We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"a small paradise"”
Review of Abelos Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abelos Villa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roustika
Reviewed 15 November 2012

The door opens and you realise that a marvelous garden is hiding behind it. After this you see a beautiful stone house, traditional style and, then, when you enter inside, the smell of Crete with a fresh air takes your breathe. The rooms are comfortable, you can find what you need and its suitable for a couple or a family. In the afternoon you can enjoy an extrodinary sunset from the terrace and in the morning you can drink your coffe next to the pool.
As for the village, with the old but preserved houses, it gives you the sense of being in another historical time, an era of bliss. People are very kind and if you want to eat and drink some raki try the taverna of Mr. Nikos and Maria!
If you are a lover of trekking there are a lot of paths in that part of Crete.
The sweet hostess of Abelos Villa, Eleni, is willing to give you the information that you need for what you can do around.
The quitness will relax you and the beauty of nature will set you free!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AIMILIAKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
There are newer reviews for Abelos Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

Abelos villa is set in the most beautiful unspoilt cretan village surrounded by olive groves and giving fabulous views to the North Coast. It has been superbly restored by the owners and, whilst not at all flash, is a gorgeous place to stay. We had to use the bigger half of the house as there are seven of us and, although the smaller part is more spacious and beautiful, we fell in love with our holiday home. Eleni and Dmitri who own the villa are the perfect hosts-so kind and generous with lots of helpful advice as well as some wonderful home cooking without being intrusive. They really made the holiday, with no hidden catches or unpleasant surprises it was really good value form money. We can't recommend it enough and in fact are already planning a return trip! If you want something off the beaten track with only the sound of sheep bells at night this place is for you! It's worth noting as well that we stayed here in October and had some fairly wet and wild weather but could always manage to find a sunny beach and still had a fantastic time and that includes 5 children aged 7 to 15 years (we didn't even try to use the TV)!. Although not the main tourist season the local taverna owners cooked us a wonderful feast on two occassions giving us more happy memories. The warmth of the people is something that we will remember for a long time.

Room Tip: The living space in the larger half of the house is small but bedrooms well proportioned and plenty...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RuthDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This was our first visit to Crete and Abelos couldn't have been a better introduction. The accommodation is superb - very well equipped and with a fabulous, well kept garden (pick your own vegetables for supper!) and excellent pool. We enjoyed wonderful hospitality from our hosts Eleni and Dimitri, and Roustika village was equally welcoming - our evenings sipping raki in the local kafenion were particularly memorable. If you want to visit some of the best beaches in Crete these can be reached in less than half an hour via quiet and scenic mountain roads. And if you want to enjoy peace and a touch of luxury in an unspoilt, off the beaten track village we can unreservedly recommend Abelos.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank angerhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Villa Abelos is a very old family house renovated in the pure traditionnal cretan style. The house is made of old stone / zood qnd is very typical. u can rent 2 places one for 5+ persons and one for 3/4. There's a beautiful garden with olive trees and lot of cretan herbs, bougainville ... The pool is very nice and offer refreshing place during hot days. The house is located in Roustika, 27 km south of Rethymno and is ideal to discover south coast and north coast of Crete. Roustika has a tavern, an old monastry and beautiful byzantine church with old fresco inside. The owner will make your stay unforgettable by cooking for you cretan disches for the evening. We had extraordinary time in Abelos. Is a good place to stop few days while touring aound Crete. Peaceful and resting atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank semanteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophiemaretto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gigillou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank Galina19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roustika
7.2 mi away
Plakias Resort
Plakias Resort
#2 of 24 in Plakias
110 reviews
6.6 mi away
Costas & Chrysoula
Costas & Chrysoula
#3 of 24 in Plakias
192 reviews
2.2 mi away
Arcus Suites
Arcus Suites
#1 of 5 in Argyroupolis
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mountain Vista Resort
Mountain Vista Resort
#1 of 2 in Roustika
4 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Abelos Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abelos Villa

Address: Crete-Rethymno-Roustika, Roustika, Crete 740 58, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Roustika
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roustika
Hotel Class:3 star — Abelos Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abelos Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing