We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dana Point Marina Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Windsor VT
Level Contributor
67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Outdated”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I arrived to find that walk-in customers were getting a better rate than I did by reserving 3 months ahead of time! I was not happy. My room was equipped with a stove, refrigerator, TV, etc and that was average. Room did not get housekeeping on two different occasions and I did not have a do not disturb sign out. There was no offer of having it done either time. Everyone had gone home, etc. Bedding was below par. The mattress was very old and lumpy. We had a room above us that sounded like it had been rented to a herd of elephants. Overall a very poor experience.

Room Tip: Ask to see room ahead of time. Apparently they are renovating and I did not get a newly renovated r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babybatman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    111
    64
    36
    28
See reviews for
88
113
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The title says it all-older hotel in need of some up grades but overall its a wonderful place to use as your base when in the LA/San Diego area. Its situated directly on the Dana Point Harbor and has lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance. Very friendly , helpful staff-hotel has a really nice pool, gym, laundry and free breakfast. Hotel is CLEAN and everything WORKS.

Room Tip: Views harbor side are great but cost a little more but worth it. Take one of the whale watching tour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phatfillTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Musty carpets, high prices, incompetent staff, shoddy maintenance, the Dana Point Marina Inn has it all!

It seems the Dana Point Marina Inn is doing the bare minimum to keep their location in compliance with the law (though the carpets may be older than legal). There was nothing pleasant about this stay, I'm just surprised I didn't get bed bugs.

When you walk into the room and smell the musty carpets do yourself a favor and walk back out. This room isn't worth the asking price, this room isn't worth $1.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NullUser N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I spent only 1 night at that hotel and was ok, just ok. It is a very simple hotel. Parking lot it is not charged.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19112012h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twentynine Palms, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Location is the key for this Inn. The room was nice and filled our need for an overnighter before an early Catalina trip the next day. Walking distance to the Catalina Express and the rest of Dana Point Harbor. Several good restaurants nearby including Wind and Sea. My only compliants; I had to turn on the water for the toilet and reconnect the chain to the flapper valve in the toilet tank before the toilet in the room would work, and the A/C unit did an imitation of a passing train. We slept well despite the noise from the A/C and would recommend this Inn to family and friends looking for convenient lodging in the harbor area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We wanted to stay within walking distance of the Dana Point Yacht Club and the Marina Inn fit our needs. It is dated and could use a major facelift but the value is amazing for the location. The room was old, with a stained popcorn ceiling. However, it was clean and quite large with the attached kitchen.

Our only complaint was we received a queen bed when we booked a king. The front desk person was rude when we asked for a new room. She said they were fully booked, too bad. The bed was very soft with small pillows but we still slept well.

Waking up in the Marina was a treat. We had cappuccinos and a nice breakfast while we enjoyed the boats, pelicans, views, and people watching.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alavio15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I have stayed at the Marina Inn several times and it is a solid bet for the price in Dana point. The hotel shows its age and the decor is stuck in the 70's. However this past trip showed promising signs of some long overdue improvements. A jacuzzi spa has been added to the pool area. What a welcome addition! There are signs of other renovations as well. Might I suggest starting with the hideous artwork in the rooms. Followed by the bedspreads? DP harbor is a great place with lots to do and some great restaurants. For the money you can't go wrong with marina inn. Just don't expect the Ritz Carlton. I just hope the improvements don't translate into higher room rates. Ps. Don't spend the extra money for the harbor view. It's not worth it since all you do is walk outside and there's the harbor!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethany017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
1.4 mi away
Capistrano Surfside Inn
Capistrano Surfside Inn
#7 of 12 in Dana Point
100 reviews
6.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dana Point Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dana Point Marina Inn

Property: Dana Point Marina Inn
Address: 24800 Dana Point Harbor Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-2919
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Dana Point Marina Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dana Point Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Point Marina Hotel Dana Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing