We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and options!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raya at The Ritz-Carlton

Raya at The Ritz-Carlton
Ranked #5 of 142 Restaurants in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Raya, named “Restaurant of the Year” by Riviera Orange County in July 2011, is a great restaurant concept by acclaimed Chef Richard Sandoval. Raya showcases Pan-Latin Coastal Cuisine prepared with sustainable seafood, local produce, natural and organic meat and Chef Richard Sandoval’s signature Latin flavors. Discover delectable dining on the coast of Dana Point during your next visit.
Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great service and options!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Service was wonderful and their selections covered all in our party - from vegetarians, no shell fish, gluten free. Everyone was able to get something delicious!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CMHCBB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    74
    36
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always a great dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Everything is fabulous at this restaurant. The food is delicious, the wait staff are friendly and helpful, the view of the Pacific Ocean is gorgeous. A couple of friends had the hamburgers which they said were excellent and perfectly cooked. I had a salad which was delicious. Highly recommend this restaurant. You won't be disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank susan383838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
168 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Goodfood; lousy service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I had lunch with colleagues….the food was good and atmosphere was great (amazing views of the Pacific). However, the servers seemed confused. No one really knew "who" was handling our table. It took about 15-20 minutes for the waiter to take our order (after we asked someone to get him for us). Then it took forever to get our check…I expected more.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Flyrodtrouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

the food and service for breakfast, lunch or dinner is great. you also can enjoy a great view of the water. fast friendly service

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zarijazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“not very dramatic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I wish I would like this place better. We were four adults dining in the restaurant. We had four appetizers, four entrees and a bottle of wine. The bill was over $300. None of the food was fantastic, my fish was too salty. The hotel spent money on new design, but the evening lighting is not good. Table setting is not that comfortable. For larger party (6) your choice is either to get a table with bench on one side with no view, or a large round table with a corner bench so I feel you are lost there. Also the location is not that private. You have people walking by in their sweatpants or screaming children running by. I think for that amount of money is better to get a taxi and dine in Laguna Beach in some fun restaurant. We were there during the day as well, and it is little better because at least you have a view. We waited long time but the food again, was just OK. The staff is very nice and accommodating.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank solofilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Raya at The Ritz-Carlton also viewed

 
Dana Point, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Raya at The Ritz-Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing