: United States > California > Coulterville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Coulterville
Price Range: £61 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Red Rooster Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay in a quiet, rustic getaway after a day filled with sightseeing. Yosemite National Park is only 45-60 minutes away. Suites have a private bathroom. Fresh seasonal fruit, breads and jams, and pastries are provided at the daily continental breakfast. Guests can relax on the 2 available decks. Wi-Fi is available in all areas and is free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Red Rooster Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing