We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dana Point Marina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dana Point Marina Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Home away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

My husband and I have been staying at the Marina Inn for our California vacations for the past 21 years. We love the place! It's clean, comfortable, well staffed and the location is wonderful. Close to beautiful beaches, great restaurants and the Marina area provided a great area for watersports, walking and people watching. It's a great value.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JZPhillyPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    107
    63
    36
    27
See reviews for
85
110
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at Dana Point Marina Inn on the recommendation of a family member. We found it to be a great value. It is located at Dana Point harbor and we were able to walk to some great restaurants and shops. It was very clean and the hotel staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RinaRina146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramona, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

This place is great! We stayed here twice in one month, once with kids and once without. Both times the staff was friendly and accommodating to our needs. The rooms were clean, and while a bit dated, nothing was in need of repair. The location is the best! Close to the marina and bay water sports.

Room Tip: Upper floors were quiet and many have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

This is a must stay hotel close right on the harbor. The mountainside view rooms are great and the harbor view suites are fabulous! The rooms are very clean with upgraded amenities in the harbor view rooms. You are within walking distance to wonderful restaurants and shopping. Lots to do at the harbor. I stayed with my one year old in the harbor view room and the space was great for him to play around while I was able to still get work done.The staff is extremely helpful. I could not have asked for a better place to stay here. I will definitely be coming back every time I visit Southern California.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff by the Sea
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

I love staying at the Dana Point Marina Inn, especially in one of their harbor view suites. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable with panoramic views of the harbor and easy walking distance to fabulous restaurants, great shopping, the Catalina Express and many other interesting attractions. The staff is friendly and efficient and the prices are lower than anywhere else in Dana Point. I would recommend it as the best place to stay in Dana Point for location and affordability.

Room Tip: Harbor view rooms are worth the extra cost, but any of the rooms are nice, except right on the parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed here because we needed a place close to where they were holding a music festival event. It was last minute so we thought we wouldnt be able to get a room anywhere- this place was recommended as a little known secret only known by the locals. You are right on the harbor and close to everything. Our room was only $93 dollars with tax. We met a few older guests that seemed to know their way around and were repeat customers since the 1970's.We can only imagine the history of this place and the harbor. Check in was really easy as was check out- definitely will be staying here for our next adventure!!!

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

This place was a very convienient location to Doehny State beach which is why I chose this place for my daughter and her friend to stay the weekend for the music festival at the Doehny beach the weekend of Sept 8 and 9th. However, the rooms were very average, could have used some updating and cosmetic make over all over the place according to my daughter. The biggest disappointment was , my daughter's favorite feathered earrings given to her by her boyfriend as a gift were stolen from the night stand in the room by housekeeping and they denied it. No one else entered the room. Who else could have taken them?

Room Tip: Keep all of your valuble items out of your room and any favorite items. Don't trust their housek...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dana Point hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
1.3 mi away
Riviera Beach Spa Resort
Riviera Beach Spa Resort
#9 of 12 in Dana Point
3.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.4 mi away
Capistrano Surfside Inn
Capistrano Surfside Inn
#7 of 12 in Dana Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dana Point Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dana Point Marina Inn

Property: Dana Point Marina Inn
Address: 24800 Dana Point Harbor Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-2919
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Dana Point Marina Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelClick so you can book your Dana Point Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Point Marina Hotel Dana Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing