We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Italian Restaurant”

Stella's Serious Italian
Reserve with OpenTable
Stella's Serious Italian is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 144 Restaurants in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: PCH & Crown Valley Parkway
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We ate here while on a trip to Dana Point. My parents really enjoyed it and actually returned there for dinner later on in the trip. The atmosphere of the place is very nice and we had excellent service. We really enjoyed the saxophonist.

However, I would say that the food is just so-so and is very expensive for what you get. The food was very prompt and the wine selection was okay but I don't think this is somewhere I would visit again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Page M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    17
    9
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caldwell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nnice Italian Dinner”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stella's is tucked away in the corner of the Monarch Bay Plaza.
The food was good but the prices were a little expensive.
Cocktails $13-$14, apps $18.00 Entrees $20-$40.
The service was good and the meal was served properly.
We will return but only for special occasions.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buytheshorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronxville, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst Meal Ever”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We had dinner there for New Year's Eve. It took forever to check in and get seated. We arrived for an 8pm seating. While I had reviewed the menu before to make sure there would be something on the menu for the 5 of us, the menu had been changed for New Year's Eve. Choices were not great and Italian offerings were slim. They did accommodate the kids and allow them to order from the bar menu, but their food was not served at the same time as ours. Also, meals were sold out when we arrived. Ridiculous! The meal was extremely expensive for what it was. I would never have dinner there again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Italianmomma118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great service and great happy hour!!!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband and I came here on Friday for Happy Hour. Charleen was our bartender and server. Boy that girl does not miss a beat she is just awesome and really knows how to work a room. We started with the salad on the HH menu and then had the Carpacio, both were great!!! We then split the meatballs which were off the hook. Charleen sugested we try the gnoicchi with the vodka, tomatoe, cream sauce, It is the best I have ever had. I truely could roll in it!!! It is that good. It normally comes with a creamy blue cheese sauce and the owner Tom let sample that one too. It was wonderful but we both liked the first better. The live sax is awesome too!!! Great ambiance as well!!! We will totally be back. We just love this place!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, CA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mixed value and tastes”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Some great dishes, especially those with tomato sauce. Others are okay, but may not knock your socks off. Good happy hour, but avoid the pizza. It's not a strength. They'd have better dough if they used the packaged product from Trader Joe's.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodie021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stella's Serious Italian also viewed

Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 
Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Stella's Serious Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing