We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What kind of place is this???”
Review of The Culver Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Culver Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Culver City
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What kind of place is this???”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

No parking garage or lot; was sent off to park in a shared public-access lot down the street at a grocery store where you have huge exit line-ups for self-serve parking. Vehicle is held hostage during portions of the night, unless you track someone down to get a pass into the locked garage.

Their "lobby" is not a quiet place to relax or do some work like any other hotel, but rather a very loud lounge, as in a live band lounge, so much so that reception moves to a different floor due to the noise. That should be a clue that this is a problem.

Every side of the hotel faces more noise. Either facing noisy streets or facing a movie theatre complex within a few feet of the building with hordes of people coming in and out of the movies.

For self-service laundry, one has to walk to a laundromat three blocks away, just like someone on welfare would do.

Valet that will keep questioning you for trying to unload your bags in a area marked for unloading.

Phony valet charges appearing the next morning when self-service parking was used.

Cancelled my second night immediately, unfortunately was stuck with the first night being too late to cancel that one upon check-in.

Due to the age and location of this hotel, some of these items are probably not going to be fixable. This was an extraordinarily disappointing stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank BCvacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Oh goodness me!
I will reach out to personally to try and resolve ASAP.
Many, many 4 Star Hotel only provide Valet parking, and ours is reasonable at $22. We offer the option of self-parking in the adjacent City lots for $12.
Many, many 4 Star Hotel only offer professional laundry service, with no on-site self-laundry facilities.
Our extremely popular Grand Lobby live music has become a signature of our wonderful, Historic hotel. We do provide quite seating areas on our 2nd floor for our registered guests.
Do hope I can get hold of you soon.

Seth Horowitz
GM
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    73
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
65
84
21
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I found this place online and chose it because it was close to the sony studios and we were all visiting from out of town. The food and service was exceptional!! I also loved how they had some live music at the bar!! Thanks to Ben and Milenia, for being so accommodating - you helped us pull off a wonderful evening!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Alokub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Please come again, and again and again.
Thank you.

Seth Horowitz
GM
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Culver Hotel for 2 nights and couldn't have asked for a better experience! We were a little taken back when we went to check in with our 15 month old daughter and the band was rocking in the restaurant on the street level, but they were very accommodating and put us on a high floor (6), where we didn't hear a sound! Rooms were spacious, well appointed and the bed was comfortable. They were even able to get all of the amenities (fridge, safe, etc) in while keeping the old charm of the hotel. My only complaint (if it even counts) is that nobody told us when we checked in that the City garage that they use for self-parking doesn't open in the morning until 7:45. When we tried to leave early we got a little push back from the garage staff, but they eventually let us out. Other than that, an overall great hotel! On the plus side, the staff was amazing! Very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayo340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thanks for sending a separate email to complement the way your family was handled by the staff. We are very pleased with the way we have been able to accommodate the needs of the modern traveler and keep the charm of a truly Historic building (circa 1924).
our Self-Parking option in the adjacent City Lots is a reasonable $12 per day and we will make a better effort of explaining how it works.

Seth Horowitz
GM
The Culver Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I love everything about this hotel. Culver City is a charming enclave of nice restaurants, cafes, and music. It's an easy distance to Santa Monica, Westwood, Beverly Hills, and anywhere you might want to go. Fantastic service by everyone from check-in, the waiters, car valet. Free wifi. The hotel lobby and restaurant is charming. It's a gem all around, whether for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfred E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
I love everything about this guest!
Thank you.
Come again soon......
Seth Horowitz
GM
The Culver Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Everyone was friendly and helpful from check in to checkout. The room was great, well stocked, extra pillows I had requested were already in the room. Happy hour was nice with a good drink and popcorn. Many restaurants were within walking distance, a movie theater right next to the hotel. Ford's Filling station was great for brunch and dinner. A diner to the side of Starbucks was very good-lots of food for the money! A very unique place to stay, they had just remodeled within the last 2 years. Parking is off site with valet service available. An elevator is also available.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thanks for joining us. Downtown Culver City really is a great destination, so accessible to the Westside.
You discovered S&W Diner, an institution in Culver City, right next to the Kirk Douglas Theartre. Next visit we should coordinate a show into your stay.

Seth Horowitz
GM
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Culver, from check in to check out it was great, room was beautiful and clean, nice continental breakfast. Everyone was friendly and helpful. It is multilevel with an elevator available, we didn't use the parking service (which was off site). Happy hour was nice, enjoyed a Good Witch, a beautiful pink drink! We were there to visit our son who lives nearby, when he had things to do we were at the hotel within walking distance of several eateries, Ford's Filling station had a great brunch and dinner, also a small diner (I don't remember the name) to the right of Starbucks was good for breakfast. We also went to movie right next to the hotel when we needed to fill some time. A beautiful historical hotel which has been recently updated.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience.
The Pacific Theaters have 12 screens right across the Town Plaza from our hotel. People love the Lion Statue Fountain in-between ourselves and the Theater.
It is always pleasing to hear that our visitors are making such full use of what Culver City has to offer.

Seth Horowitz
GM
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at the Culver Hotel for 2 nights at the start of January. It was my wife, myself and our 5 year old daughter. It was a first trip to LA so we were not really sure where to stay but liked the reviews and location of the Culver Hotel so just went for it and am so glad that we did.

Hotel was a great atmosphere and you really feel like you are part of history - when we arrived there was a live jazz band playing in a great open room with a large open fire going - quite a welcome! Loved all the Wizard of Oz link and the history of the hotel.

Our room was a great size and really spacious, nicely decorated in keeping with the history of the hotel. Could see the Culver studios and Hollywood sign from the window. The local neighbourhood is great - loads of cool restaurants and a Trader Joe's just across the street for other supplies. We ate in the hotel which was very nice and very reasonable if you get there for happy hour. Location was really chilled out which I much preferred vs staying in Hollywood or Santa Monica.

The other bonus was that a continental breakfast was included - you got to have it in the fantastic bar/restaurant area and it really was very nice with a decent choice and you could be as quick or slow as you wanted.

Overall well recommended for anyone. The only negative was that it was pretty noisy when the band are playing in your room. Not really a problem for us as our daughter will sleep through anything and we were exhausted after sight seeing all day but could see how it might be a problem for some people - I think the solution is just to stay in the bar drinking :)

We enjoyed LA - loved Griffin Observatory and Universal studios and just driving around and finding new places. Being from the UK we loved the January California weather - if coming back to LA will definitely look into staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JACKSONJE8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
it was a pleasure having you and your family staying with us.
Great review, thank you.
The ability to discover Downtown Culver City and then explore Los Angeles County from such a convenient location really does work. Two days is simply not enough.
We do have a couple of rooms that might be affected by the music, sorry about that. Checking in with a kid we should respond accordingly.

Seth Horowitz
GM
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culver City
Travelodge Culver City
#4 of 8 in Culver City
516 reviews
Westside
InterContinental Los Angeles Century City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Best Western Royal Palace Inn & Suites
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,812 reviews
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Culver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Culver Hotel

Property: The Culver Hotel
Address: 9400 Culver Blvd, Culver City, CA 90232-2617
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Culver City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Culver City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Culver Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Culver Hotel is "THE" hotel of Culver City, in the heart of the wonderfully active Downtown. Within walking distance of a multitude of gastronomic options and Sony Studios and The Culver Studios. The renovation, completed in December of 2011, brings a modern touch to the classic beauty of this 1924 building. High cielings, large windows and service to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Culver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culver City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing