We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the wait”
Review of RJ's Cafe

RJ's Cafe
Ranked #4 of 145 Restaurants in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Laguna Hills, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

For all the hype about this restaurant and the long lines, the food is slightly above average. Portions are large and the food is tasty but the service was terrible -- just too many patrons and not enough staff. They are used to people waiting for them and are not very organized. We waited about 15 minutes to get our water and more before our server came over. She was great, but it didn't make up for such a chaotic atmosphere and long wait.

If you know your restaurant is going to be slammed all the time, get better organized and do a better job of respecting your customers. Don't rely on tourists to keep coming in, because the locals need a good place who respects us and who wants to treat us right.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Margo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    80
    19
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over workrd staff”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The waitresses that work there at 11:30 am on a wedusday seemed tried or over worked.
When we first arrived at the door, a waitress told us there is a wait list, then told by the casheir, sit where there is a empty table. Our waitress was nice and the food came out fast, the Fish and Chips we ordered had chewy batter, but the fish was good. never had chewy yellow batter before anywere. still trying to figure out what they did wrong.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxing breakfast and lunch”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Had a combination breakfast and lunch. We had an enjoyable meal. Food was delicious and very glad we found this cozy restaurant. When we arrived we were not greeted, however, everyone else were friendly. We choose to sit inside, however there is sitting outside and the weather was beautiful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds,england
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We had to wait quite a time before we got a table at this diner - but it was worth it....I devoured a wonderful sausage and cheese omelette .....and my hubby had a corn beef hash omelette which he said was awesome!
Try to you will like it!!!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank charlieboychik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dynamite breakfast”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

RJ's is open for breakfast and lunch. Very friendly staff and owner provide old time service and smiles. The food is very, very good with a broad selection of items for breakfast. The cinnamon roll is a breakfast unto itself, as my 92 year old mother in law discovered, much to her delight. The place is busy at breakfast, especially on weekends. But no one seems to mind the short wait until a table opens up. They do have tables outdoors on the patio and on a nice morning there is nothing better than a hot breakfast in the sunshine.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cali4niaVisi2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RJ's Cafe also viewed

Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to RJ's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing