We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BETTER FOOD ELSEWHERE”
Review of Chronic Taco

Chronic Taco
Ranked #70 of 144 Restaurants in Dana Point
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: http://www.eatchronictacos.com
Restaurant details
Description: http://www.eatchronictacos.com
New York City
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“BETTER FOOD ELSEWHERE”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Food is OK at best. Nothing special.
VERY disappointed by their Taco Tuesday scam. Tacos are $1.50 each on Tuesday. However, those are only the "mini" tacos & not the full size tacos, for which they want $2.99. So for $1.50 you get a minsicule amount of meat, 6 shreds of cheese, some hot sauce, guacamole. About .50 cents worth of food for $1.50. I've not tried anything else there, however, pretty much everything includes all the same meats as the tacos, with a variation of toppings, etc. So, bottom line, there is much better & cheaper Mexican food all over the place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rickatnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
“Food is So So”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have been to a couple other Chronic Tacos in the past, the food is pretty average. Sometimes it's super fresh and other times it just doesn't taste as good. They have large portions which is nice, and the staff is pretty friendly, I just feel like it lacks consistency sometimes. Still better than Taco Bell or any drive thru though in my opinion.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not for me”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The restaurant is set up with a bohemian attitude and the food (pork taco) is somewhat salty or briny I couldn't decide.

There was nothing bad about it but when so much is self service I resent tip jars and places on the receipt for adding in a tip prior to getting the food. Tips are for sit down restaurants not self service.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
289 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Best F*&^% tacos in OC!”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Chronic is what it says it is; a "Chronic" habit. Good thing they have multiple locations because its my choice of great tacos and burritos in OC. Whether you like street tacos, tostada salad bowls or breakfast burritos, you wont be disappointed! Check out any Chronic in the morning and you will find all the contractors (not just the Mexicans.) They just don't open early enough (8am.) I have been on a health kick for a while and they don't use lard and cook fresh in front of you. You can skip the calories and extra carbs simply by ordering eqq whites (real ones,) or tostada bowls with extra cabbage (skip the deep fried tortilla,) or just eat one of the two tortillas that they put the tacos in. They make extra spicy if you roll that way or gringo style (if you want to be.) Prices are in line with any "hole in the wall," Mexican place (which is what I grew up on.) Food is just like my Grandpa's and just as spicy when i want it to be or mild for my wife and kids. They have lots of tv's and not a bad place to do lunch or dinner with the family.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank OC-RaiderFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Cal
Level Contributor
177 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good not Great”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is the place your surfing teenager loves because he got a big burrito. Honestly this chain restaurant is just standard but it has a decent patio that it shares with a crowded breakfast place and is a taco and coke common fast food joint with few sparks of imagination.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank cap10paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chronic Taco also viewed

Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Chronic Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing