We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location, average site.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cloud Farm Camping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cloud Farm Camping
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, average site.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

The most perfect place and relaxed owners with no fixed pitches, cream teas and takeaway meals! however despite the great location the relaxed attitude of the owners extended the facilities, inadequate toilets considering the amount of people and bizarre shower arrangements. Have been here twice before but would think of going elsewhere considering the price per person per night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TumnusandAmelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    24
    16
    13
    3
See reviews for
34
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. Very laid back campsite in a beautiful setting. Kids lived playing in the river and we were able to have a camp fire every evening. The only thing that lets this campsite down is the facilities. Only a few toilets and showers for a lot of campers. The chap that runs the campsite was lovely and friendly but seemed to have his work cut out keeping things clean. Overall this is definitely somewhere I would return to as, although the facilities were below par, the beautiful location, laid back feel and value makes up for this.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Went there for 1 night only. The campsite is varied with different levels. It has all the necessary facilities, although basic. The cafe is a bonus as it actually provides good coffee/tea.

The river can be very loud if you're a light sleeper, but it's very beautiful and kids can play in the water and surrounding forest.

The staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexOrozco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Amazing location and lovely stream - amazing surrounding countryside and villages. Friendly service from the guy that owned the place, he had everything you needed. Lovely stay - we explored the countryside and the surrounding villages and towns - Lynton, Lynmouth, Portlock, Barnstaple, Rockford, Dunster village and castle etc and ate out or when the weather was nice we had a lovely fire by our tent in the stone circle provided for each pitch. We had a great stay!

Room Tip: Amazing location and lovely stream - if you go into the far fields it is quieter but if you would li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abow2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Lovely stay, great location, in fact a fantastic setting!We only stayed for one night, I would struggle to stay for more nights as facilities had put me off. I must admit that simple things, like cleaning the sinks, toilets, floor, mirror would change my feeling of the site. I was finding toilet in the eveining and in the morning in the same state, other than toilet roll being changed. It is quite sad, that the site is not being used to its full capacity.The room where you wash up was also very tired and not clean. Moving round the camp was easy, but signs to show direction were either not there or manually handwritten, which didn't look inviting.
I would say the site needs more hands on, so it is more comfortable and pleasing to eye.

Room Tip: Be aware of very narrow and bupy roads coming to the campsite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZAS51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Camping with 3 children -(14,11 and 5 yrs)even they Loved this place,couldn't keep them out of the stream . Seemed busy yet still had lots of room and didn't feel overcrowded and still lovey and quite can't wait to go again .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jemx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Nice position but let down by inadequate facilities, and dirty at that. Didn't dare risk the tearooms!
I would love to see a star rating for its cleanliness. Tried to sell out of date milk which is a bit surprising considering we are in such beautiful countryside.
Last but not least...most toilets had no locks!

Room Tip: Go down the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cloud Farm Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloud Farm Camping

Property: Cloud Farm Camping
Address: Oare, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Oare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Oare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing