We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Restful place, great owners”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Magnesia Region, Thessaly

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

argyle_mi...
Winchelsea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Restful place, great owners”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful cottage. All the five star reviews are right on the button. We also enjoyed a lovely boat trip with Chris and Kathryn, who are well established pillars of the Pelion community - restoring Kalderimi, lobbying for new flights to Volos and organising walks. Superb !Mathanks !

Date of stay: September 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
30 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Olive Store Cottage. Our 2015 summer season is now at an end and it has been excellent ( we seem to have as much enjoyment from being the hosts as our visitors do from staying here!) We plan to make 2016 just as good and hope to be able to welcome you here again some time. Best wishes, Chris and Kathryn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clairedhc
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the cottage one week early August 2015, on friends advice, and we couldn't imagine it would be so nice!!! The cottage was perfect for our family (with 3 children from 5 to 11 years old), close to the beach and Chis & Kath were very kind with us. We felt like home.
We had a wonderful time there. Like the owners, we fell in love with the Pelion and we are looking forward to coming back very soon! Kind regards.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Chris & Kathryn!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
1 Sep 2015
It was absolutely perfect for us too!! We look forward to welcoming you all again some time. With best wishes, Chris and Kathryn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilie T
Sartrouville, Île-de-France, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Une semaine de reve dans le sud pelion”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We spent a lovely week in olive store cottage in Platanias. Beautiful area, confortable cottage et above all perfect hosts. We will never forget chrys and katryn kindless. We had a wonderfull day together on the Kaliope sail boat. We really enjoy this area with footpaths, the spring water, the shower outside and the beautiful beaches. If you want a natural, quiet and authentical stay, don't hesitate to visit this cottage ! We hope to go there twice. Everything was perfect : don't change anything ! Kindly regards to chrys and katryn.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: le site et l accueil chaleureux
Liked least: rien c etait parfait
Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
Thank you for your kind review, we enjoyed your company staying in the cottage and we hope you do have the chance to visit us again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina O
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Among the most Precious and Peaceful 5 Days of my Life”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Well, to start off I wouldn't want too many people to go to the Olive Store Cottage, making it TOO popular but having said that...well, I would say go there instead of to an island. Chris and Kathryn are just the most wonderful hosts -- they left provisions and showed us around their property -- loved the "Kaldimeri" (donkey trails) and the cute little church that is just a 5 minute hike from the cottage. Getting water from the spring. And the views.
Chris and Kathyrn have designed their property with 3-4 separate areas on the hillside to sit and read/write/do yoga/enjoy stunning views -- I just loved each of these.
We opted for Pelio over an island for our first trip to Greece. NO commercialization at all! THAT is precious!! So. Go.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet and the views and the several areas to sit and read/write/do yoga/enjoy stunning views
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
15 Jul 2015
I know we are the hosts here, but I have to say, we had so much fun with you and enjoyed your company very much. You came for your first ever trip outside USA to us, in a remote rural part of mainland Greece. You came when banks were shut and the international media were putting scare stories in the media. As you discovered the stories were unfounded and it was a peaceful paradise. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and a BIG THANK YOU FOR SUPPORTING GREECE. I hope we meet again sometime and send you our warmest good wishes, Chris and Kathryn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Nightingale sang...”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Well a bit of a way from Berkeley Sq but they certainly did around Olive Store Cottage! To a UK resident its a treat to hear a Nightingale singing its heart out but to hear 2, 3 or 4 all at the same time is something else. We did take our mini music system to listen to in the evening but invariably turned it off to listen to the birdsong instead.

Owners,Chris and Kathryn, could not have been more helpful to the extent of taking us sailing on the their beautiful Cape Cutter 'Kaliope', a guided walk over to Katigiorgus and a mine of useful local information for walks, restaurants etc

If you are in search of some serious R&R this peaceful and beautiful spot would be hard to beat.

Date of stay: June 2015
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
25 Jun 2015
Thank you for your review, we enjoyed meeting you and look forward to welcoming you again sometime. Best wishes, Chris and Kathryn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete V
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Real Greece - beautiful, peaceful, relaxing, fun”
Reviewed 5 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

There's a good reason why we keep coming back - we just love the place. Unspoilt by mass tourism and fantastic for quiet, relaxing beaches (lots to choose from), walks and sailing (both with Chris and Kathryn as enthusiastic and knowledgeable guides). Our hosts have also been a fantastic source of information on the numerous villages and tavernas to visit of an evening - the only issue being that it's so cheap to eat the fantastic meze food that there's a risk of over-indulging.

The cottage itself is very pretty and in really natural surroundings, with only the occasional noise from the neighbours' goats or, if you walk to the bottom of the garden, the sound of water trickling from the natural well.

One thing's for sure - we'll be back.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
When we first started our rental business we were very well supported by friends who came to stay and this helped us make the cottage a popular and peaceful place to stay. Since then and particularly through Trip Advisor we have come to meet many new visitors who become friends. So thank you for your support and company and your review of your recent visit. It really does feel like it is a secret piece of paradise here which we enjoy sharing with old and new visitors at Olive Store Cottage. We look forward to welcoming you again before too long, best wishes, Chris and Kathryn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emily w
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful few days”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a wonderful stay at the Olive Store. Chris and Kathryn were extremely helpful and friendly. With top tips for good walks, beaches and tavernas. The walking was spectacular and we found some amazing secluded sandy beaches. One of the showers was outside and heated by solar. Showering under the stars or the wonderful scenery around you, just made our stay even more enjoyable. Our only disappointment was that we couldn't stay longer! There is so much more to discover of the South Pelion, we will be back!

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
30 May 2015
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Olive Store Cottage. Although you only had a few days here we are delighted that it was long enough to discover the relaxed quiet nature of South Pelion. We hope you do decide to visit us again soon, perhaps at the end of the summer season. It is a wonderful place for an Autumn and Winter break too with the advantage of low cost flights to Thessaloniki or Athens. We look forward to welcoming you again, best wishes Chris and Kathryn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.