We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ever campsite”
Review of Cloud Farm Camping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cloud Farm Camping
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in July with friends, wow what a beautiful place! The tents can be pitched by the stream and camp fires are allowed. The staff are so friendly at the site and the near by pub. Had breakfast at the little shop on site, well priced and very tasty. Very friendly, relaxed camp site. Sadly there is one negative point, the showers cubicles need replacing and cleaning, as do the toilets. However, this would not stop me going back as it is by far the loveliest site I have been too.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank ebenezerManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Cloud Farm Camping
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Spent last weekend camping at Cloud Farm in the Doone Valley. I honestly think you would struggle to find a more beautiful and idyllic setting. Very friendly and helpful staff, we could select our pitch ( with lots to choose from) We choose to pitch next to the shallow babbling river away from the hook up points so were refunded our electric charge immediately. Pub serving food within a short walk (where we were welcomed to watch the England Match). Lots of fabulous walks from the site. Friendly wild birds (feathered type). Camp fires allowed and logs available. Very relaxed atmosphere and were made very very welcome. Will return without question.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skindogs50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This campsite has a fantastic location right by the river in Doone Valley. You can pitch up anywhere which is a bonus and there are loads of tucked away camping spots if you want a bit of privacy. The location gets 5 stars I just found the facilities all a bit tired and in need of some serious investment which is a shame as this campsite has the potential to be fantastic. In particular the unisex showers are run by a generator which is switched off between 8pm and 8am which is frustrating if you arrive back late and want to shower before bed, and are only partitioned off using white shower curtains, so a bit disconcerting if it's a windy day. Apparently they were updated in 2012 so wouldn't like to have seen them before! We paid £8 each and £2 for the dog so £18 a night. I'm fine with fairly basic facilities but only when this is reflected in the price. £18 seemed a bit steep to me!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _katie93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We went as a group if friends, and had the best weekend ever. John and the whole team (especially fabulous lady in the shop) made us welcome and relaxed ("no rules"). We would highly recommend it for anyone wanting to get away from it all, in a beautiful setting, with people that make you feel at ease no matter what you want from the occasion. Pub down the road, shop on site (they may need more wine on stock), best time ever. We will be back. Love Emma, Sara, Ben, billy, Claire and lorna (aka lorna doone) xxx

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We spent a couple of nights there, we were a group of 11. Location is amazing if it is what you are looking for. Toilets and showers in the camping site are just ok, only 5 unisex showers for the whole place which it´s quite big.
What I did not like at all was the way we were treated by the owner. Some of us stayed at the camping and a few in the cottage they have 15 min walking from the camping site. We went to the cottage where the rest of the group stayed and we were sudenly kicked out in a veeeeery rude way by the owner. We did not party in the cottage, we did not damage anything, I still don´t know what we did wrong... I am not used to be treated this way, there are many other ways of talking to people and let them know what is going on. For sure I am not going back...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights camping. Pitched in a beautiful spot next to the river where we watched a huge array of bird life whilst having a campfire with logs from the site (fantastic touch) - just perfect. Facilities were good and kept clean, showers are in a container but perfectly adequate and well maintained. Shop with facilities on site is great and bar / tea rooms at the end of the drive is perfect for a walk and a few drinks - really friendly people there too. All the staff we met and I assume owners were laid back and friendly ensuring we had all we needed. Amazing campsite that I would definitely recommend if you're looking for an unforgettable location to get away from it all (you won't get a phone signal but that added to the pleasure).

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Zmrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The site is stunning, running along the bank of a river.

However...

Last time we visited we were charged for an electric hook up which we didnt have. We did not realise until after paying on our card and so decided it would be easier to have a couple "mystical fire" packs to take home in lieu of a refund. They had run out but assured us they would have some the following morning before we left the site. They didn't and we were left £5 out of pocket. (no one was around the following morning.

This trip did little to convince us to return again. I mentioned being over charged last time but the lady simply shrugged it off.

We were quoted one price by the Gentleman owner and then charged another by the Lady.

The shop had run out of milk but they were "kind" enough to sell us a Styrofoam coffee cup full(about 1/2 a pint) from a 4 pinter for £1, a tidy mark up!

None of the Ladies toilets had toilet paper, and of all the gents cubicles only 1 had, from the afternoon we arrived until later the following day.

The kicker came on our final morning when we were rudely awoken at 9am with a bang on the tent and told to pack up. This,despite not being told when we would have to strike camp by, and not seeing anything on the sites website.

Just a few years ago, we could camp for about £10-15 per pitch per night. Our 2 nights in this basic site cost £50.

I can't see us returning any time soon, there are plenty of other sites in this beautiful area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PaulRich2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oare
4.8 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
313 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#3 of 25 in Ilfracombe
446 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blue Ball Inn
Blue Ball Inn
#1 of 2 in Countisbury
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.4 mi away
Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages
13.7 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#6 of 7 in Combe Martin
613 reviews
13.6 mi away
Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloud Farm Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloud Farm Camping

Address: Oare, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Oare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Oare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing