We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome Property”

Review of HorseTail Ranch

The main Villa is a short walk down to the private lake. All on 150 acres.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The main Villa is a short walk down to the private lake. All on 150 acres.
Aerial view of the main Villa. Our fabulous 12 stall barn.  Home to Central Coast Trail Rides.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
The main Villa is a short walk down to the private lake. All on 150 acres.
Aerial view of the main Villa.
Our fabulous 12 stall barn.  Home to Central Coast Trail Rides.
Entrance to HorseTail Ranch.
Meander along the expansive private lake.
Drive up to the main Villa through the back of the house.
Generous, open floor plan.
Open and stocked kitchen with Italian Bertazonni stove.  Cook any gourmet meal large or small.
Great room:  Large area to congregate.  Watch TV.
1st Floor:  Master bedroom with desk, generous walk in closet and en suite bathroom.
Master Bathroom
1st Floor:  One Queen, 'popdown' couch and en suite bathroom.
1st Floor:  Two Full beds, walk in closet and en suite bathroom.
2nd Floor:  One Queen Bed, 'popdown' couch, closet and large dresser.
2nd Floor:  spacious room with two full beds and generous closet.
Back of the main Villa.  Enjoy the jacuzzi, dine al fresco and savor the sunsets.
Enjoy the outdoors.
Lounge around the firepit.
Enjoy a horseback ride on the property.
Meander through the 12 stall barn.  Visit the horses, unless they are grazing in the open pasture.
Our quaint restroom inside the barn.
Set on 150 acres. Utter privacy and seclusion.
Aerial view.
You can walk to the lake from the main Villa.
Overlooking the lake from the patio of the Main Villa.
Easy walk down to the lake.
Newly constructed dock for fishing or wedding vows.
Perfect spot to relax.
Come relax and enjoy  the stunning sunsets.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Creston, San Luis Obispo County, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
moreidy
Westlake Village, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Property”
Reviewed 4 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

HorseTail Ranch is an upscale property on a private 150-acre ranch. This was our second visit and because we were so enchanted with it the first time, we brought nine of our closest family members along for a post-holiday getaway! The Ranch is ideal for a multi-family escape and everyone had an amazing time in the spacious 5-bedroom, 6-bath home. The decor throughout the house is lovely, and because the property is a bit off the beaten path, we did quite a bit of cooking in the fabulous kitchen. We couldn't get enough of the spectacular views, which made for plenty of Instagramming over the course of our stay. We hiked, roasted marshmallows in the fire-pit in the backyard, and took a family ride on horseback at CentralCoast Trailrides, located at the bottom of the property. HorseTail Ranch is truly wonderful and offered us an unforgettable experience we will cherish forever.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely venue for intimate wedding”
Reviewed 31 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We found HorseTail Ranch when looking for a venue for a small wedding with a few close friends in the vicinity of our favorite wine region, Paso Robles. It fit the bill perfectly - not only was the size well-suited, they were amenable to weddings and even had a lake/pond with a small dock that was the perfect setting for the ceremony, which we held and literally said "I do" just as the sun set over the hills. (We didn't plan that, it was just serendipity.) The dock was a short walk to the main house where we had an outdoor reception and then inside for group dinner. As these things go, the small party expanded a bit but luckily HorseTail Ranch also had an adjoining property which was able to accomodate the additional guests. In total, we had 21 people (not everyone stayed on the property but most did). The house was well-appointed and had a large kitchen that supported everyone. Laundry, parking, etc. was all ample. We rented some golf carts to shuttle people between the main house and the extra place (we had some older people in the party). Kena recommended a wedding planner and she was able to help arrange catering, officiant, equipment rental, and all the other nagging details. We even arranged wedding day activities on the ranch: horseback riding for those who didn't want to go on a wine-tasting tour, which was also a wonderful option since HorseTail Ranch is close to some really wonderful wineries (we were within 15 minutes of Cass, August Ridge, and Still Water and we hit them all). We felt as if we had a private place with beautiful scenery from the top of the hill but we weren't totally isolated - on Friday night before the event we had a pizza party as people trickled in - a 25 minute drive to Atascadero did the trick and we ate outside around the fire pit (we also rented heat lamps because it was winter). Kena, the owner, was helpful as we worked through the logistics and the caretaker, Brian, was helpful on our arrival and checked in on us periodically. If ever we need another venue for a group, HorseTail will be at the top of the list!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craig t
murrieta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easy mellow relaxed luxury out in the country.”
Reviewed 30 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

My wife's 70th surprise was fantastic! We made a great meal for 13 people with ease. The big house has all you need to just move in. Just bring your food and drink. Brian and Crystal are very accommodating to the guests. Their dog is a character ! We will definitely plan another trip there. The horse riding was a great feature.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent C
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
“Truly Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 21 November 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We took a short trip to spend some time as a family before my son left for college and what a perfect location! The rooms were spacious, with a grand living area that allowed us to host a dinner for extended family while we were there. We spent the days hiking, horseback riding, and visiting local restaurant/wineries, and the nights barbecuing and stargazing (we highly recommend downloading a stargazing app to direct you current meteor showers - we literally saw dozens of shooting stars). On one particularly warm afternoon we all stayed in to play games and despite the high ceilings and huge windows, the air conditioning kept us cool and comfortable. Truly a first class experience in the midst of natural beauty.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noni C
1 review
“Truly Incredible!”
Reviewed 18 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

HorseTail Ranch was truly an incredible experience! We went with a very large group and the property and rooms felt even bigger than we had hoped. I highly recommend this location for anything! It was the perfect space for our birthday party celebration, but I would love to go back for a relaxing weekend up north.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randee B
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Epic Country Getaway!”
Reviewed 17 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

HorseTail Place was an epic experience. From the beautiful drive to the location, to the warm welcome we received from Brian and Crystal once we arrived was outstanding. The HorseTail place was an enchanting spot, quiet, reserved, very functional, cute decor, and outstanding view. We got to do a horse ride on the property to add to our weekend, and had the best time staying here. I would recommend it to anyone who loves staying in a cabin, at a horse ranch, for a quiet country get away. We will definately be back again! Thank you for being so accommodating and kind to us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rkhoddam
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“modern, secluded, quiet, peaceful, and relaxing”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed at the Cabin which is a lovely and charming place. The Cabin is well appointed and very tastefully decorated. The location and surrounding is peaceful and beautiful. Enjoy a drink at the outside bar watching the sunset. BBQ and relax in your own outdoor patio. We really enjoyed our stay. The owner and the property manager were super nice and attentive.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing