We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property marred by poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Monarch Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2012

It's a shame such a grand property with beautiful facilities could be so easily marred by poor service.

We checked in Christmas Eve weekend. Check in was smooth thanks to David, the front desk manager. He took care of us efficiently and was eager to help us find the room we desired.

Our service at Stonehill Tavern was equally outstanding. The restaurant is under new management and it clearly showed. Service approached perfection and was absolutely flawless.

Unfortunately things went quickly downhill from that point forward.

1) Requested ice for our room, but a full hour went by with no delivery.

2) Called the resort services number back to check on the status. 45 minutes after that, we finally had ice delivered. An hour and 45 minutes to deliver ice delivered! I've never experienced such a failure in service in all my years of travel.

3) On Christmas day, we had a late dinner at Motif. We were seated at 8:45 and it was 9:00 PM when the manager approached us. He was surprised that we were seated with no menus and asked us who seated us. No apologies but we were glad to finally be acknowledged. When we finally did get a waiter, we ordered a simple salad and a hamburger off their limited post buffet menu. Food was not delivered until 10:00 PM, 30 minutes after the restaurant had closed! It was one of the worst service experiences we had ever experienced of any hotel, let alone one that is supposedly of 5-star caliber.

What shocked me about this stay was the complacency of the staff when service has clearly not lived up to the St. Regis standards. No apologies or explanations nor any effort on management's part to make good after the fact.

Room Tip: Upper floors facing the grand garden overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Armen_Sarkisian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Armen-Sarkisian-

Thank you for your recent review of the St. Regis Monarch Beach. We are very sorry to hear about the situation with the ice and your dining experience at Motif Restaurant.

Thank you,

The Executive Team
St. Regis Monarch Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,772 - 1,778 of 2,522 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2012

Beautiful hotel with incredible service. We were really fortunate to get a suite with a butler. The room came with a large living room, bedroom, two marble bath rooms and a large patio with an ocean view. The butler brought sparkling water and chocolate dipped strawberries to help us celebrate our anniversary. After dinner (excellent at Michael Mina's in the hotel) we came back to our room to find real rosé petals leading from the front door to the bedroom. On the dining table were roses, candles and a sweet note from the butler. In the bedroom there were two towel swans on the bed, along with rosé petal hearts .... Very romantic! High quality amenities, I liked the shampoo so much that I ordered it off the Internet. The spa was very nice with good quality treatments. Everyone who worked there was friendly and very service oriented. we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Csora2547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Csora2547-

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at The St. Regis Monarch Beach. We hope that you will return in the future and take advantage of the many other amenities the Resort has to offer.

Thank you,

The Executive Team
The St. Regis Monarch Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

The is our second stay at the St Regis Monarch Beach. We do an annual "get away" before the Christmas rush just to decompress and have some quiet time. This property never disappoints. The staff is top notch. Check in had several people waiting, however it moved along as a smooth and professional pace. As soon as we were checked in, we were in our room in a few minutes. Rooms are immaculate, clean, and quiet. We almost felt as if we were the only guests at the hotel. We were upgraded to a corner balcony suite that overlooked the golf course and faced the ocean. We left the resort only twice and spent the majority of our time relaxing in our room. Because of the holiday season the hotel was dressed up in its finest holiday decoration. There was beautiful holiday lighting, and an amazing sand sculpture in the lobby. While the location of the resort is a bit secluded, shopping, beaches, and villages are a very short drive from the property. My only complaint is that we didn't stay longer. Our goal for 2013 is to visit the St Regis Monarch Beach at least three times. Love this place!

Room Tip: Corner suites facing the ocean and golf course are extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveling_gal801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Traveling_gal801-

We are so pleased to hear that you returned to The St. Regis Monarch Beach and got to enjoy the festive holiday decorations. We hope that you will reach your goal and return to the Resort in 2013.

Thank you,

The Executive Team
St. Regis Monarch Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We stayed there for a convention for 2 nights. Room is beautiful, nice amenities. Reception staff is very nice and professional. Our room was on the main floor and unfortunately a wedding party was partying it up late that night right above us on 2nd floor. Hardly any sleep that night. My husband had to make 2 calls to hotel staff to quiet them down around 2am. I'm sure another room on upper floor maybe facing the ocean would've been better. For an luxury hotel, the walls are pretty thin. Grounds are beautiful- perfect for weddings. Hotel was bustling with guests and visitors. They do a good job catering for corporate events. Try the hotel bar on upper deck overlooking courtyard and ocean for a sunset drink. Takes a while to get to the beach- you need to catch a hotel shuttle to cross you over the PCH but it's efficient. Would consider returning only for a better room location.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the side courtyard where conference rooms are located. We woke 4am to sounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misstravelbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

MDZair-

Thank you for your review of the St Regis Monarch Beach. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your convention at the Resort. We hope that you will return in the future and take advantage of one of the many rooms with an ocean view.

Thank you,

The Executive Team
St Regis Monarch Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

The property is beautiful. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious. The food at the restaurants was really good. Most of all, the service was incredible! I usually don't write reviews but the people at this property were so amazing that I wanted to highlight it. They made the difference in our trip. I arrived with a broken ankle. The bellman, Matt, realized it when he was taking us to our room. He suggested a room change since our room was so far from the elevator that I would have to walk quite a distance. Then he went to the front desk changed our room and brought us new keys within minutes so that our room would be close to the elevator. Then he unloaded our luggage and went to find bags and ice for my ankle that would last me through the night. Then every night after that, when i returned from dinner there would be bags and ice in my room even though I had not requested it. Mike, the hotel ambassador was amazing also. He found out that we were there for my friend's birthday and he personally brought us champagne, chocolate cover strawberries and a had written card to us pool side. When we returned from dinner that evening, the same was also delivered to our room! Finally, Chris at the front desk accomodated us when we wanted to stay longer and invited additional friends to join us and needed an extra room for which we did not have a reservation. He just made it happen and even honored our special rate for our friends room also. AMAZING....I'm already thinking about when I will be able to return!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dameshia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Dameshia D.-

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at The St. Regis Monarch Beach. We look forward to you returning in the future and hope you can take advantage of the other wonderful things the Resort has to offer.

Thank you,

The Executive Staff
St. Regis Monarch Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Spectacular property just as described. I love the location, close to Dana Point, Laguna Beach, and the Anaheim attractions, not to mention golf, the beaches and South Coast Mall- I know the area well and this is a great place to be based for a So. Cal vacation. Easy access and a short, easy drive from John Wayne airport (Santa Ana).
Gorgeous public areas, all very elegant.
Gardens and pool very nicely laid out - it is 'winter', but still looked appealing.
Bedroom was beautifully furnished: linens and bed were very comfortable. Had a pretty view over the pool towards the ocean. Bathroom was spacious and well equipped.
Not really walking distance to the beach unless you want a hike. Is there a shuttle?
Staff were v. pleasant.
The only issue is the $. The room rate is not expensive for a property of this calibre, but there is a resort charge, $25.00, AND a valet charge, $35.00, not to mention all the local taxes, which are minimal. My iPad dropped the internet constantly.
For a short stay I'd seriously consider somewhere cheaper, just because of the extra charges, but over a longer period then $35.00 becomes negligible.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chwarae422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRMB, Public Relations Manager at Monarch Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Chwarae422-

Thank you for your recent review of The St Regis Monarch Beach. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent trip to the Resort. As far as the charges, prior to booking your room you are notified that the hotel has a daily resort charge of $25.00 that includes the spa facilities, high-speed internet access, as well as toll free and local phone calls. We hope that you will return to the Resort in the future and take advantage of the many amenities.

Thank you,

The Executive Team
St. Regis Monarch Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Loved St. Regis Service from the moment we arrived for my Birthday weekend with friends. We are so looking forward to returning to the St. Regis on another trip soon.

Matt the bell man was so wonderfully helpful and knowledgeable with the resort. Matt went out of his way for us. Matt hand delivered ice every evening to our room for a guest in our party with a broken ankle. Matt also helped to extend our stay from one day to three days. We loved the hotel and service so much we stayed longer than originally planned.

Michael Mettlille the hotel ambassador was a delight and provided us with white glove service with champagne and strawberries for my birthday celebration. Michael greeted all guests with was welcoming and positive attitude. Micahel is a great ambassador and does a phenomenal job to get to know guests and makes everyone feel special and at home.

Chris at the check in desk was also wonderful. Chris was accommodating and helpful. Chris always had a smile on his face and helped us with checkout and splitting up of our bill.

The property grounds are absolutely beautiful and the restaurant by the beach is a must.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MorningSunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
10.3 mi away
The Resort at Pelican Hill
The Resort at Pelican Hill
#4 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,582 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
871 reviews
4.8 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
483 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 21 in Huntington Beach
3,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monarch Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monarch Beach Resort

Address: 1 Monarch Beach Resort, Dana Point, CA 92629-4085 (Formerly St. Regis, Monarch Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#3 Business Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Family Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: £223 - £630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Monarch Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our AAA Five-Diamond resort overlooks the Pacific and offers private beach club access, with watersports, oceanfront golf, award-winning Miraval Life in Balance Spa, swimming pools, upscale dining, activities programs and more. Located in Dana Point, the resort offers easy access to a variety of Southern California attractions including Catalina Island, Dana Point Harbor, Laguna art galleries and events, Disneyland and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monarch Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis, Monarch Beach Hotel Dana Point
St Regis Dana Point
St Regis Resort Monarch Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing