We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dana Point Marina Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Pasadena, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We have been staying at the Marina Inn since the 70's----more frequently now that we are retired. They do a great job keeping the rooms up and frequent changes to the lobby. This trip we noticed new air conditioners. Would you believe when we first started staying there they didn't even have air conditioners in the rooms? It's not a 5 Star hotel but there is one of those across the road if that is what you care to pay for. We are very pleased with housekeeping staff and front desk clerks. I can't begin to tell you how many times we have stayed but we have been able to check in early every time but two. We call the Marina Inn "our vacation home".

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank waikiki willi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    111
    66
    36
    28
See reviews for
89
114
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We arrived on Friday, July 13, 2012 mid afternoon to see if we could check in early. We had reserved a harbor view room. We arrived to the 2nd floor and our room was nice. We had a beautiful view of the harbor. The bed is comfy, shower and bath were updated and very nice. Free continental breakfast in the morning. Saturday after sightseeing, party and arriving back to the hotel, there was no parking. We asked the front desk and we were told that we had to wait for someone to leave in order for us to park. That was the biggest downfall for us. The area is very busy with shops, restaurants and bars. Parking is limited unless you have parking pass.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulalalahhhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley, CA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My wife and I picked this particular hotel because we had a group whale-watching trip the next morning and were looking for something close. The price was the best I could find in the area, and it was worth it. The hotel was a bit outdated, could use some renovations. The continental breakfast was pretty standard, coffee, juice, pastries. The staff however were far more than standard. Both checking in and checking out the desk staff were extremely friendly and welcoming, a welcome sight after a long drive. Also, if you're lucky enough to get a west facing room you'll have an AMAZING view of the Dana Point Yacht Harbor. Overall, I was very satisfied with this hotel and would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We had a great few days here in July 2012. OK the hotel is a little dated but still very good value, with large rooms, comfortable beds, free wifi, ocean view, lots of free parking, a big pool and several good reastaurants within walking distance. Its peaceful, off the main road and facing the marina. Beyond the marina is the Pacific Ocean, so its a partial view.

The Upside is definitely the location and the super-value room rates. Many of the rooms appear to be family orientated and some have efficiencies,so there's something to suit everyone. You can save enough on the room rate to pay for the evening meal. Oh - and there's a free basic breakfast thrown in.

Downsides are trivial really - the balcony fly-screens were loose in their rails, the TV was one of those old, big fat things and there could be some noise from the pool but none of these things spoilt our stay. If you don't like to overlook the pool, there are plenty of other rooms available.

There are nice harbour-side walks from the hotel and whale-watching boats are within walking distance. Make sure you visit Cannons Seafood Grille on the cliff above the marina - spectacular view while you dine on great food.

Room Tip: Try to get a top-floor facing the marina - the ones overlooking the pool seem to be best value. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrishooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor VT
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I arrived to find that walk-in customers were getting a better rate than I did by reserving 3 months ahead of time! I was not happy. My room was equipped with a stove, refrigerator, TV, etc and that was average. Room did not get housekeeping on two different occasions and I did not have a do not disturb sign out. There was no offer of having it done either time. Everyone had gone home, etc. Bedding was below par. The mattress was very old and lumpy. We had a room above us that sounded like it had been rented to a herd of elephants. Overall a very poor experience.

Room Tip: Ask to see room ahead of time. Apparently they are renovating and I did not get a newly renovated r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babybatman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The title says it all-older hotel in need of some up grades but overall its a wonderful place to use as your base when in the LA/San Diego area. Its situated directly on the Dana Point Harbor and has lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance. Very friendly , helpful staff-hotel has a really nice pool, gym, laundry and free breakfast. Hotel is CLEAN and everything WORKS.

Room Tip: Views harbor side are great but cost a little more but worth it. Take one of the whale watching tour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phatfillTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Musty carpets, high prices, incompetent staff, shoddy maintenance, the Dana Point Marina Inn has it all!

It seems the Dana Point Marina Inn is doing the bare minimum to keep their location in compliance with the law (though the carpets may be older than legal). There was nothing pleasant about this stay, I'm just surprised I didn't get bed bugs.

When you walk into the room and smell the musty carpets do yourself a favor and walk back out. This room isn't worth the asking price, this room isn't worth $1.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NullUser N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
6.6 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
401 reviews
1.4 mi away
Capistrano Surfside Inn
Capistrano Surfside Inn
#7 of 12 in Dana Point
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dana Point Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dana Point Marina Inn

Property: Dana Point Marina Inn
Address: 24800 Dana Point Harbor Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-2919
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Dana Point Marina Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dana Point Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Point Marina Hotel Dana Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing