We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Sandwiches and Great Soup”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tutor & Spunky's Deli
Ranked #59 of 145 Restaurants in Dana Point
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
San Clemente, California
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Quality Sandwiches and Great Soup”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

A nice varied menu and the sandwiches on various breads are made fresh and have fresh ingredients. I usually get something with avocado on it and they give you ample portions. The soup is usually outstanding but often run out so get there early enough to get some.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lighthouse2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Picnic”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This place is in Dana Point..we grabbed sandwiches to go and had a picnic on the beach! Their food is out of this world! My mouth is watering thinking about coming back to Tutor's. I wonder how they came up with the name?

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Candice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great for takeout - yummy sandwiches!”
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I like to visit Tutor & Spunky's occasionally. They have good sandwiches. In my opinion, they are a bit on the expensive side, but not too bad. Everything I've had there has always been delicious. The only thing I wish they would do differently is offer fresh roasted turkey instead of deli turkey.
Also, be prepared for a funky setup inside. It feels like a cafeteria, and if I recall correctly, they don't offer fountain sodas. This is a big deal to me because I think soda tastes SO MUCH BETTER out of a fountain than a bottle or can. They do have numerous other beverage offerings to go, so you won't have to leave thirsty. Also, the owner is a published author so he has his books out for sale. It's a little odd, but at the same time, it's kind of sweet and endearing. Overall, I like Tutor & Spunkys and will continue to visit whenever I'm in the mood for a delicious sandwich.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ockathylovesred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Great quality sandwiches.”
Reviewed 20 July 2011

You get what you pay for... Delicious quality! People were friendly and helpful. Perfect for lunch!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Couponamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Deli”
Reviewed 1 January 2011

This deli is in a strip mall. The lines can get long during the summer, so phone in your order ahead of time. The sandwiches here are fantastic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OragneCountyThor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tutor & Spunky's Deli also viewed

Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Tutor & Spunky's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing