We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what you'd expect -- in the 70s” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Val's Restaurant & Lounge

Val's Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #5 of 189 Restaurants in Daly City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Just what you'd expect -- in the 70s”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I give props to the waitress who tried to make this a nice experience. The food was average, the decor outdated, and I felt like my Italian relatives from the 1970s would come walking in from some back room. The prices were a bit high for the quality. All I can say is they try.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    50
    18
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Val's is Great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Great place to go for an inexpensive dinner. Good value and some dishes are real winners.

The early bird specials are great deals that are very hard to beat.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank colmaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Good steak, excellent service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Dined in the bar to watch the game. Service was outstanding. Had the porterhouse. It was pretty good. Wedge salad was excellent. Had bread pudding for desert. Nothing special. Overall good old neighborhood steakhouse.

Helpful?
Thank GrandpaJuly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daly City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Val's great food great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Great food, great atmosphere in bar and restaurant
The staff are very professional and friendly at the same

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JECD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very very disappointed,”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Went to Val's restaurant for a drink and dinner. Got really sick after eating there. My wife and I both got violently sick after eating steak and prawns. We almost ended up in the hospital. This was our first and last time there. We called then and let them know and will also contact the Health department. It's a shame as it seamed like a good old place. But Never again...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bud S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Val's Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 
Daly City, CA
 

Been to Val's Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing