We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good value...excellent location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dana Point Marina Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Spokane Wa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good value...excellent location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed here again in Dec ...probably our fifth time staying...vastly improved and renovated...new paint colors, flat screens. We just love the location...you can walk for miles along the marina and beach. Nice to have a laundry for guests. Continental brkfst could improve..but, great coffee pubs are one minute walking distance. plz keep improvement s coming..and, we will b back again and again. My sister visited and wants to return for their anniversary in July!!!

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor for great marina view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spokanetravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    108
    63
    36
    28
See reviews for
86
111
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

The hotel overlooks the gorgeous Marina. You couldn't ask for a better location. There's a beautiful path that runs along the Marina where you can walk or bike. Lot's of places to eat and sight-seeing are all within walking distance. You can tell that the hotel has been going thru some upgrades. The flat screen tvs are very nice. The bathrooms are starting to get upgraded. They're not there yet. Still needs new bedding, carpeting and furniture. And they can use some better padding between floors. Neighbors walking on the floor above sounded like herds of buffalo. But overall, this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank auntie-irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

The Dana Point Marina Inn is possibly one of the most convenient locations. The staff is always just friendly enough. The rooms are getting remodeled, although they aren't in bad shape now, Just a few things need updating. Each room has it's own patio to sit out and enjoy the view. There are plenty of places to catch a bite to eat as well all within a five minute walk. Walking around all the shops that are on the marina you'll find something for everyone. It's also close to the beach. Don't pass this hotel up

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucienneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

On two occasions, my husband and I have chosen the Dana Point Marina Inn for week-long stays in Southern California. This hotel offers all the comforts and feeling of home. The rooms are squeaky clean; the staff super friendly, knowledgeable and courteous; and the location, five-star. The hotel is right on the harbor and a minute's walk to retail stores and restaurants. It's hard to resist the view--hundreds of boats languishing in the blue water of the harbor. We would rate our experiences at this hotel among our very best hotel stays. It offers a continental breakfast in a newly refurbished breakfast room. There, we met several interesting people, including a Ph.D. anthropologist, who was absolutely fascinating. If you are planning a stay near Dana Point, and you are looking for first-class, but affordable accommodations, try the Dana Point Marina Inn. By the time we left the hotel on our second stay, we knew many of the staff on a first-name basis. Go there. You won't be sorry.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both the older part of this hotel and the refurbished area. We loved both!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stay one to two weeks, several times a year at the DPMI. It is a great location, reasonably priced, and the staff are the greatest. Several restaurants are within walking distance and the harbor area is a nice place to socialize. The latest renovations will add to the ambiance.
A stay includes continental breakfast. Most staff are long term employees, knowledgeable, and eager to help out with touristy information. CJDP

Room Tip: Bay or pool view rooms are worth the slight extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJDP22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

The location of this hotel is fabulous, the staff is,always friendly. We stay here two or three times a year and always enjoy our time there. The harbor area is a grand place to walk,eat and just relax. There are several restaurants in walking distance from the hotel. Laguna Beach is just a short drive. The Christmas lights at the Ritz are a must to see.

Room Tip: Harbor view is the best if you have never been there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kath b B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

Great location right in the Dana Point Marina. The rooms are spaciou, with vending machines on each floor. There is also a nice continental breakfast included each morning. Will definitely recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dana Point hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Oceanview
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
1.4 mi away
Capistrano Surfside Inn
Capistrano Surfside Inn
#7 of 12 in Dana Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riviera Beach Spa Resort
Riviera Beach Spa Resort
#9 of 12 in Dana Point
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dana Point Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dana Point Marina Inn

Property: Dana Point Marina Inn
Address: 24800 Dana Point Harbor Dr, Dana Point, CA 92629-2919
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Dana Point Marina Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dana Point Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Point Marina Hotel Dana Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing