We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very high quality Asian”
Review of Lukshon

Lukshon
Reserve with OpenTable
Lukshon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 314 Restaurants in Culver City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
USA
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very high quality Asian”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a stylish Asian inspired restaurant in the wonderful old Helms bakery precinct.
Excellent variety of very delicious asian dishes, fresh, as spicy as you like it and reasonably priced.
Staff are great and the wine list impressive including some very nice Austrian reislings
Relaxed, informal atmosphere with some tables outside

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RabaulUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    22
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Every bite packs a punch of flavor!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Delicious fare especially if you like spicy food! Excellent friendly and attentive service and convenient parking.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing meal of South East Asian Cuisine.”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I took a friend out to dinner for her birthday. It was Dine LA week so we ordered from the pre fixe menu. Each course offered several options. it was hard to chose so we each picked one to share. Each course was melt in your mouth delicious served tapas style. We had Hawaiian Butterfish (to die for) and crispy dumplings for our first course. The next course was an unusual plate of beef and broccoli and a lobster bang mi. The progression of food was perfect! The last course was chinese eggplant, an okra and potato dish and red rice. I was so surprised that all these foods worked together thanks to Chef Sang Yoon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank imoobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a popular restaurant”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Lukshon offers a selection of delicious, gourmet dishes based on Southeast Asian cuisine and ingredients. My wife and I shared dinner here with another couple, good friends of ours. We ordered 9 different "plates" from the menu, which offers a nice variety of seafood, meat and vegetarian dishes that should please various tastes. Each of the dishes we ordered combined a variety of ingredients and seasonings and was positively delicious. We also shared two desserts, likewise uniquely flavored and delicious.

The food is rich, but masterfully crafted. Most of the plates are small, and the whole idea is to share "family style." Ordering approximately 2 plates per person is about the right amount for a meal. We ordered 9 among 4 people and probably would have been satisfied with 7 or 8. Our bill (with water as our only beverage) came to almost $140 before the tip, so it is not inexpensive, but well worth the splurge.

The only negative is that this is a very noisy restaurant. They play somewhat loud music, and the din of music and conversation basically means that you must yell across your table in order to be heard. Apart from that, it was a delightful experience.

Reservations are good idea at popular dining hours, though they are not critical. This restaurant is along a short pedestrian walkway along Helms Avenue, between Venice and Washington Boulevards, in Culver City. it is just around the corner from Washington Blvd., and there is street parking along Washington, as well as a parking lot on Helms closer to Venice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ECrowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fabulous asian fusion small plates”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I ate here with about a dozen colleagues after an academic conference, and all of us were delighted with the experience. The restaurant prepared a menu of various dishes, including a wonderfully spicy chicken and a black rice that no one could get enough of. Dessert was light and flavorful. The atmosphere was festive, but not so loud that you couldn't hear conversation. An excellent dining experience. The local who picked it out took us there because she considers it "very LA." I can't say much regarding price of value, since my meal was paid for.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank profe1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lukshon also viewed

 
Culver City, CA
 

Been to Lukshon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing