We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel”
Review of The Culver Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Culver Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Culver City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Culver City is a great area! The Culver Hotel is 20 minutes from everything! With LA traffic being as bad as it is...The Culver Hotel was centrally located to everywhere I wanted to go. Other than the perfect location...they have: live entertainment EVERY NIGHT IN THE BAR/LOBBY, amazing decor, completely remodeled 40+ gorgeous rooms and suites, daily brunch, best happy hour in town.
I will stay at The Culver Hotel during my next trip to LA.

Room Tip: We had room 40 and 41, couldn't have asked for better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you Scott,
It was an absolute pleasure having you both with us, we will never be the same again.
Ciao
Seth Horowitz
General Manager
The Culver Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

i stayed two nights in the culver hotel the week of february 17, 2014. what a joy! my room, number 48, was at the wide end of the wedge shaped building. the room was quite sizable, with a desk, wardrobe, couch, coffee table and what not. the bed was probably the most comfortable bed I've ever had in all of my travels! room 48 is on the cuilver blvd side of the building. despite the traffic, it never bothered me. really there isn't any noise. there's a coffee pot in the room, too.

the simple breakfast was quite fine and you can also order more than just the muffins and coffee. breakfast is served in the lounge area, which is part of the overall main entrance area of the hotel. the lounge is fantastic! i very much encourage you to have an evening drink in the lounge and unwind from the day. many locals enjoy the culver hotel lounge.

culver city is starting to really impress me, there's plenty of night life including an actual back alley bar where i visited on a tuesday night and heard live music with real band - real bass and a trombone playing lead vocalist. great drinks too!

go and enjoy!

Room Tip: i liked room 48, and will gladly stay in it again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UStoEurope111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Love your final demand ---- "GO AND ENJOY!"
OK.......
thank you.
Downtown Culver City really does have a tremendous amount to offer visitors, great variety and fun.
Till next time.

Seth Horowitz
General Manager
The Culver Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

No parking garage or lot; was sent off to park in a shared public-access lot down the street at a grocery store where you have huge exit line-ups for self-serve parking. Vehicle is held hostage during portions of the night, unless you track someone down to get a pass into the locked garage.

Their "lobby" is not a quiet place to relax or do some work like any other hotel, but rather a very loud lounge, as in a live band lounge, so much so that reception moves to a different floor due to the noise. That should be a clue that this is a problem.

Every side of the hotel faces more noise. Either facing noisy streets or facing a movie theatre complex within a few feet of the building with hordes of people coming in and out of the movies.

For self-service laundry, one has to walk to a laundromat three blocks away, just like someone on welfare would do.

Valet that will keep questioning you for trying to unload your bags in a area marked for unloading.

Phony valet charges appearing the next morning when self-service parking was used.

Cancelled my second night immediately, unfortunately was stuck with the first night being too late to cancel that one upon check-in.

Due to the age and location of this hotel, some of these items are probably not going to be fixable. This was an extraordinarily disappointing stay.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank BCvacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Oh goodness me!
I will reach out to personally to try and resolve ASAP.
Many, many 4 Star Hotel only provide Valet parking, and ours is reasonable at $22. We offer the option of self-parking in the adjacent City lots for $12.
Many, many 4 Star Hotel only offer professional laundry service, with no on-site self-laundry facilities.
Our extremely popular Grand Lobby live music has become a signature of our wonderful, Historic hotel. We do provide quite seating areas on our 2nd floor for our registered guests.
Do hope I can get hold of you soon.

Seth Horowitz
GM
The Culver Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I found this place online and chose it because it was close to the sony studios and we were all visiting from out of town. The food and service was exceptional!! I also loved how they had some live music at the bar!! Thanks to Ben and Milenia, for being so accommodating - you helped us pull off a wonderful evening!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Alokub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Please come again, and again and again.
Thank you.

Seth Horowitz
GM
The Culver Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Culver Hotel for 2 nights and couldn't have asked for a better experience! We were a little taken back when we went to check in with our 15 month old daughter and the band was rocking in the restaurant on the street level, but they were very accommodating and put us on a high floor (6), where we didn't hear a sound! Rooms were spacious, well appointed and the bed was comfortable. They were even able to get all of the amenities (fridge, safe, etc) in while keeping the old charm of the hotel. My only complaint (if it even counts) is that nobody told us when we checked in that the City garage that they use for self-parking doesn't open in the morning until 7:45. When we tried to leave early we got a little push back from the garage staff, but they eventually let us out. Other than that, an overall great hotel! On the plus side, the staff was amazing! Very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thanks for sending a separate email to complement the way your family was handled by the staff. We are very pleased with the way we have been able to accommodate the needs of the modern traveler and keep the charm of a truly Historic building (circa 1924).
our Self-Parking option in the adjacent City Lots is a reasonable $12 per day and we will make a better effort of explaining how it works.

Seth Horowitz
GM
The Culver Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I love everything about this hotel. Culver City is a charming enclave of nice restaurants, cafes, and music. It's an easy distance to Santa Monica, Westwood, Beverly Hills, and anywhere you might want to go. Fantastic service by everyone from check-in, the waiters, car valet. Free wifi. The hotel lobby and restaurant is charming. It's a gem all around, whether for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alfred E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

I love everything about this guest!
Thank you.
Come again soon......
Seth Horowitz
GM
The Culver Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Everyone was friendly and helpful from check in to checkout. The room was great, well stocked, extra pillows I had requested were already in the room. Happy hour was nice with a good drink and popcorn. Many restaurants were within walking distance, a movie theater right next to the hotel. Ford's Filling station was great for brunch and dinner. A diner to the side of Starbucks was very good-lots of food for the money! A very unique place to stay, they had just remodeled within the last 2 years. Parking is off site with valet service available. An elevator is also available.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2014

Thanks for joining us. Downtown Culver City really is a great destination, so accessible to the Westside.
You discovered S&W Diner, an institution in Culver City, right next to the Kirk Douglas Theartre. Next visit we should coordinate a show into your stay.

Seth Horowitz
GM
The Culver Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Culver City
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Los Angeles Westside
3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Los Angeles Westside
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Culver City
Travelodge Culver City
#4 of 8 in Culver City
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ramada Culver City
Ramada Culver City
#7 of 8 in Culver City
168 reviews
2.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Los Angeles Westside
4.3 mi away
Marina Del Rey Hotel
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Culver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Culver Hotel

Address: 9400 Culver Blvd, Culver City, CA 90232-2617
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Culver City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Culver City
Price Range: £231 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Culver Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Culver Hotel is "THE" hotel of Culver City, in the heart of the wonderfully active Downtown. Within walking distance of a multitude of gastronomic options and Sony Studios and The Culver Studios. The renovation, completed in December of 2011, brings a modern touch to the classic beauty of this 1924 building. High cielings, large windows and service to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Culver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culver City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing