We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“De ANZA Apple Visit”

The Mandarin Gourmet Cupertino
Ranked #8 of 229 Restaurants in Cupertino
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“De ANZA Apple Visit”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Mandarin Place is a must visit for any one visiting Cupertino, California. It is right across Apple Headquarters. The food is excellent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LKSno12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    42
    21
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos Hills, California
1 review
“Tasty and Consistent”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I have business in Cupertino quite often, so I have occasion to dine at The Mandarin Gourmet regularly. I love the Chinese Chicken Salad - they use such fresh, clean lettuce and delicious strips of chicken! And the Tangerine beef is always smoky and delicious. They are always efficient, friendly and the quality of the food is consistently excellent. Always a happy stop for lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pandit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I am staying at the aLoft Cupertino and this restaurant is right in front of the instance. The food was good and fast. The interior was very nice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
372 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,511 helpful votes
“Great honey walnut prawns, phoenix seafood delight, OK 3 kung pao delicacies, pricey, avg portions, outstanding service”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We ate at the Mandarin Gourmet Saturday evening, arriving at 630pm. The parking lot was half empty, probably because everyone was staying home, saving money to go out the next day, Father's day.

The restaurant itself was half empty, and we were seated immediately in a prime location right next to the window, overlooking the 8 lane De Anza blvd in the heart of Silicon Valley. .

Great ambiance with ivory looking Chinese horse sculptures, tables with white cloth napkins, silverware, tea cups and water glasses with sliced lemons

We ordered the $18 Phoenix seafood delight, the $15 sizzling three Kung Pao Delicacies , along with 2 servings of brown rice $3. We had ordered the Honey Walnut Prawns in the past, and wanted to try something new.

Service was excellent, with the dishes arriving about 7 minutes after we ordered, and waiters hovering nearby for our every need.

The Phoenix seafood delight is the Chinese bird nest dish, full of broccoli, snow peas, mini corn, with shrimp, lobster, and scallops. Great dish, although the lobster was a bit overcooked, and not at all firm, but mushy. I love the crunchy vegetables contrasting with the seafood.

The sizzling 3 Kung Pao Delicacies was chunks of beef, with scallops and prawns in a sweet spicy sauce. It was flavorful, and the beef tender, but in too large segments, requiring me to cut the meat with a spoon into bite size quarters. There were about 7 large pieces of beef, 3 prawns and 2 scallops, a bit disproportional. The beef and sauce overwhelmed the taste of the seafood.

The food tasted good, but the serving size was average, and the bowls of rice on the small size. Pricey for the portion size. Even with the $13 Entertainment book coupon, the 2 course meal cost $30 to get out the door, after tip and tax.

We would not come here without the coupon, as there are less expensive places to eat, with larger portions, such as King Wah and Ginger Cafe much closer to where we live 4 miles up the road in Sunnyvale.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Solid. Piping hot and flavourful.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Linen on the table. Nice place for a change from the ever present fast food places. I had the spicy chicken dish and it was very good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank myklreinhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mandarin Gourmet Cupertino also viewed

 
Cupertino, CA
 

Been to The Mandarin Gourmet Cupertino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing