We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute , homey place to stay!”
Review of McGee Creek Lodge

McGee Creek Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Crowley Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
McGee Creek Lodge
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cute , homey place to stay!”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My boyfriend and I went up to the area to hike and see the fall color. Loved it! the lodge is nothing fancy but you can't beat the price. we had a cute, little room upstairs w/ a t.v. and bathroom and view of the mountain. for the price it was perfect!! the mattress was soft so we ended up putting it on the floor. problem solved. we ate a delicious dinner downstairs and it was nice after a long day of hiking to be able to come home, take a shower and not have to go back out again to eat a good meal. we would definitely come back b/c the price is right!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lagatita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    7
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Mc Gee Creek Lodge is a excellent value. Nice,Clean,Quiet rooms. This is always are first choice for lodging, the staff provides very good service. As mentioned in other reviews it is a great location for a home base.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank L2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Woods
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Mc Gee Creek Lodge is a classic mountain lodge located on Hwy 395 east of Mammoth Mountain Airport and on the southwest corner of Crowley Lake. Each room has been recently remodeled and nicely decorated in a mountain motif. There are a number of rooms on the second floor with a variety of one and two bed configurations. Main floor of the lodge features a dinning room, only serving on the weekends, the best homemade dinners in the area and a favorite with the locals. Focal point of the dinning room is the rock fireplace which fills entire wall and warms diners with a natural wood fire. In addition, there are a couple charming cottages next to the lodge that have full kitchens.

We take skiing trips to Mammoth several times a year and McGee Creek Lodge is our destination of choice. Just minutes from Mammoth Lakes we enjoy the quiet ambience and rustic accommodations. Each room is cozy and warm and one cannot help but look forward to a relaxing evening there after a long day on the slopes.

Room Tip: Check website for pics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Monty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We love the McGeek. I almost don't want other folks to know about it. Crowley/McGee Creek is beautiful and only 15 minutes from the slopes and 10-15 from the main town of Mammoth. And for the price (under $100 for a king size bed and big shower/tub and $79 for a queen size!!), we feel like you can't beat it. You get a large (or even VERY large) clean room with DIRECTV and a DVD player (great for the end of a long ski day if you remember to bring a couple of DVDs). The manager also runs the restaurant downstairs and he has never been anything but unbelievably lovely to us. Staying at the McGee is peaceful and has never disappointed. If you like backcountry skiing, it is also a great place (since some of the historic runs are nearby). We have also stayed with other couples and friends and had a great time. There are not many other amenities other than what I mentioned - but I'm not sure what you would need. If they provided little refridgerators, it would be the perfect reasonably priced place. As an aside, I have stayed at other hotels in Mammoth when the McGee had no availability and it couldn't wait to get back to the McGee (in terms of bang for the buck, location, and attitude).

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank eeshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yucca Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We found this to be an ideal location for exploring the area, as it’s close enough to everything but is away from the hubbub of town. We like staying in the Caretaker’s cabin. It’s private, has a full kitchen with big windows in the breakfast nook, a big deck overlooking Crowley Lake, and the most comfortable Tempur-Pedic mattress in the main bedroom. The restaurant is open for dinner on weekends and serves delicious fine cuisine. Just down the road, the Crowley Lake General Store and Eatery has great freshly-made food (including fresh bakery items) and any provisions you might need. Mammoth Lakes is just a short drive away and has all the shopping you would need, plus all of its attractions and good restaurants. We love to explore the lakes and creeks that abound in this area, including McGee Creek which runs right alongside the inn. We’ll be back!

Room Tip: Caretaker's cabin is our favorite
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank Leslie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yucca Valley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Just got back from the Eastern Sierras near Mammoth. We try to get up there every year around the summer-time. Last year we went all the way to Lake Tahoe, staying at McGee Creek Lodge one night on the way up, three nights in Tahoe and again McGee Creek Lodge on the way back. After all the extra driving and all the crowds in Tahoe, we both said we wished we had stayed at McGee for our whole vacation; well, this year we did and we had a blast. We were treated well by the staff and were quite comfortable at the Lodge. Hiking and boating at Convict Lake are only some of the many activities available there, and it’s only ten minutes (less than 7 miles) from McGee Creek Lodge. We camped at Rock Creek, about a half hour drive from the Lodge which, by the way, makes McGee Creek the perfect home base to stage excursions from. Then there is Mammoth, 20 min. away with tons of stuff to do. Need I say more? Hope we can go again soon and do some of the things we didn’t have time for on this visit.

Andy R.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We arrived in the late afternoon in the early summer and the place seemed mostly vacant. The front desk had an envelope with our name on it and a key to the room, but nothing else.

The room we stayed in was on the 2nd floor, it was nice and had an OK view, decor is country charming. The room was a decent size, with a loveseat and a table for 2 and a queen bed.

My only complaint with the room was that it was very warm and the air conditioner didn't seem to have enough capacity to cool the room (and it was very loud). It was so hot you had to run the AC at night, but it was so loud it made it hard to sleep. There was only one window so there was no cross ventilation if you wanted fresh air.

There is a creek that runs along the edge of the property. I don't fish, but apparently this is a great fishing creek.

You almost feel isolated (in a good way) until the sound of a truck on 395 reminds you that you're just off the highway a bit. Same goes for sounds from the RV/Camping park across the street.

My main issue is with the lack of service. We were told there was internet access at the hotel, but it required a password. Calling the front desk resulted in no answer, even after calling repeatedly. I tried calling the main number for the hotel hoping the call would get diverted to someone who could answer my questions, but that just rang and rang too.

There is no place nearby to eat breakfast or lunch. There is no refrigerator to store food in. There is a coffee machine. There is no where to get ice, and it's hot in the summer. (Probably not much of an issue in the winter). The restaurant is only open for dinner on the weekends. The closest other restaurant is at Tom's Place Resort, about 10-15 minutes southeast, or the Crowley Lake General Store a few miles away.

The lodge is across the street from the lively McGee Creek RV Park and Campgrounds.

When it came time to checkout, there again was no one at the front desk, and we had to ask the maintenance guy (who spoke little english) to call the manager who was out of town.

I've stayed at other small inns and lodges like this where the owner/manager isn't always present, but they've usually provided me with info on what resources are available, and a phone number to contact them in case there are any issues.

Next time I stay in this area, I'll probably stay at Tom's Place as we had fun eating there and they have a decent general store.

If you stay here in the summer, be sure to bring your own ice chest/cooler.

I give them a rating of 2 because of the very bad service and lack of information provided.

Room Tip: Review pics on website. Bring cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rhhsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crowley Lake
10.8 mi away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
832 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
820 reviews
11.1 mi away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,390 reviews
11.4 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
430 reviews
11.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#22 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McGee Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McGee Creek Lodge

Property: McGee Creek Lodge
Address: 1561 Crowley Lake Dr, Crowley Lake, CA 93546-9757
Region: United States > California > Crowley Lake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Crowley Lake
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic McGee Creek Lodge was originally built in 1929. Early on it served the winter skiing community and enthusiasts for the first commercial lift setup on the mountain outside the front door until that operation moved to Mammoth Mountain. Today you'll find cozy rooms for travelers, fishermen, hikers and skiers. McGee Creek runs through the property with fishing year round. Each room is unique with its own warm personality. Our dining room serves the lodge Friday through Sunday evenings. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing