We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Could not be improved upon”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Oare, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kevin D
Wrexham County, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could not be improved upon”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Location perfect although camping in the adjacent fields over Bank holiday weekend was a little noisy. Dogs were well catered for but garden perimeter not 100% secure.
Easy access to main roads but side roads very narrow with many passing places.
Local pub Lorna Doone excellent with lovely cider no good food.
Would happily return for another holiday

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
846joyce
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Oare Water”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Stunning views. Lots of little touches which made out stay very enjoyable. Only concern we had was the garden was not secure as advertised. However, I would definitely recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrisjph
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quiet Seclusion in a well appointed Bungalow”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

If you like narrow single track roads, steep hills, and the seclusion engendered by the lack of mobile signal this is the place away from it all for you. We found the place well appointed with all mod cons and were welcomed by flowers in the vases and homemade cakes. There is ample parking and a good internet connection especially useful for researching the local area and finding things to do.
We were able to get around quite easily and although the roads could be seen as a bit of a challenge they are a feature of Exmoor and this has to be expected.
However, a word of warning, The A39 features 2 steep hills which ever way you go out from the property; the hill down into Porlock is 1:4 (25%) and so is the hill down to Lynmouth and up out again on the other side. The road down to the bungalow from the A39 (new road) is also steep and single track with passing places. Do not use the Hookway Hill exit off the A39 as while this is less challenging there are 2 narrow bridges and the surface is not as well maintained as New Road. Exciting stuff but if you or your car is not up to the challenge, don't chose this property or the area!
The local shop just across the ford or narrow bridge, you chose which to take, is very welcoming as is the adjacent bar/eating house.
For location, being quiet and frequented by bird life, squirrels, pheasant and rabbits and affording access to the north Devon coast from Ilfacombe to Minehead this bungalow is hard to beat. Other sounds you may hear are those from a camp site just down the hill from the property and the chatter (if you can call it that) of sheep nearby and on the hills around.
The double bed is, as advertised, a standard double and for the sake of clarity is not a king size. There are 2 bathrooms/toilets and the Jacuzzi bath adds a pleasant novelty in one of them. Hand and Bath Towels are provided and the kitchen is especially well equipped even including a cafetiere.
For the technically minded the flat screen TV and rather limited old Sky box also have HDMI connections (use a Chomecast!) and the internet speed came in at a solid 5MB/s down - 0.5MB/s up and was perfectly usable. WiFi hub coverage was good and there is a phone line in to the property. However, there is no Stereo as is shown on some listings

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet, the bird life, the views
Liked least: The lack of mobile signal not just in the property but across a lot of the local area.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouthshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lisa W
n.warks
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“loved loved loved it !!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I have fell in love with Oare Water Cottage, its location is so beautiful, peaceful & tranquil. The Agency i booked with were fab !!!!!!!! The cottage was so clean i assumed we were the first guests, but we were not ! There was everything we needed, & i mean everything !....beautiful quality furnishings, we absolutly love it there and will be returning ! the photos of this cottage dont do it justice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace & tranquility, and the cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antje H
1 review
“The whole family loved it...a great cottage where nothing is missing!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We (german family) have had an excellent stay at Oare water cottage. Everything and much more, what we needed for holiday, we´ve found there. (Washing machine, dishwasher, iron, wintergarden, comfortable living room, big kitchen,TV and DVD, a lot of mugs and dish and so on). Well kept style, very clean, enough place for every one( two bathrooms are exactly right with pubescent children)…absolutely perfect for relaxing! The welcome biscuits,the tea, the flowers- all was very pleasant. Our daughter (11) loved the horses of the neighbour lady, our son (16) loved the comfortable armchairs and the wifi. My husband and me loved the comfort, the silence, the garden and the nature. We´ve needed a little time to drive on the other side of the road :) and the narrow streets are first getting used to. Porlock, Dunster, the sea, Lynton, Lynmouth…all super! Exmoor is so beautiful. Bath is a wonderful town and Exeter is a town, which is very different.
I can absolutely recommend this cottage!
I can absolutely recommend exmoor!
…we will definitely be again sometime! :))) We have enjoyed the time very much.
Thank you for all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable and the simple running
Liked least: The rainshower ( very little hot water)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing