We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem!”
Review of Eden Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Eden Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oslob
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Santander might not be on top of the list of places to be in the Philippines because of the journey there but staying in Eden will make it so worth it! Every room has a balcony facing the sea, it's amazing every morning you wake up to the blue waters and with Negros at the backdrop. The lush bedrooms, delicious food at the restaurant, amazing infinity pool and the best sunset I've ever seen, makes me wish I could always spend my evenings there! You can even have your food brought back to the room!

Snorkelling is possible around the area but do take note of the currents (which are pretty nasty and frequent).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smellycupcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed here when Typhoon Haiyan/Yolanda came through. Normally I wouldn't stay in such an upmarket (for me!) place, certainly not alone, but wow (!) what a lovely place. It really would be fabulous with a partner. The staff are lovely and helpful. The rooms are clean and very spacious. The view is superb. The pool is lush. The gardens are well kept and everything seemed to be working and clean. There is diving right out the front and of course the Whale Shark swimming is about 30 or so minutes away. There is nothing much to speak of around town (there's really not much of a town there) as Santander is the ferry port to go across to Sibulan and Dumaguete. As a place to stop for a couple of days and to go swimming with whale sharks it's a really lovely resort.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank free2bme65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The Highlight of this resort is definitely there infinity pool. The resort and the pool is elevated (around 10 meters above see level) and has therefore a great view. The rooms are big, clean and they also have a big balcony. This balcony has also this great view. The breakfast is included and you can choose between a Continental, American and of course the Filipino version. They also take you to the "Whale-shark Entry Point" (for PHP 500.00 per room). At the entry point, you will get a short briefing. Then you must pay and after that you can enjoy for 30 minutes the whale-sharks. The hotel also offers a free tennis court, mountain-biking and snorkeling (down at the dive center, which does not belong to the hotel). The only little negative point is the kitchen, because the menus are not that great, but they have different specials for every day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Swissnoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

There are only a few choices for accommodations in Oslob, primarily known for its whale shark encounter, and even fewer that are online. I really liked how secluded and how peaceful the overall vibe of the resort is. Here are the highlights of this resort:

1) Friendly and accommodating staff, very patient and knowledgeable of the island
2) Large spacious rooms with modern amenities (satellite television, air conditioning, & water heaters)
3) Beautiful balcony overlooking the sea
4) Good value for money (booked through Agoda and they gave us free breakfast even though it wasn't included in our package)
5) Delicious food, might seem pricey at first but the servings are very generous
6) Very reasonable price for their van rentals, I highly suggest you avail of this additional service. It's difficult to haggle with the trikes servicing the area, so just save the time and effort looking and negotiating with one.

My only negative points or possible room for improvement would be:
1) WiFi does not reach the room, only on the lobby and restaurant area.
2) There aren't any convenient electrical sockets, I unplugged the TV and refrigerator to recharge my camera and phone.

TIP: if you're going to Oslob, avoid the 4 hour bus ride to Cebu city by flying in and/or out from Dumaguete Airport. Upon arrival, take the ferry going to Oslob and turn left from the port, Eden resort is just a 5 minute walk from there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ryuready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed 1 night. The staff seem very competent with their duties. This is an indicator they have been well trained. Sometimes misunderstanding will occur but if you are patient & clarify your understanding then everything should go smoothly. Resort is clean & well maintained. Located on top of hill with steep decline on swimming pool side. There is a paved path that leads to ocean water (2 minute walk). There is a "beach" at low tide but not much sand. Ok for snorkeling. Food quality & variety good. Should be something to eat for people with dietary restrictions. Resort is 10 minute walk (with luggage & kids) from Liloan port. Allow 30 minute drive to Oslob where you can snorkel with whale sharks. Eden Resort can arrange transport which costs P500 per room. Rooms come with A/C, flat screen TV with English news cable channels, mini bar & fridge, large & comfortable bed, good size bathroom. Shower water pressure is uneven but adequate. Pool is salt water & has shallow & deep ends plus a spa bath.
The only issue is sleep quality. If you are a light sleeper then the ocean waves crashing into the shore may wake you as the sound proofing of the sliding doors is poor quality.

Room Tip: All rooms seem similar. Room 1 is closest to pool & dining area. Room 10 is furthest away, but o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ExpatAussie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I wanted a place that gave me a sense of being on a remote island but still had modern comfort and conveniences. With only a few cottages/bungaloes, there is no capacity for crowded! The room was clean, well appointed and quiet. I even spent one night sleeping on the balcony so I could listen to the water. The views were fantastic and the staff was very friendly. I made use of the snorkel gear and kayak and spent hours off the beach in the water. The beach is really just coral, so do not expect sand. Tip toe across the reef and you are in clear water and abundant sea life. The whale watching was an awesome once-in-a-lifetime experience for me and why I started to look at the southern end of Cebu for accommodations
The Eden Resort is not a 5 Star Hotel, but it provides a unique and personal hotel experience that you will not find at the larger resorts.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We decided to spend the night here after doing the whale shark watching. The room is beautiful, and clean. The view from the balcony is to die for. When I stepped into the room, the first thing I said was "I want to live here"! The food is good too, and the staff is polite. The beach isn't going to be the kind of beach you lie down to and swim in, because it's rocky and full of seaweed. They have their own dive shop, which is excellent because a few meters from the shore there is a dive site that goes 15 meters deep! It's not the cheapest dive shop but very convenient if you want to enjoy the resort and stay there. The only thing I would have to comment that's not as good is that it's a long way from anywhere. Sure, the bus will drop you off directly in front of the hotel, but going out you have to walk a little bit with your bags if you dont want to take a serviced car back to Cebu which costs 4500PHP, while the AC bus only costs 189PHP.

This being said, I loved this place and would love to stay again.

Room Tip: Make sure you tell them ahead of time if you want a King bed or 2 Double beds in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cassie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oslob
39.9 mi away
The Blue Orchid Resort
The Blue Orchid Resort
#1 of 7 in Moalboal
485 reviews
76.9 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#8 of 44 in Mactan Island
753 reviews
143 mi away
Tepanee Beach Resort
Tepanee Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Malapascua Island
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
74.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,635 reviews
74.9 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
23.9 mi away
Villa Rosa
Villa Rosa
#1 of 1 in Alcoy
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Resort

Address: Barangay Liloan, Oslob 6026, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Oslob
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oslob
Price Range: £61 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eden Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Resort, Sumilon Island Hotel Sumilon Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing