We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun at sea!”

Dana Wharf Whale Watching & Sportfishing
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.00*
and up
Whale Watching Excursion in Dana Point
Ranked #2 of 20 Tours in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whale Watching Adventures, Charters , Fishing and more from Dana Point
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
La Habra, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Fun at sea!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

If you wanna go whale watching go with these guys.
The boat was newer and super clean. The staff on board was very nice and did everything to make this a trip to remember.
We did see one whale and some sea lions. The captain explained every move over the speaker system in he's effort to try to track down sea life.
The sell snacks and drinks on board at good prices.
Come a little early, it can be hard to find parking.
We will come back again!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JCK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanaWharf, Manager at Dana Wharf Whale Watching & Sportfishing, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review. Its always wonderful to hear when we can bring you a great experience with our staff and that we were able to find marine life for you to see. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    961
    231
    71
    31
    32
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss this adventure”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I went on this whale watch last Sept. It was so fantastic (saw Blue Whales, Fin Whales and dolphins) that I took relatives on it this May. Once again, we saw lots of dolphins, who surfed with the boat and the first sighting for the season of a Blue Whale and its 35-foot long baby. Quite exciting. l would recommend this to anyone, who enjoys wildlife, and doesn't get seasick. It can be quite choppy. Take layers of clothes, because it can be 15 degrees colder on the water. I think the 2-4 pm time is the best. The pilot finds the whales on the earlier whale trip. No meal is interrupted on the 2-4 pm slot. It can be colder, and the sun is lower on the 4-6 slot.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 608bettys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanaWharf, Manager at Dana Wharf Whale Watching & Sportfishing, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. How exciting to see two different types of whales and dolphin on your trip. We would like to thank you for being a loyal customer to Dana Wharf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
229 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Pretty Disappointing”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

If our excursion was all about Dolphin Watching, our cruise was an unqualified success. We were treated to an especially large number of dolphins, estimated to number about 1600. They were quite entertaining -- at first. Then it was just repetitive. Once the dolphins were spotted it seemed as if the search for blue whales was abandoned, and the boat just ran in a large circle within the harbor. I agree with another reviewer who suggested a better name for this cruise would be Dana Wharf Dolphin Watching. And of course, by spotting dolphins, their guarantee is fulfilled, and no credit for sighting an actual whale need be given. We went on Half-Price Tuesdays, which for 6 people was still pretty darn expensive given that no whales were seen, or even really pursued.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sundancekid330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanaWharf, Manager at Dana Wharf Whale Watching & Sportfishing, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for your review. So wonderful to hear you saw an abundant amount of dolphin. They are quite amazing! We are sorry we were not able to find you a whale. It is nature and sometimes they are just not around for the showing. We hope you will come again and visit us at Dana Wharf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just call the trip "Dolphin Cruise with chance of whale sights"”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We did the evening trip beginning of June. The trip was great, the crew and the boat were attentive and the captain tried everything to spot whales. Although we did not see any whales we saw a huge pot of dolphins joining the boat as well as sea lions. Just a suggestion for the owners, call the trip "Dolphin Cruise" with a chance on whale sights. Will change the expectations. Would recommend the trip.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DE_Christian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanaWharf, Manager at Dana Wharf Whale Watching & Sportfishing, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled that you were able to see a giant pod of dolphin. Hopefully you will come again and we can also find you a whale. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A must if you are in the area.”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I am a repeat customer. This is the best! Very relaxed crew. The day was perfect. I have seen whales on each trip. The dolphins are amazing. There were hundreds of them! The tables at the top are the best place to sit. I will do this trip every time I visit in the area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanaWharf, Manager at Dana Wharf Whale Watching & Sportfishing, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and also thank you for being such a great loyal customer to Dana Wharf. We can't wait to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dana Wharf Whale Watching & Sportfishing also viewed

 
Dana Point, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Dana Wharf Whale Watching & Sportfishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing