We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of banana island

banana island
Ranked #16 of 189 Restaurants in Daly City
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Malaysian, Singaporean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
226 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Came here for dinner last night and the place was pretty busy.

Theye have different cuisines from Asia here so there is a good variety.

We ordered the Ong Choy, some fried noodles with Malaysian paste, a seafood dish and Tom Yum soup. Food was good and it came out very quick.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank milton919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food, fast service but restaurant could be cleaner ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We came here on a Friday night around 7pm with a party of 7 expecting the wait time
to be long. It took only 15 minutes to be seated. The restaurant is large and there are a lot of big groups that come there for dinner. I was impressed with the fast and efficient service getting our orders ready and getting our food delivered fast and hot. Cleanliness of the restaurant was an issue for me. The table wasn't cleaned properly and the menus were greasy. The appetizer plates came with dried food on them and the water glasses were dingy.

We ordered roti canal for an appetizer which was made fresh to order and the curry sauce was very delicious. We also ordered the shrimp puff which was minced shrimp wrapped with bacon and deep fried, not bad. For entrees we ordered Hainanese chicken, which was disappointing. It was very plain and lacking in flavor. I had to drown it in it's accoutrements of ginger and chili paste to give it some flavor. We also ordered green curry beef which was ok. At least the beef was cooked well. We had coconut rice on the side which had a nice fragrance of coconut and light taste. For desert we had fried banana with mango ice cream added, very yummy. Food was good and prices were decent. They just need to work on the cleanliness of the restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Shelle702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Brought my boys for a farewell dinner tonight before they leave to go back to college tomorrow.
Everyone enjoyed the food!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Freda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
“Good food and services”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Service - 4/5 fast services. We ordered roti canal, Satay chicken, Pineapple fried rice, curry beef and pad thai.. The foods are decent. The hostess are friendly and fast. The price is average. I would recommended this place.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BudgetWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Ohio USA.
Level Contributor
122 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful Malaysian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Whenever we are in the San Francisco area we try to visit Banana Island. The Roti Canai is fantastic and a must. We love the seafood dish in a taro basket, and haven't found anything close to this anywhere else ( we have looked!)
If you are going for dinner, make reservations as they are very popular with the local Asian community, which by the way is a great indicator of the quality of the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidandJean69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed banana island also viewed

 

Been to banana island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing