We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst tuna ever!”
Review of Bonjour Cafe

Bonjour Cafe
Ranked #29 of 145 Restaurants in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$18
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: A cozy table service or takeout traditional French Bistro place with indoor and lovely outdoor seating since 1992.Open everyday for Breakfast and Lunch with an extensive menu featuring a lot of Parisian specialties, serving generous portions including a kid menu for the little ones.We serve Wine and Beer plus weekend Champagne specials, serving also all kind of Coffee drinks from Cappucino to machiato etc...Free Parking is available all along the street plus we have a back private parking lot. We are located in the heart of Dana Point, 1 mile above the harbor and 5 minutes from all major resorts such as Ritz Carlton, St Regis, Marriott.
San Clemente, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst tuna ever!”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went for lunch I ordered the tuna salad salad Dave ordered the tuna salad sandwich! The menu said albacore on mixed greens it was light tuna worst salad I have ever had! It was on the green leaf lettuce as opposed to mix greens and there was nothing but light tuna in the salad! Their bread is great but my husband's tuna salad sandwich which there was hardly any tuna and it left something to be desired! And it's so overpriced! However the service is great and the owners are sweet as can be! Sadly we will not be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    36
    15
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgway, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Spot”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Great spot for breakfast. French toast is tops, as is the eggs benedict.
Nice bistro feel. Busy on Sunday mornings...get there around 10 AM to be seated without waiting. Food is definitely worth waiting for!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoLongBoard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Breakfast with my Dad”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Came for Breakfast. I had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. This is my favorite place to eat Breakfast in the area that I live in. I love the French Bread and also the espresso. It is a little pricey for Breakfast but it is worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Omar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food you would find in a Paris bistro...”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Bonjour has authentically French flavors and a true bistro feel. Went for breakfast, and the omelet, French toast, crepes, and Benedict's were all interesting and un-characteristically large for French food. Well worth going and trying different things, we'll be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeInCoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“not impressed”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Food was good, however, by the time they served it, I would have eaten anything! The restaurant was not that crowded, so there was no excuse for the horribly slow service. Further, they did not appear at all concerned. Like I was doing them a favor by eating in their establishment. The prices are not cheap. So if that is their attitude, I will spend my money, anywhere but here. Also, parking is kind of crazy, if you are not a local you may have difficulty navigating around. Another reason to pass on this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank konalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bonjour Cafe also viewed

Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Bonjour Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing