We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turk's

Turk's
Ranked #17 of 142 Restaurants in Dana Point
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Great old time bar. Great place to sit and socialize. Great people watching. The fishing boats are docked right in front of Turks. Fun to watch the fisherman return with their catch.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DavefromCA92629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    51
    19
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
325 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“"Friendly"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stopped here after our Ferry ride back from Avalon, we walked in and First thing we noticed was "ole ciggerate' machine, we Dont smoke anymore but felt like putting money in the machine and pulling the handle and getting a Pack! We sat down and were attended to by very friendly staff! We Arrived just after sunset so cannot comment about the view. I m sure being right in the middle of Dana Harbor the view would be Great. As Far as the Food it was good, not great and little bit pricey I Thought. Overall it was a very Good experience, I will go Back and Try something else.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vegman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GREAT VIEW AND VIBE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Really nice view of the boats and coast beyond the harbor. Very reasonable prices and
friendly staff. Would recommend for anyone visiting the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great view of the harbor!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Had breakfast here before we went whale watching. Was very good food and our server had a very big personality - she joked with us the whole time. The locals here were very friendly too. Great view of the fishing boats in the harbor. Would recommend this place for breakfast, lunch or just a drink.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank gloria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aubrey, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“You'll find a friend at Turk's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

My wife and I decided to have dinner at Turk's one night during our stay in Dana Point prior to NYE 2013. We sat at the bar, and the service was outstanding! The locals were very warm and friendly, too, and offered all kinds of local knowledge about things to see and do while we were visiting from Texas.

As it turned out, Frank the Bartender is actually related to one of our former neighbors from our years in Florida; Frank makes a great drink, and is very wise about the SoCal region. Keep in mind, though, that if you sit at the bar, you have to order your food from a server, not the bartender, so you will end up with two tabs.

All in all, a wonderful evening; it can get very crowded at the bar, though, and my wife and I were both jostled by other patrons a couple of times. Still, if you want some good drinks and what might be the best burger in Dana Point, try this place out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scottygator94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Turk's also viewed

Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Turk's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing