We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great late night dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pazzo's Italian and Pizza - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pazzo's Italian and Pizza
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Newhall, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
“great late night dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Ordered our food 'to go' but was not disappointed. It was late just before closing and we took back to our cabin delicious home-style chicken alfredo linguini, bread, HUGE antipasto salad - YUMMY!, and individual pepperoni/sausage pizza for our son. Yum!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kev and Trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our families weekly tradition is that Friday is pizza night. Even if we are out of town, Friday is still our night for pizza. We live in Orange County which is home to some fabulous pizzerias and again every Friday is pizza night, so I have had my fair share of pizzas from different establishments.

We saw Pazzo's on our drive through town on our way to Lake Gregory and decided to head back after some fun on the lake. The place is like what everyone has described you order up front, would be nice if you could pay right then and there too, then you have a seat. You only get 1 refill on your drink which I think is kind of cheap and even then it's difficult to get someone to come around and wait on you in order to get the refill. Service is Meh and food is even more meh.

We ordered the mozzarella sticks, antipasta salad, and a pepperoni pie. I was shocked that the sticks were beer battered and not encrusted in a nice breadcrumb mixture. They were bland which normally isn't a big deal if the marinara sauce is flavorful, there's isn't so that stunk. The sticks at least had a decent crunch. The salad was OK again not much to write home on. The pizza had good flavor, the sauce was good, wish they would serve the pizza sauce with the sticks instead of what they currently serve. Pizza was definitely greasy which is an indication they use poor quality cheese or pepperoni. The cheaper the ingredients the more grease they produce. The top crust was doughy, which I like, but it has to have a nice crisp bottom crust. The bottom crust was floppy and seemed like it could have cooked a tad bit longer.

Service was meh like the pizza. The servers were never around, and it took a long time to get anything when you asked for it. We will not be revisiting Pazzo's when we return to Crestline in September.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jbusby76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OK Pizzaria”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband and I went here for our wedding anniversary, thinking it was a full-service restaurant. When we walked in, we discovered it was a walk-up window and we could not be seated until we placed our order. Ironically, they had run out of spaghetti (!) so we had to order different pasta. The bolognaise sauce was not all that good. The service was rather slow besides. They're probably better known for their pizzas, but we were not impressed with the rest of their food and ambiance as a whole. Would not recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank hamlong74 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Crestline”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Pretty pricey but worth it if you want high quality pizza and good menu variety. Weekend breakfast offerings have gone up in price and down in quality.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate2364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crestline, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Now that's Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

The best pizzas and subs in town. Everything is made to order and so it takes a minute to get your food but you will enjoy it. Weekend breakfast is good too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pazzo's Italian and Pizza also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing