We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“carpe diem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Dana Point B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

we were trying to stay here for an anniversary...and our birthdays, but the inn was booked solid. they only have 29 rooms, so weekends are hard to come by. that said, they have a great special, called carpe diem, where the rate is discounted if there is availability. we managed to get in on that rate and the room didn't have the best view, was big and roomy and was decorated quite lovely. the bathroom was gigantic and the tall ceiling made the whole place feel HUGE!

the wine, cheese and nibbles was a nice way to wind down...

the whole place is decorated with personal touches and it really had a warm feeling.

our friends surprised us with a chilled bottle of champagne waiting in our room and the hotel sent an extra special amenity as well.

I had been looking forward to staying here... I enjoyed staying here... I would recommend staying here...and I will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank veebeewhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

My daughter stayed here for a night before and two nights after her wedding (at the Dana Point Chart House). It is absolutely lovely and a romantic hotel you will want to stay at again.

She had a suite on the first floor. Normally first floor rooms are not private. Not the case with hers. It had a beautiful bathroom with separate potty/shower and vanity areas. There was a semi-private patio immediately outside her room (#103) that had a commanding view of the Dana Point Harbor and Pacific Ocean.

A lovely breakfast is included as well as early evening wine, cheeses, and crackers. They "say" that they close the included wine bar early. But our experience is that as long as you are enjoying it, they keep it open to enhance your stay.

The staff is delightful and the hotel so beautiful. The local Dana Point gazebo overlooking the harbor is just across the street. While I don't know what permits are required to use it for weddings, we saw one performed while we were there. Walker-bys seemed very respectful of the wedding. I think the location commanded such things.

My daughter and new son-in-law want to book that room for the same time next year ...

Room Tip: The best way to get a good room is just to book one. I suspect all of them are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank help32250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I was attending a conference held in Dana Point and had to find alternate lodging since the event hotel down the street was completely booked. I was bummed since the original hotel was was supposedly 1st class. In the end, I was fortunate that the other hotel WAS unavailable because otherwise, I never would have stumbled onto the Blue Lantern. This little Inn has soooo much to offer. Awesome views of the harbor, a great breakfast every morning, a super helpful staff. One morning, my wife and I even rode bikes down to the harbor and paddle boarded. So much to do plus the beaches are super close as well. Definitely stay here if you have the chance!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This Inn is truly a Pacific coast gem! My wife and I have been staying here since 2007, about three or four time per year. Perched on a cliff overlooking the ocean, one is continuously awed by the commanding views of the sea, Dana Point Marina and sailing ships docked at the Ocean Institute directly below the Inn and while the Inn is located on the edge of a quiet, upscale, residential area, you are but a short, scenic, stroll to numerous restaurants.

The Tower and Pacific Edge edge rooms, have balconies and all rooms feature elegantly appointed bathrooms with a jetted tub, stall shower and plush bathrobes. The gas fireplace gets frequent use on chilly mornings and while seldom needed, it is comforting to know that you have good A/C at your disposal. Four Sisters Inns, in general, put out a great spread for breakfast and afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres and the BLI is no exception. On most days, one can fill a plate and sit out on a lovely patio to enjoy the food and drink . . . . and yes, the view!

Another nicety, the staff listens. For our March (2014) stay, our favored and frequented room (201) was not available and while checking out, I was asked how we enjoyed the alternate. I commented that we preferred 201, however, it was nice having an ottoman in front of the two lounge chairs, something 201 lacked. Upon entering 201 two weeks ago, a plush ottoman sat positioned in front of the chairs!

As long as I have to travel to southern California, my wife will always accompany me and two or three nights at the Blue Lantern Inn will flank the business stay in Costa Mesa.

Room Tip: Our favorites are Tower rooms or a Pacific Edge room on the ground floor that opens onto a very larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had been SO disappointed at our relatively recent stay in a Four Sisters Inn in Carmel (reviewed elsewhere) which used to be fantastic and had gone completely downhill last year. But we decided to give the Blue Lantern Inn a chance. . . since the reviews were good and we were only staying overnight on a business trip. Our stay was great and we wished we had stayed longer. The Inn had a fantastic location overlooking the harbor and our rooms did as well. . . whether on the first floor or the third floor where our rooms were. It was very peaceful and quiet, the outdoor patios to lounge, relax and meditate on the sky and ocean. , , terrific. . . even though the hotel was full and had lots of wedding showers and other events going on, it was quiet and peaceful everywhere else. We liked this because if you wanted activity. . . you could be in the lobby anytime for the complimentary coffee/tea/cookies and afternoon wine and cheese and many other complimentary munchables and there were lots of people. If you wanted to sit away from the crowds overlooking the water, you could do that as well. The rooms were nicely appointed, the linens were very upscale and comfortable and the mini bar/refrigerator came with free water and sodas. The buffet breakfast (which one of us had sent to our room) was really great the next morning. Our only caveat: while the room on the ground floor did not have a water pressure problem. . . the shower in the room on the 3rd floor did. And, one of the staff members at the front desk was just a wee bit of a crabby sourpuss and she was there for most of our stay. Hoping that was some personal problem of hers spilling out uncontrollably. It didn't ruin an otherwise terrific stay. . . but hopefully management will read this and have a chat with her. Will return without a doubt. . . and are happy the Four Sisters Inn of Dana Point proved true to its previous form.

Room Tip: Higher rooms may have water pressure issues. . . ask. . . we didn't do that . . .or figure that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foodaspoetry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were gifted a stay at the Blue Lantern Inn and absolutely loved our time there. The room was large, clean and beautifully decorated. We had ocean views from our patio, which was a great place to relax. They had a wine and snack time which was very nice. Lots of items to choose from as well as delicious cookies. Breakfast was a free buffet that also had a lot of options. Very good! Location was close to the harbor (great beach for paddle boarding!) and places to dine. The front desk made our dinner reservations for us and also helped us decide which restaurant to choose. First class all the way! Can't wait to stay here again!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong asking for a harbor or ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I went to The Blue Lantern Inn as a little honeymoon after we got married. Our real honeymoon will be in the summer when we have more time off. We had a wonderful and restful time in the beautiful room and we enjoyed the view from out patio.
They provide a variety of items at their continental breakfast along with delicious baked goods. At Happy Hour they serve many appetizers along with red and white wine and they keep the food and wine coming. We had breakfast in bed one morning and there was more great food that we couldn't finish!
The staff was very friendly and made us feel welcome.

Mr. and Mrs. Kingston

Room Tip: 206 - great room! Bottom floor and mini patio right outside our door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lu Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
6.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
483 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
348 reviews
6.7 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
7.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Address: 34343 Street of the Blue Lantern, Dana Point, CA 92629
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dana Point
Price Range: £194 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious inn was featured in Conde Nast Traveler and features fabulous views of the Pacific from just about every window of this four diamond bed and breakfast inn -- dramatically located on a bluff above the Dana Point Yacht Harbor. Blue Lantern Inn's guests savor a delicious breakfast in the morning and wine and hors d'oeuvres in the afternoon. Other amenities include on site spa treatments, a fitness center, two meeting rooms and bicycles for exploring the beautiful coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Lantern Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lantern Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Blue Lantern Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Dana Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing