We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great anniversary getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Dana Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great anniversary getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Overall, we really enjoyed our time at the Blue Lantern Inn! The staff was so kind in arranging our last minute stay and was even willing to upgrade our room at no extra cost. Our room had a stunning view of Dana Point harbor, our bed was comfy & had enough pillows to accommodate me in my 8th month of pregnancy. The only drawback was the bathroom seemed a little outdated for this hotel, but the large soaking tub was wonderful. This b&b was a great couple's getaway for my husband and I celebrating our 9th anniversary.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happywmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    93
    19
    13
    6
See reviews for
50
301
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend getaway and absolutely loved this place we will forever want to come back. The views were amazing, staff was excellent, and the atmosphere was wonderful.

We stayed in room 301 which is the room you see when you first enter the website. This has the best view in the entire hotel and makes you want to just sit on the balcony all day. We loved having wine and horse d'oeuvres every evening along with having a fully stocked fridge of Coca-Cola!

We can't say enough about this place.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

I wanted a pleasant place to "hide out" for the week-end after a trip to Busy San Diego and LA and decided on The Blue Lantern. It is in a lovely location with marina and water views. We were were cordially greeted and all of our needs were foreseen. We were celebrating my birthday and the receptionist had several suggestions for dinner, made the reservation for us and arranged a great table and birthday dessert. The room was cozy and I wish I could have spent more time on the patio. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Call the hotel and they will help you choose the best room for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sombreil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Yummy buffet breakfast provided in the morning. All the staff is trained in customer service. Have the turn down service. There will be nice bit of chocolate waiting for you. Appraisers are provided in the afternoon as well as bikes to tour the local area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neptune Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed in room 203, with a balcony & harbor/ocean view, fireplace, sitting area, and very large, clean bathroom. We absolutely loved the room and beautiful view, and would definitely stay at the Blue Lantern again. (We had been in Beverly Hills for business, and came to Dana Point to visit friends/vacation. The Inn was ideally located close to them.) The common area had been decorated for Christmas - lovely. We liked that we could just walk up the stairs to our room (there is an elevator, of course).

The personnel at the front desk were all, every one, no matter the hour, so very helpful and pleasant. We enjoyed hearing a bit about the history of all the lantern named streets, suggestions about what to enjoy while in the area, and just general conversation. Really, a great bunch of people.

We enjoyed our breakfast (broad variety of foods - yummy mini scones & a good selection of teas). The hors d'oeuvres and wine were good (although I would have liked a better wine selection even if I had to pay), and we enjoyed the view.

All in all, this was a terrific experience. (And if you can get a deal on room price, even better.) We will stay here the next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We loved the Inn and will return. I might mention that on the website, you were very firm about a 4 PM checkin. This made things a little difficult for us. Do wish check in was 2:30 OR 3. Also we could never seem to get the water above lukewarm. You were very busy while we were they so maybe the water heater was overloaded. Other than those two items, the room was great, the food, was great and Peggy at the front desk was delightful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This review is going to be a recording of previous positive reviews but there are a couple of "heads ups" I wanted to point out(though it should not change your mind about staying there).

The wife and I went mid-week the last week of December in order to take advantage of the summer-like winter Southern Cal has been experiencing. The off-season rate was only $150(with tax=$165). The room was ideal as was the service. Although check-in time is 4PM, we were able to check in about 2:45PM. The wine and cheese happy hour and breakfasts were as advertised-good but not necessarily extraordinary. Our room was quiet and very clean.

A couple of things that made me go with 4 stars instead of 5:
1) There was no blow dryer in the room. They don't mention it on the website but then again, I may take one for granted these days. I can't recall the last time a motel or hotel I stayed at didn't have one.
2) The water pressure in the shower was very low and the water temperature did not get very hot. My hunch is that due to the place being pretty crowded and with everyone seemingly at breakfast at the same time and therefore probably showering at the same time, the place is not quite ready to handle the large numbers.

Outside of that, if you can get this mid-week, off-season rate, there is no reason to stay away. Enjoy!
Restaurant tip: Luciana's for dinner, which you can walk to in 4 or 5 minutes.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clint52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
7.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
5.3 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Property: Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Address: 34343 Street of the Blue Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dana Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious inn was featured in Conde Nast Traveler and features fabulous views of the Pacific from just about every window of this four diamond bed and breakfast inn -- dramatically located on a bluff above the Dana Point Yacht Harbor. Blue Lantern Inn's guests savor a delicious breakfast in the morning and wine and hors d'oeuvres in the afternoon. Other amenities include on site spa treatments, a fitness center, two meeting rooms and bicycles for exploring the beautiful coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lantern Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Blue Lantern Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Dana Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing