We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place and friendly dining”
Review of Tom's Place Resort

Tom's Place Resort
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bay Area
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place and friendly dining”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I have been going to Tom's Place for years out side of Mammoth - I go almost every time I get up the Eastern Sierra's Rustic lodge, amazing staff, especially Christie and the bar tender Cookie - huge portions of food and no surprises. If you are looking for a very casual and affordable choice - it is worth the short drive out of town.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PtownBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Funky restaurant, bar general store”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Had breakfast here after dropping our son off to climb. It was Taco Tuesday and we had breakfast Taco's. They were good, and so was the price and the service. I came in with a Starbuck's coffee I was finishing, but did order a coffee, and the waitress offered to fill my Starbuck's cup before I left.
The negative reviews have me scratching my head, and I have to wonder if there were not misunderstandings, as I got such a good vibe at this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbrae
Level Contributor
166 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Couldn't even get sandwiches to go correct!”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stopped in to order two sandwiches to go for our Lakes hike. Simple orders as in no brainers. When we arrived at our lunch spot to our amazement, they were both incorrectly prepared: no cheese that we paid for, mayo on both which we said no to, poor quality of lettuce and tomato which one of us said no to, etc.

We figured if they screwed up something as simple as this why return for a real meal. Many other options including Convict Lake's resort and ones in Mammoth Lakes, such as Schats!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lckt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good food, service, atmosphere and prices, what more could you want!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Tom's Place is a definite stop whenever we're in the area. Food is very good and very reasonably priced. Don't miss the prime rib special on Thursday and Saturday nights for $13.95.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oakprk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
148 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Food was ok, the service was...not so much”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My family and I spent the weekend backpacking in the Sierras. We stopped at the Tom's Place Cafe for burgers as a treat before heading home. We entered the cafe and were left to just stand there while servers and employees walked past us. No one even acknowledged we were there. My husband went to the "counter" and asked if we were supposed to seat ourselves. The woman turned and with a nasty attitude in her voice said, "Well, how many people are in your party?" "Five" we said. She pointed aimlessly in the direction of several open tables. We seated ourselves. We did not feel welcome at all. Once seated, we had drinks pretty quickly but had to send the soda back because of bad C02. We got another one which was better. The food was fine and everyone ate up. This review is based primarily on service. Since we felt so unwelcome, I don't think we would return. It's just a short drive to Bishop where there are many places where we know we'll get better treatment. It's unfortunate because we like to support the historic, iconic places in the Eastern Sierra corridor. This just didn't do it for us.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tom's Place Resort also viewed

Been to Tom's Place Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing