We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple hospitality among nature's beauty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guesthouse Alfheimar
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Simple hospitality among nature's beauty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Borgarfjordur is not a place in which you accidentally find yourself. It's not easy to get there, but if you do, you are richly rewarded by the beauty of the place and friendliness of it's people. We arrived past midnight after a long day's journey and were nevertheless warmly welcomed by the owner of Guesthouse Alfheimar. The rooms were large, new and well-kept and the breakfast was generous. Though we couldn't stay long, the owner gave us some great hints on things to see and do during our short visit. We would recommend this place to our friends!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dzhenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    21
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
32
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed two night at this pleasant guest house. The cook/chef is inspired. The salted cod and barley is to die for. And the oatmeal at breakfast was creamy yummy. The staff was gracious. If you are in the area be sure to stay at this guesthouse. BTW the free wifi is super fast, a real plus.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Alfheimar Guesthouse provides lovely hospitality and a range of day hikes in the area. The hike to Storurd offers stunning views of the 'door in the mountains' and a wander about a hidden fantastical mossy rock garden aside a vibrant blue lake. It was definitely my favorite, even if we had not been so lucky to see a young reindeer prancing about in the snow. The dinners at the guesthouse start with amazing soups. The food is great all around. The organization each day feels a bit chaotic at first, but don't let that put you off - the folks running the show know what they are doing, and each day holds something new and fun. I recommend the six day trip because then you get to end with a day visiting sites further afield, culminating in a soak in a milky blue natural bath beforing boarding your flight back.

If you do go here, you must also have the chocolate cake at the Alfa Cafe in town. And try the spa in town. The whole place oozes charm. Do not let the plain building exteriors fool you - inside the buildings have great character.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyctravellingwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

This is a beautiful guesthouse in a beautiful area. Arngrímur, the owner, is a wonderful man and a great host. The food in the restaurant is absolutely delicious and there is plenty to do in the area - bird watching, hiking, and relaxing. Loved the place!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBY5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

When my wife and I arrived in Borgarfjorour expecting to camp, the owner of the Guesthouse refused to let us camp due to an impending storm. He insisted we stay in one of his nice, clean, comfortable rooms for the price of camping! The next morning, there were +30m/s winds that would have surely have blown away our tent.

Furthermore, we were invited to join the Elf tours that are run out of the guesthouse for the evening. We visited some enchanting museums, learning about a famous artist who lived there, and experiencing some of the local folk tales.

If you are interested in folk lore and/or hiking, or just need a great place to stay in the East Fjords, check this one out!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We had booked to stay at this guesthouse for two nights in September, 2012. The drive there was a bit of a challenge, as you access Borgarfjordur through a windy, gravel mountain road (and then a windy, gravel coastal road) that is not for the faint of heart. The day before we arrived we received an email to indicate that the restaurant would be closed over the weekend. We presumed that this meant we could not eat supper there, which was fine. However, when we arrived, there was no one at reception and only a phone number to call. When we called, the host indicated that we should show ourselves to our room and then help ourselves to food from the fridge and pantry in the restaurant kitchen for breakfast. He was very nice on the phone, but this was obviously a very strange request. We found our room, which was very basic but new and clean. The room had a very nice ensuite bathroom, and a large shower (much larger than the other showers we saw in Iceland). The guesthouse was basically empty, so it was a quiet evening. The next morning, since the empty guesthouse and lack of service made the place unappealing, we decided to leave and only spend one night (though we had booked for two). We called the number again and expected the host to come to process our payment. However, he asked us to use the Visa machine on our own and process our own payment! Since the machine was all in Icelandic, this involved translating using our iPhone to ensure we were paying correctly. While the place is quite nice, the setting is gorgeous, and the host seemed very nice, I would say you should only stay here in the summer when it is busy and the host is present. Otherwise, it is a very odd experience!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chark23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Wonderful place to stay and hike. The rooms are basic and clean but fairly large with very comfortable beds. The rain fall shower head in the bathroom was my favorite after a day of hiking. The hiking tours organized by the owner of the guesthouse are highly recommended. It's a wonderful way to get to know this part of Iceland. The local guides are very knowledgeable about the area. The place is very remote but perfect for relaxing from a busy life at home.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satine76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borgarfjordur Eystri
19.3 mi away
Hotel Aldan
Hotel Aldan
#1 of 2 in Seydisfjordur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blabjorg Guesthouse
Blabjorg Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Borgarfjordur Eystri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
18.3 mi away
Guesthouse Nordursild
Guesthouse Nordursild
#2 of 6 in Seydisfjordur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Lyngas Guesthouse
Lyngas Guesthouse
#2 of 13 in Egilsstadir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guesthouse
Guesthouse
#2 of 2 in Borgarfjordur Eystri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
16.5 mi away
Skalanes House
Skalanes House
#1 of 6 in Seydisfjordur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Alfheimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Alfheimar

Property: Guesthouse Alfheimar
Address: Bakkagerdi, Borgarfjordur Eystri 720, Iceland
Region: Iceland > East Region > Borgarfjordur Eystri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Borgarfjordur Eystri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Guesthouse Alfheimar 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Guesthouse Alfheimar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing