We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get Lost in Paradise Here”
Review of Eden Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eden Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oslob
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

There are only a few choices for accommodations in Oslob, primarily known for its whale shark encounter, and even fewer that are online. I really liked how secluded and how peaceful the overall vibe of the resort is. Here are the highlights of this resort:

1) Friendly and accommodating staff, very patient and knowledgeable of the island
2) Large spacious rooms with modern amenities (satellite television, air conditioning, & water heaters)
3) Beautiful balcony overlooking the sea
4) Good value for money (booked through Agoda and they gave us free breakfast even though it wasn't included in our package)
5) Delicious food, might seem pricey at first but the servings are very generous
6) Very reasonable price for their van rentals, I highly suggest you avail of this additional service. It's difficult to haggle with the trikes servicing the area, so just save the time and effort looking and negotiating with one.

My only negative points or possible room for improvement would be:
1) WiFi does not reach the room, only on the lobby and restaurant area.
2) There aren't any convenient electrical sockets, I unplugged the TV and refrigerator to recharge my camera and phone.

TIP: if you're going to Oslob, avoid the 4 hour bus ride to Cebu city by flying in and/or out from Dumaguete Airport. Upon arrival, take the ferry going to Oslob and turn left from the port, Eden resort is just a 5 minute walk from there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ryuready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed 1 night. The staff seem very competent with their duties. This is an indicator they have been well trained. Sometimes misunderstanding will occur but if you are patient & clarify your understanding then everything should go smoothly. Resort is clean & well maintained. Located on top of hill with steep decline on swimming pool side. There is a paved path that leads to ocean water (2 minute walk). There is a "beach" at low tide but not much sand. Ok for snorkeling. Food quality & variety good. Should be something to eat for people with dietary restrictions. Resort is 10 minute walk (with luggage & kids) from Liloan port. Allow 30 minute drive to Oslob where you can snorkel with whale sharks. Eden Resort can arrange transport which costs P500 per room. Rooms come with A/C, flat screen TV with English news cable channels, mini bar & fridge, large & comfortable bed, good size bathroom. Shower water pressure is uneven but adequate. Pool is salt water & has shallow & deep ends plus a spa bath.
The only issue is sleep quality. If you are a light sleeper then the ocean waves crashing into the shore may wake you as the sound proofing of the sliding doors is poor quality.

Room Tip: All rooms seem similar. Room 1 is closest to pool & dining area. Room 10 is furthest away, but o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ExpatAussie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I wanted a place that gave me a sense of being on a remote island but still had modern comfort and conveniences. With only a few cottages/bungaloes, there is no capacity for crowded! The room was clean, well appointed and quiet. I even spent one night sleeping on the balcony so I could listen to the water. The views were fantastic and the staff was very friendly. I made use of the snorkel gear and kayak and spent hours off the beach in the water. The beach is really just coral, so do not expect sand. Tip toe across the reef and you are in clear water and abundant sea life. The whale watching was an awesome once-in-a-lifetime experience for me and why I started to look at the southern end of Cebu for accommodations
The Eden Resort is not a 5 Star Hotel, but it provides a unique and personal hotel experience that you will not find at the larger resorts.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We decided to spend the night here after doing the whale shark watching. The room is beautiful, and clean. The view from the balcony is to die for. When I stepped into the room, the first thing I said was "I want to live here"! The food is good too, and the staff is polite. The beach isn't going to be the kind of beach you lie down to and swim in, because it's rocky and full of seaweed. They have their own dive shop, which is excellent because a few meters from the shore there is a dive site that goes 15 meters deep! It's not the cheapest dive shop but very convenient if you want to enjoy the resort and stay there. The only thing I would have to comment that's not as good is that it's a long way from anywhere. Sure, the bus will drop you off directly in front of the hotel, but going out you have to walk a little bit with your bags if you dont want to take a serviced car back to Cebu which costs 4500PHP, while the AC bus only costs 189PHP.

This being said, I loved this place and would love to stay again.

Room Tip: Make sure you tell them ahead of time if you want a King bed or 2 Double beds in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cassie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed for two nights to see the whale sharks. We arrived from Cebu by the Ceres line bus. It took us about 3.5 hrs to get there. The bus stop was right in front of the hotel. We paid about 370 PP to get to the south bus station in Cebu from the airport and something about 200 PP per person for the bus ticket.

The resort is fantastic. There is a very good coral reef in front of the hotel.They have a luxury infinite pool. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel's restaurant and all our meals were the best dining during our stay in the Philippines. The room was with ocean view and beyond any expectations. The hotel offers a van transfer to Oslob to see whale sharks. This was very convenient. We went to Tagbilaran (Bohol) by ferry from Dumaguete after our stay.

I highly recommend this resort. It is definitely 5 star.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here for one night before new year as a stop off from Sigjiour and Moalboal to see the whale sharks. We always knew we would like it here and even trip to stay longer when we booked but they were full.
Anyway, it's a 10cottage resort built on the cliff at Oslob. Easy walk from the port or tricycle ride. The rooms were stunning, well maintained and catered to every whim. The food was a but more fine dining compared to other places we had visited, but it was gorgeous. Lovely, well cared for infinity pool an decent free breakfast too.
I agree with an earlier review about locals using the pool, which was a little irritating, but, the lunches by the pool (pizza) were great and the staff really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tillers74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Eden Resort for 4 nights (or was it 5?) with 2 girlfriends. Had a sea facing big clean room. The extra bed was initially a thin mattress but was quickly changed to thicker mattress upon request.

There wasn't any restaurants nearby but the small restaurant in the hotel served us well. Try their mango smoothies! Best I've ever had. So creamy and flavourful!! And that's something coming from a mango fanatic.

They have a in house massage parlour. Ridiculously cheap and the pressure was just nice. Had 2 sessions of 90 mins full body massage during our visit. Bliss!

Staff was courteous and attentive. The van driver from hotel went out of the way to help when we had to change travel plans before Super Typhoon Haiyan hit. We didn't know that ferry boat to Dumaguette will be cancelled 2 full days before Haiyan hit and had to book new tix on our departure day to fly from Cebu to Manila to connect our flight home. We were running late and almost missed the hourly bus to Cebu. As he drove us to the station, he stopped the bus mid traffic so we could hop on! All in all it felt like Amazing Race Philippines. Lol. A big thanks to him really.

Whaleshark point is approx 20 mins by van. Waterfall and Sumilon ferry point about the same. We spent 2 full days at Sumilon and loved every min of it. Transport can be arranged at Eden hotel.

I will come back for their mango smoothies for sure! :)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank jollyjunie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oslob
39.9 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 7 in Moalboal
467 reviews
76.9 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
729 reviews
143 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
74.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,493 reviews
75.6 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#2 of 92 in Cebu City
1,335 reviews
11.2 mi away
GT Seaside Inn
GT Seaside Inn
#3 of 23 in Oslob
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Resort

Address: Barangay Liloan, Oslob 6026, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Oslob
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oslob
Price Range: £34 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eden Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Resort, Sumilon Island Hotel Sumilon Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing