We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I felt homesick for the first time in years”
Review of Metro Cafe

Metro Cafe
Ranked #1 of 316 Restaurants in Culver City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Lawndale, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I felt homesick for the first time in years”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

It is the truth; this cafe woke up my homesickness on a first bite. The cuisine is so much authentic with rich flavor and perfect doneness like you could find in the best restaurants back in home country. For all of you, my new countryman, this is something you should definitely try. Ask for chevapchichi sandwich and you will not go wrong. Enjoy your meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Goran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    48
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arden, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We ate there 4 mornings and had friend join us 3 of them. Every meal was delicious and plentiful. Service was good but the kitchen wasn't super fast, but worth the wait!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nadine1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, fresh and creative cuisine”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Four of us tried breakfast, all ordering different items. Food was great. Service was good. The location is very popular so go early or be prepared to wait.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank seawitchflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Succulent food, robust flavors, great staff!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This place is as unassuming as a weed blowing down the road. But beneath the minimalist appearance on the street, and the austere decor inside, is a true gem of a restaurant. And this is about as far from a trendy, "organiac" spot. Instead it is a truly authentic European bistro, brimming with intensely flavorful serbian, italian, and continental fare. The owners are right there, serving, saying hello, working the tables, and mingling with customers. Not to be in the way, but instead, as a way of life. This is how restaurants are in Europe - places to be, places to eat and relax, places to talk and have a coffee or a wine. It was very cool. The food was absolutely incredible. We had a goulash dish served with al dente pasta - it just jumped onto my tastebuds. A touch of sweetness, a bit smoky, just enough heat (spice) and very rich. With the pasta to cut it, perfection. My wife had Braised Tofu with quinoa. Light, fresh, and subtle, perfectly balanced and delicious. The next morning we went back for breakfast. Unbelievable. The french toast was so good. Big and thick and sweet. Dripping with flavor. I had a 2-egg breakfast with all the stuff, and again - just really, good, food. We thanked the chef, who once in a while came out, smiling and sweaty. These guys know how to create great food, and make people feel welcome. What a restaurant should be. No elitist attitude. Just cool and relaxed. If you go to Hollywood, veer off the beaten path and dine here. You will be pleased you did.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Klaibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder City, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Busy & worth the wait ”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Here on family therapy trip for child with CP which is located in a center just across the street from Metro. Had breakfast here a couple of days ago which was wonderful so we decided to stop in for an order "to go " for our return trip to Vegas. It's Saturday and the place is chaotic and incredibly busy so we're waiting 20 minutes but will call ahead next time. Great food, had seasonal veggie omelette with feta added and their potatoes & toast. Yummy!

Helpful?
Thank nancy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Metro Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Metro Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing